We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Run Location”
Review of House Renata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House Renata
Reviewed 26 October 2012

It was an out of the park, home run with this charming winner at 75 Euros a night. Even with good directions it was a little bit of puzzle to get to the front door of House Renata at first. A local restaurant owner let us cut through his restaurant and put us on the right path to get there and that made it much easier. Our room was on the top floor, it was attic style space with an equipped kitchen/dining room, bedroom and bathroom. It had three nice sized windows that looked out over the Old Town Dubrovnik harbor, a truly beautiful view. We loved this place, hosts were gracious and helpful. The rooms are fairly clean and are decorated with trinkets and pictures of what we assume are the owners’ family, it added a nice homey touch. There was no balcony but you can sit by your windows and enjoy the view if you choose to. The bedroom had windows on both sides of the room so you could nicely cool the room (in September) without using air-conditioning. This is a great location with easy access to everything. Also it is not up the many stairs in the fort like a lot of other places, which after walking and climbing stairs all day sightseeing is a relief.

Grocery store, shops, sights and restaurants are all nearby. It is 5-10 minute walk to the main gate where buses and taxis are available should you want to go further afield.

Recommend picking up a Dubrovnik Pass, it was worth it.

This is a little gem of a place that we recommend and we would stay here again in a heartbeat, especially in the top floor room we had.

Previous Hotel – Villa Espero, Trogir Croatia
Next Hotel – Villa Fio, Hvar Croatia

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Although it is 1 years since I stayed here, I've only started putting up my reviews. I was traveling alone through Croatia, and booked on line before I arrived. I was not disappointed by anything. It was all as described on the website, and I knew in advance I needed local currency. That is not. Problem as in the old town there are plenty of auto tellers to take your money straight out while you walk to your renatas. I recommended this place to my neighbors and they stayed there this year. They also enjoyed the air conditioned 2 bedroom private apartment. It has its own bathroom. I found it a great spot to relax and wash everything, repackage the case before my next onward journey. As it was in the old town, I felt very safe.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We spent two wonderful days here and just loved our room. The view from the room was the best we had during our 5 week trip to eastern Europe. The view of the harbor was great and we enjoyed watching the people walk around the town wall. The owner, Renata, was delightful and we enjoyed talking with her and her husband. They were very helpful in telling us where to go and what to pay for items. We paid 39 Euro in October 2012 per night and felt that was quite a value. You cannot find a better location in Dubrovnik for that at home comfort and great views. We stayed in Room 1.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilimanjaro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had a terrific five nights in this place! We loved gazing out the windows--harbor out the dining room, 17th-century ruins out the bedroom, a great view of tourists walking the city wall out the kitchen window. We loved being able to pop back to the apartment for a quick rest at midday, when the town was throned with cruise-ship visitors. We had the top-floor apartment, with a complete kitchen, so we were even able to cook ourselves an omelette one lazy morning. Fair warning, though: If you are into matchy-matchy furniture and high-quality home improvements, this may not be the place for you. We were able to chuckle at the Pergo laid directly over a tile floor, with the tile visible at the threshold between rooms; and at the early-thrift-shop decor. For us, it was worth it, but it might not be to everyone's taste.

Room Tip: Ask about the status of renovations on the building next door. When we were there in September 2012...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DURB0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a very comfortable stay in House Renata. I was really surprised that the place was exactly as it was described on the site.
On the first night we stayed in a double room with a scenic view of Dubrovnik harbor. The room is decorated in Yugoslavian style with furniture from the 80s. It was a bit noisy there because of the harbor and restaurants on it, so we slept with closed window and turned on the air conditioner. I ought to admit that this room shared bath with another room which wasn't very comfortable for me.
The next night we moved to another room which was next to the previous one but on opposite side of the guest house. Here it was much quieter so we could sleep with an open window. It was decorated with old, almost ancient furniture which clashed a bit and didn't have any practical purpose, except to impress tourists.
Both rooms were clean and comfortable.
Also you have to be prepared for the fact that Renata doesn't take dollars. You have to pay in kuna or euro. As we had to change our dollars to kunas, we lost money because of Dubrovnik’s rate of exchange.
Nevertheless we are happy with our stay in House Renata It’s in the old city, a stone's throw from the beach, restaurants and markets and is absolutely affordable, in the expensive city of Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Exactly what we were looking for – good value in scenic old town setting, comfortable, wifi. Very pleased with our stay in top floor apartment. Small kitchen and large dining area where we ate light breakfast, snacks, drinks. Bedroom is good size, with additional bed/futon for 3rd person and TV. Desktop computer with internet and wifi. Decent bathroom. Nothing fancy but the views of the harbor and the old town location for the price can’t be beat. Renata is very helpful, wonderful hostess, easy to reach via email.

Room Tip: Top floor apartment with small kitchen, private bath and 2 harbor view windows was perfect. Good siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzierosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

A great stay right over the harbor in old town- good value. The hostess is wonderful and the apartment is roomy enough for 3 people. The location is excellent and there is free wifi and a book exchange. It has more character than a hotel and we have had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
859 reviews
3.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
984 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Renata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Renata

Address: Stajeva 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 519 Speciality Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £56 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Renata is located on a very attractive location in the Old Town near the old port, the Maritime Museum and cathedral.Nearby are numerous restaurants, shops, banks, etc. The top floor apartment has a beautiful view of the old harbor. The apartment consists of: a triple bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, living room and bathroom. The apartment is equipped with air–conditioning, TV, computer and Wifi. The room Renata 1 with a king size bed has a sea view. The room is equipped with air–conditioning, fridge, electric kettle and Wifi. The room shares a bathroom with a single room. The single room has the sea view and Wifi internet. The room number 3 has the view on the historical archeological excavations which are the oldest ones in Dubrovnik. The room is equipped with air-conditioning, fridge, Wifi and electric kettle. It has a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your House Renata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing