We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with great views food could be a little better”
Review of Hotel Adria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Adria
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with great views food could be a little better”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a two week tour of Croatia

Hotel clean and modern which you would expect given the short time it has been opened

Had very nice views of the bay of lapad and great to have free underground parking for our hire car which we parked and left preferring to take the hotel shuttle bus to old town and taxis bac k approx 70 -80 kunas for the latter

Good additonal views from the restaurant and balcony bar

Food was a little unimagintive and we prefer hot food to be hot! Reasonable cold buffet selection

Dubrovnik old town is very nice but we preferred Trogir our last stop over

Room Tip: You need to ask for full sea view with balcony not side rooms because either side of the hotel the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    279
    85
    18
    16
See reviews for
66
286
29
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Where on earth do I start? Booked this hotel on account of it's good reviews and mention of it's seaviews. Upon check in we were assigned room 201, right next to the lift and facing (from left to right) a piece of main road, a dump of crushed stones, a mini sliver of sea, and framed beautifully by a dilapidated horrid ex communist residential block (see pictures). The receptionist told us he can't do anything because we had booked a standard room, when from the website (their own and other booking sites) there was never any indication that there were any rooms without a view. After a showdown, the manager called the next day saying that sea view rooms were 40euro extra per day (again, there was never an indication of this while booking), and ended up with her yelling 'shame on you' at us because we told her that we would put pictures up on tripadvisor for all to see. We were given the 'sea view' room next day after a ruined afternoon.
The much vaunted wifi connection is very patchy and was inexistent the first day. The room itself is all modern and clean, but there is no mini bar or fridge, so in 40C temperatures you have nowhere to store cold water, you have to buy from the bar.
The hotel is situated on top of a hill overlooking the harbour, in a residential area marked by huge tower blocks. To get to the old town you either have to take their own shuttle (2 euro), but they won't pick you up, so to get back you have to rely on the very infrequent bus no.3, which leaves you on the pavement-less side of the main road in pitch darkness.
The icing on the cake was on check-out, when we were presented with the bill. Instead of 3 nights at 40E extra per night (the 'upgrade' to a sea view), we were faced with a bill for 4 nights at 80E extra per night! They actually had the cheek to try and charge us the extra for the night we spent in the rubble-view room. The bill was hastily withdrawn and reviewed when we angrily pointed it out, but it left a very very sour note on the whole holiday.
In my opinion this hotel is only good for group coach tours who dont need to move about on their own, otherwise just stick to somewhere better served.

Room Tip: Make sure you clarify if the room has a sea view. Note that some sea view room still have the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel is very new, rooms are large and the views over the Lapad and the islands are great. The Old Town can be reached by taxi, bus or shuttle but we only experienced the taxi as the hotel shuttle was always "coming in 5 minutes" but never showed up in time so we decided to take a taxi (approx. 10 Eur one way). The bus no. 3 runs every 30 minutes or so but costs the same as the hotel shuttle we were told.
The hotel has an indoor parking plus parking spaces in front. It is just off the main coast road but not noisy at all.
Breakfast was ok, with enough choices, only thing missing were fresh vegetables but they did have fresh fruits.
No refrigerator in the room, you can get ice from the hotel bar.
Rooms on higher floors have better views but be aware that floors are numbered down from the reception so the highest floor is - 1 and the lowest is -6. Not all rooms have sea views, some have views to the side to some ugly buildings.
Reception desk services was slow due to the fact that there was only one person on duty at any time.
WiFi very poor in rooms, slightly better in the breakfast room and lobby.

Room Tip: Floors -1 to -3, sea facing (not side facing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vacanta_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Hotel is new, so the furniture is OK. It has a very bad location by the main road, almost impossible to reach the center on foot, there is a shuttle service organized, though. View is not even close to being as spectacular as it has been written in the description. Unfreindly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velika Gorica, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This newly renovated hotel is located in Gruž part of Dubrovnik, just under the Adriatic Highway but it is not noisy at all. Rooms have nice balconies that offer you a great view on beautiful lungomare called Lapadska obala (Lapad coast). UNESCO World Heritage Site Dubrovnik's Old Town is reachable within few minutes with hotel's multi-van (transport cost is 2 €).

Hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful, everything in hotel is clean and brand new and breakfast is great!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerdoBoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Great hotel with fantastic views from balcony. Room was very clean and beds were great. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding. The location is up on the side of the mountain, several blocks from the old city, so it is not walkable. The taxi rides are quite convenient and very inexpensive. Parking your own vehicle near old city is a pain to avoid.
Staff was very helpful with us renting a car. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edholdren45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

We would stay here again! The room was large, clean, quiet, comfortable. The a/c worked fine though the wifi in the room was slow and spotty. The views from the room's balcony and the hotel's restaurant were picturesque. The key to this treasure is to use a taxi to get into and around town. Parking is virtually impossible as is finding your way around without a knowledgable guide. The taxi from the hotel to the old town was 60 kuna ($10) and took about 5 minutes. So stay at Hotel Adria in comfort and style, and use the cabs to get around.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#35 of 68 in Dubrovnik
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adria

Property: Hotel Adria
Address: Radnichka 46, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adria 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Adria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing