We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in Dubrovnik”

Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota
Ranked #6 of 402 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dubrovnik's new gem where diners enjoy a beautiful fusion of Dalmatian and Japanese cuisine. A unique place in the Old City to taste fresh oysters grown at the oyster farm in nearby Mali Ston Bay. This bay is the last place where the "Queen of oysters" (Ostrea edulis) still grows. The Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota is located in the charming, small alley by the Cathedral.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were a bit weary when deciding to come here, given some of the mixed reviews we saw about the poor service, but it turned out to be great. We were the only ones there on a Saturday night (due to the off season) so the service was perfect and the sushi was very fresh.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    267
    63
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh sushi from local fish.”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a look at the menu and there was a good selection of sushi, sashimi and oysters to choose from. It was nice to sit outside as well although it's in an alleyway, you had sit near the end and see a bit of the cathedral. We ended up spending the night there eating a selection of sushi, oysters, tempura, and teriyaki dishes. The host also had a special, which wasn't on the menu - toro tuna teriyaki. The tuna was really fresh and it melted in your mouth. Most of the sushi was good quality and the prices were average as well. We really enjoyed our meal and ended up eating sushi another night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SWong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zagreb
1 review
“the best”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Small hiden place in the near from cathedral,perfect romantic place to enjoy your oysters and first class sushi. we spend 3from our4 nights in du and it was worth it,agemaki fantasy,tuna tartar and oysters are 2die4...the staff also amazing,specialy our host tony....higly recomended,see you next year 4sure....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 81lylyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Oysters, OK sushi, Bad service”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Went there for dinner tonight and there were only 2 other couples dining at the time. I having been craving for oysters for months so we chose to dine at this restaurant based on their reviews. Waiter was very robotic and not friendly at all. I felt embarrassed to ask for the price of just a glass of wine as it wasn't on the price list and the waiter blatantly told me that they sold wine by the glass. Food came out quick, oysters were amazing and lived up to standards and expectations given the price. Sushi on the other hand was pretty average. The consistency of the sushi rice did not hold well and the 'stuffing' inside the roll did not make it to the end piece when we orderd a portion. This can be overlooked if dining at a cheap sushi train but not when they are charging over 2EUR per piece. After the other couples left the restaurant the waiter seemed to have forgotten about us too who was sitting there waiting for a long time just to ask for the bill. Come here for the oysters but not for the sushi.

Helpful?
Thank jenn_xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Favorite Restaurant in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I had the pleasure of eating at Bota twice during our recent trip to Dubrovnik, and were so impressed each time. Sushi was fantastic and the oysters were fresh and delicious. One night we got the chocolate/banana cake which I also recommend. Great staff too

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txmatt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing