We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hostel in great location”
Review of Old Town Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Town Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely little hostel in great location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just left Old Town hostel after a 3 night stay. Would highly recommend, in the perfect location right in the Old Town (as you can probably gather from the name!) down a pretty side street. Has a rustic feel with beautiful painted ceilings, cushions and stone walls. The staff are very nice and keen to help with directions or even make you a coffee (with a proper percolator) and there is free coffee/ tea/ cereal/ juice/ biscuits throughout the day as well as 2 laptops with wifi in all rooms and common area. Very sweet place. Not a busy party place, generally a chilled feel but I went solo and got chatting to a few really nice people who I went for a glass of wine (or a few!) with, sitting on the streets of picturesque Dubrovnik.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank HayleySamantha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As someone who has never stayed in a hostel, and worried about what it would be like - I can pleasantly say that Old Town Hostel was a great first experience.
The rooms were simple, clean, and practical. The room was quiet and also had a fan which we used at night. The bathrooms are shared (1 on every floor) and were just like the room - simple, and clean.

The location is probably the best part about the hostel. It was in the HEART of old town Dubrovnik and close to EVERYTHING - restaurants, Adriatic sea, bars, caffes, etc., etc.
The staff was very helpful and gave us restaurant suggestions as well as advice about how to best reach the airport.

After my stay here - I very well could be a Hostel convert! If only all of them were SO lovely!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Perfect location, great people. Check in to be welcomed to a Green Tea Ceremony by Mike-San the owner, or perhaps a champagne party if later in the evening. The staff are friendly, and even the guests are a good bunch: plenty of friends to be made, interesting conversation to be had.
Two computers for use, and wifi in the lobby. Free breakfast of cornflakes and muesli, and tea and coffee. Clean bed sheets and toilets - what more could you need?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichaelvdMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Old Town Hostel for six nights and it was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. It is probably the most ideal location you can find in Dubrovnik...literally in the center of Old Town and walking distance to everything. The rooms are so cute and clean and the bathrooms are extremely clean as well. The best part about my stay was the staff! They were so friendly and helpful and always had so many snacks out for us! Mike was the best and he even treated us for ice cream! They really treat their guests well. I highly recommend this hostel to everyone...especially people looking to meet other people along their travels! We all hung out in the common room every night and had such a great time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, va
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed in the top-floor single room. Great value for just 1 person. The young proprietor, Michael, is an American expat -- very friendly and helpful. Location really is unbeatable.

Only two minor quibbles: Wifi supposedly in every room, but I had to go all the way down to the lobby before I could get a signal. And I was directly adjacent to the shared bathroom, but for whatever reason it was like there was no wall between me and the toilet so whenever someone used it I could hear every single urine stream, bowel movement, gas emission, etc. It was kind of funny to me since I'm a toilet-humor type, but others may find it off-putting.

Room Tip: The one single room is on the top floor. It's pretty quiet, though as I mention in the review, d...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank drabwastrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hostel is really well located, in the middle of the Old Town. I usually don't mind if the place is old but as long as it's clean... But it was not the case with Old Town Hostel, especially the washrooms and showers. There was only one per floor and it was dirty. The dorm we stayed in was big and we had free lockers, which was pretty useful.
I read the other comments and everyone seemed to enjoy their stay, so maybe we visited on a wrong day...!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hostel is one of the best I've stayed at. I was in a 4-bed female dorm, which was huge and had lockers to put stuff (bring your own lock). We had to share a toilet with another room on the same level, which did not pose a problem (I don't know about the peak period). There was even a clothes line by the window to hang your laundry. The hostel staff were really nice and helpful. The ambience and decor of the hostel made it cosy and nice to stay at. Location-wise, it was fantastic as we had easy access to restaurants and attractions as it was right smack in the old town itself. I highly recommend this hostel for anyone visiting Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo_loing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
My Way Hostel Dubrovnik
My Way Hostel Dubrovnik
#152 of 499 in Dubrovnik
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostel Sol
Hostel Sol
#23 of 499 in Dubrovnik
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antica Ragusa
Antica Ragusa
#54 of 179 in Dubrovnik
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
SUNce Palace Apartments
SUNce Palace Apartments
#5 of 499 in Dubrovnik
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celenga Apartments
Celenga Apartments
#2 of 499 in Dubrovnik
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Hostel

Property: Old Town Hostel
Address: Od Sigurate 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 499 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Town Hostel is located in the center of Dubrovnik's UNESCO protected Old City. It is a 400 year old, four story building that has been recently renovated to accommodate 20 guests in dorm and private rooms. We are ONLY 15 meters from the Stradun (main street), and seconds from all the restaurants, cafes, stores, markets, museums, bars, banks and beautiful beaches. We offer free Wi-Fi, internet access, breakfast, secure lockers, luggage storage, satellite t.V., Kitchen facilities, four common areas, book exchange, travel information at reception, currency exchange and laundry service. Welcome to our unique boutique hostel. May your time here be enjoyable and memorable. Come join the action and stay in the heart of it all. Our welcoming staff will be there to greet you. :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing