We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Adria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Adria
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great Hotel. Staff very helpful, friendly and polite. Fab views as set on hillside. Shuttle bus to old town same price as bus. Bus stops very near hotel from old town. Stayed in new part. Room was modern and very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for new part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenren42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    276
    81
    18
    14
See reviews for
63
281
28
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had never been in Croatia before but based on what friends had told us about the country, its culture and its people we plumped to spend an 8 day trial holiday at The Adria Hotel,Dubrovnik ; we were well pleased with the result.
Cut into the steep cliff face, high above Dubrovnik, the hotel affords from dawn to dusk magnificent and everchanging panoramas over the city, the busy harbour, the cruise liner terminal and the islands beyond. After a hard day down in the Old Town and/or the beach you can relax high up on the bar balcony and watch the world go by in a backdrop of city lights. There at night we met some quite interesting people from Russia, China, America and from all over Europe, each with a different take on the world.
The hotel itself was spotlessly clean throughout. Our air-conditioned bedroom was spacious,had a 2.7m wide double bed (ecstasy),a large en-suite shower/toilet and a balcony overlooking the bay. The cotton bedlinen and bathroom towels were changed daily. The pool and its environs on floor -6 were pristine and had loungers, chairs and fluffy drying towels - so don't forget your cozzies !
Transport to and from the hotel to the city is a bit problematic and is well-documented elsewhere. With a bit of forward planning and help from the reception staff it can work out to your advantage. We travelled all over Dubrovnik on public transport using a multi day ticket available from a kiosk at the main bus station at Pile. We used it so often the No.3 bus driver got to know us and used to shout out < your stop sir > afterwhich there was a repeat chorus down the bus from some of our fellow passengers - this is what happens when you get to your mid 60's - absolutely no respect - but fun. Access to the city can also be got from steps down the cliff face and provides an insight into the houses and gardens of the locals. But unless you are at Olympic fitness level do not try the ascent from the city to the hotel.
Ah the food ; we rarely take dinner in our hotel choosing instead to eat out in local restaurants to eat local food. On or last night we did stay in as we had an early start. Not fancying anything on the dinner buffet we had steak au poivre and chips from the a la carte menu - it was excellent and provided a good send off. The breakfast buffet matched or exceeded that of hotels in the Balkans and Southern Europe. It is fully comprehensive and caters for Continental and English tastes. There must have been at least 50 items on offer to meet even the most demanding and discerning tastes.
For us this was a first time in Dubrovnik or indeed Croatia and what impressed us most was the friendliness, helpfulness and humour of the people, no matter their rank and status. And all the staff at The Adria Hotel were of similar disposition which went a long way to the making of our holiday.
When we return to The Adria we shall hire a car for a few days - not to go to the Old Town, certainly not, but to explore further afield in Croatia ; car hire at reasonable rates is available at the hotel which has adequate car parking.
Also if you go to The Adria insist on a room with a balcony in the main hotel building (not the annex) and with a view over the city.





.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a balcony overlooking the bay and in the main hotel and not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 week at the hotel Adria. If I could leave 3.5 rating I probably would have done.

Clean hotel which was pristine on arrival to both our room, and the hotel in general. The pool area, both indoor and outdoor, are equally clean and well maintained. The hotel has beautiful views across Dubrovnik which are unrivalled by many other hotels, as it is so high up. Staff are excellent: friendly, welcoming and cannot do enough for you - cannot praise the staff enough. In terms of location and transportation, the hotel is ok. It offers a shuttle service for 15 kuna per person to anywhere in the Dubrovnik area. This is great as it can be reserved for whatever time you fancy and doesn't run to a timetable. It can also be used on demand if it is available, without being booked in advance. This is done at the hotel which is very convenient. Buses are ok: the number 3 runs every 30 mins and stops outside the hotel (ish). BEWARE: the bus stop is on a 70km/h road which has a tiny footpath and no lighting on a night time! Would recommend taking the bus back to the hotel from Pile (old town) but not taking the bus from the hotel. If you get on at the hotel you then have to wait 25 mins at the next stop as this is a terminus. The bus then sets off after the driver has eaten his dinner and had a cigarette! Make sure you buy a day travel card if you plan on taking more than 2 buses per day as it works out much cheaper.
The big let down for the hotel is the food. I'm not a fussy eater by any stretch but found it difficult to eat anything in the hotel. We paid for half board and I felt entirely ripped off as we had to eat out for 4 of the 7 nights which used up a lot of our spending money. Much of the food at breakfast was greasy and looked like it had been standing a while. Much of the available food at breakfast was a variety of pig and not much else! 'Cold milk' for cereals was UHT out of a packet and was never cold in the 7 days I ate breakfast. Toast had to be requested separately which was a pain as it often took a while to arrive. Evening meals were bland and greasy. As someone who enjoys trying cuisines of different countries, I looked forward to trying the local dishes: they disappointed me massively! The most annoying part about the hotel is that it is in a beautiful setting and as another reviewer said, it has SO MUCH potential. It must up its game and offer better quality food and a bigger variety. Only other point to note is that there are some little extras which could make a stay more pleasant: tea and coffee facilities, toiletries in the bathroom, an iron - the usual conveniences, of which there were none.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the port / marina have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samhull87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Great breakfast and service. The lunch menu was only light food, but was a detail. Very clean and modern rooms. With a swimming pool even two swimming s pool one outside and one inside and a spa. Great hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank floris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very nice hotel, with really modern, spacious rooms (sea view/balcony rooms), very friendly staff, good bar and nice outdoor/indoor pools.
The hotel is about 45 min walk from old town, but with the shuttle bus that the hotel provides on a regular basis this is not a problem. Taxi from Old town is fixed price at 100 kuna.
Would not recommend dinner at the hotel as the restaurant is rather poor.
Everything else is perfect :-)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Sea view room, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LineBetine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I was taken to Croatia by my wife as a Birthday surprise and she specifically chose this hotel because of its new, modern feel.

The hotel and facilities appear brand new. As this was a surprise trip I didn't read up on the hotel beforehand but it appears to only be a couple of years old, if that.

The pool and spa area are to a high quality finish and offer modern amenities in an otherwise traditional looking area. The rooms are always clean, cool and our room was quite spacious. The only comment on the room would be that some rooms have an obscured view of the harbour by an apartment block. Not a major issue though.

The staff are incredibly friendly and cannot do enough. They can all speak English incredibly well and offer their local insight into any questions you may have - without trying to force you on a local tour or other tourist trap. I can't praise the staff enough.

Breakfast is continental buffet. The fussy may moan that there isn't enough choice - no live egg station or anything like that - but there are hot and cold options to suit most tastes.

The prices in the hotel are incredibly reasonable. The hotel is cheaper for food and drink (even international spirits) than almost all bars in the Old Town, which can be pricey depending on which bars you go to.

The hotel also offers a shuttle service to key points around the city for the same price as the bus, available as required. We used this service every evening to take us to the Old Town. This costs 15kn per person as opposed to a taxi which is 100kn from the Old Town. The hotel is a short walk (down some steep steps) to the harbour or about a 20min walk to the Old Town. We found this ideal. Hotels in Lapad, although nice, did seem a little far away from most things but that is down to personal preference.

All in all, great hotel and would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAnderson1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for 3 nights lovely hotel, clean modern rooms, friendly staff, stunning views!!!
Downside- the pool is nice but is an odd area, no shade umbrellas and almost feels like it was an after thought it would be good to have a bar right bar to buy water etc. The restaurant has so much potential gorgeous views and great atmosphere but the food really is not good! Everything is saturated in oil and very mediocre, the old man in the restaurant yelled at his staff twice in front of us which was very uncomfortable and very unprofessional.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Obie1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#35 of 68 in Dubrovnik
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adria

Property: Hotel Adria
Address: Radnichka 46, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adria 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Adria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing