We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and wonderful hosts!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Hostel
Berkeley, California
1 review
“Great location and wonderful hosts!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Old Town Hostel for six nights and it was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. It is probably the most ideal location you can find in Dubrovnik...literally in the center of Old Town and walking distance to everything. The rooms are so cute and clean and the bathrooms are extremely clean as well. The best part about my stay was the staff! They were so friendly and helpful and always had so many snacks out for us! Mike was the best and he even treated us for ice cream! They really treat their guests well. I highly recommend this hostel to everyone...especially people looking to meet other people along their travels! We all hung out in the common room every night and had such a great time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    33
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arlington, va
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed in the top-floor single room. Great value for just 1 person. The young proprietor, Michael, is an American expat -- very friendly and helpful. Location really is unbeatable.

Only two minor quibbles: Wifi supposedly in every room, but I had to go all the way down to the lobby before I could get a signal. And I was directly adjacent to the shared bathroom, but for whatever reason it was like there was no wall between me and the toilet so whenever someone used it I could hear every single urine stream, bowel movement, gas emission, etc. It was kind of funny to me since I'm a toilet-humor type, but others may find it off-putting.

Room Tip: The one single room is on the top floor. It's pretty quiet, though as I mention in the review, d...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank drabwastrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hostel is really well located, in the middle of the Old Town. I usually don't mind if the place is old but as long as it's clean... But it was not the case with Old Town Hostel, especially the washrooms and showers. There was only one per floor and it was dirty. The dorm we stayed in was big and we had free lockers, which was pretty useful.
I read the other comments and everyone seemed to enjoy their stay, so maybe we visited on a wrong day...!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hostel is one of the best I've stayed at. I was in a 4-bed female dorm, which was huge and had lockers to put stuff (bring your own lock). We had to share a toilet with another room on the same level, which did not pose a problem (I don't know about the peak period). There was even a clothes line by the window to hang your laundry. The hostel staff were really nice and helpful. The ambience and decor of the hostel made it cosy and nice to stay at. Location-wise, it was fantastic as we had easy access to restaurants and attractions as it was right smack in the old town itself. I highly recommend this hostel for anyone visiting Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theo_loing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for one night. We had such a great time and truly wish we could have stayed longer. The staff made our experience that much more incredible, big shout out to Michael, you're seriously the best! And thanks for the ice creams, they were just what we needed! We spent our night mingling with Michael and others staying at the hostel drinking wine, eating pizza and cookies and getting to know each other. The atmosphere was just amazing! The hostel itself was perfect; perfect location, perfect rooms, perfect facilities. Loved it so much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaziamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is charming, lovely kitchen and livingroom to use, popcorn is made in the afternoon and anytime a day you can make yourself a cappucino italian style.
The rooms are small with stone walls, linen is provided, but since it is a hostel you have to put on the linen yourself, all the bathrooms are different, very homely and very cleen.
The location is perfect, within the city walks and only 5 min from the airport shuttle. And by the way the trip to the airport is approx. 30 min.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

As far as Dubrovnik goes, this place is a steal! Located perfectly in the city walls, the prices are low and standards are high! I must say, it's not for the traveller looking for a quiet few days. This place does entail some serious partying!

But it's such good fun, great staff, clean beds, showers, linen and towels. Great place to base yourself as central to all sights of interest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTRDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#20 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 483 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel & Rooms Ana
Hostel & Rooms Ana
#24 of 483 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Celenga Apartments
Celenga Apartments
#2 of 483 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Andio
B&B Andio
#10 of 174 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Landing Old Town Hostel
Kings Landing Old Town Hostel
#289 of 483 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Hostel

Property: Old Town Hostel
Address: Od Sigurate 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 483 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Town Hostel is located in the center of Dubrovnik's UNESCO protected Old City. It is a 400 year old, four story building that has been recently renovated to accommodate 20 guests in dorm and private rooms. We are ONLY 15 meters from the Stradun (main street), and seconds from all the restaurants, cafes, stores, markets, museums, bars, banks and beautiful beaches. We offer free Wi-Fi, internet access, breakfast, secure lockers, luggage storage, satellite t.V., Kitchen facilities, four common areas, book exchange, travel information at reception, currency exchange and laundry service. Welcome to our unique boutique hostel. May your time here be enjoyable and memorable. Come join the action and stay in the heart of it all. Our welcoming staff will be there to greet you. :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing