We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean with great views from the terrace”
Review of Rooms Ramona

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms Ramona
Ranked #126 of 182 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Firstly, many thanks to Sonia Moppett for leaving such detailed directions in her review on another site – it made the apartment really easy to find. I will repeat them here:

“From Pile gate - go back up the street the bus has just driven down and to your left you will see a long set of steps - go up these. At the top, turn left, then turn next right up another set of steps. This will take you to a main road. Turn left at the top of the steps. Walk along this road, past the cafe and bakery until you come to some steps with lions on the top. Go up these steps until you reach number 10 - go through the gate, until the end where you will find the apartments marked LOVRIC.”

In case anyone is wondering exactly what “a lot of steps” means, I counted approximately 320 between the shuttle bus stop by Pile Gate and the front door of the apartment via this route. Once you know where you’re going there are lots of different routes up the hill to Zagrebacka – I sometimes used different sets of steps, and counted 355 of them! The further left you go, the more steps there are.

Reviews of Apartment Ramona seem divided into 2 camps: those who get what they asked for love the place, but those who are double-booked and moved elsewhere have a less positive experience. I got the accommodation I had reserved, and loved it. The apartment was clean and spacious, and the outside terrace with a view of the sea and Lovrijenac fortress was a real bonus. It does have some quirks (such as one bedroom having two bedside lamps, where the other has none, no washing up bowl or plug in the kitchen makes it difficult to wash up, and lots of random cabling sticking out of the walls of the main bathroom), but these don’t detract from the charm of the place. Unfortunately we never actually met the owners, and so I didn’t find out the access code for the free wi-fi until the morning of the final day.

The advantage of already having had to climb up 320+ steps to reach the apartment is that you’re already a good way up Mount Srd. To reach the top on foot: continue up Ivana Mazuranica and when you reach the road go right then immediately left up Od Kriza. Where it forks, take a left through an archway and up more steps. You’ll come out to the left of a road tunnel: cross the carriageway, up some concrete steps, and cross another carriageway. There are some steps immediately opposite leading into the trees – this is the start of the zig zag path up the hillside, past the 14 stations of the cross. The views are stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodge_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We booked our two night stay in dubrovnik quite late while we were travelling down the coast. We found the accommodation on hostel world.

Our host offered to pick us up from the bus station; this pretty muched summed up how they were with us, nothing was too much trouble. They upgraded us free of charge to their just finished stone villa apartment 10 minutes walk from the old town in a lovely area.

When we saw it we were amazed and left pretty stunned. They had undertaken the renovation on their own with breathtaking results. A beautiful apartment.

We had a super stay in dubrovnik and I would highly recommend staying with the host at either of their sites. Lovely people who I will be sure to get in touch with next time I head to dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCharles05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed at Rooms Ramona and enjoyed our stay. The host was very friendly and the location/value worked for us well. It's a bit of a walk down to the old town, but there are stairs everywhere so we just got used to it. Her husband got up at 5am to drop us off at the airport and she kindly did our laundry for us before moving on to our next location.

Free WIFI to boot!

We would recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafalsionkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#4 of 508 in Dubrovnik
181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments Mia
Apartments Mia
#58 of 508 in Dubrovnik
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ramona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ramona

Address: Ivana Mazhuranica 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOMS RAMONA consists of two air conditioned double bedrooms with own bathrooms (hydromassage shower), shared kitchen and terrace with beautiful views on Old Town, Fort Minceta, Fort Lovrijenac and Island Lokrum. Additional equipment includes TV/DVD, DVD. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing