We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of heaven”
Review of Otto Taverna

Otto Taverna
Ranked #18 of 396 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Comfortable and casual atmosphere of a small street side taverna, simple handwritten menu by our experienced chef, combination of traditional Mediterranean cuisine and contemporary preparation techniques, affordable prices and high quality wines served by glass...Welcome to Taverna Otto in Gruz bay! Please make note we are not able to accept email, Tripadvisor or online bookings requested for the same day. For same day requests please contact us by telephone. Thank you!
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Found this unobtrusive place just round the corner from our hotel by the marina, and we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The food was excellent, we both had the risotto, and then the most delicious seared tuna on a bed of mashed white beans, best tuna ever! The waiter recommended an excellent wine to accompany the meal.... The service was if anything a little too slick and our scraped clean plates were whisked away as soon as our forks were put down. However, do give this place a try, a little out the ordinary Dalmatian fare.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickatlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    355
    97
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The food was interesting if the combination of flavours were not always entirely to our taste. The service was polite and friendly. Would certainly suggest a visit here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GT-bf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“friendly and nice food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Its a lovely little place on the marina road at Lapad. The manager is a pleasant chap who had a tale to tell after the crazy thunder storms the night before we dined. The place had been flooded however the hard work of the team had it ship shape in time for dinner. Both courses we had were tadty but not complicated. Chef maybe needs to work on adding a bit more flavour and explaining the dishes a little on the menu. Onion soup was sweet with pastry top a little under done. Risotto was good. Fish was fresh but bit bland. Lamb shank needed another bit of cooking as was not quite falling off the bone. Felt a bit sorry for the new young waiter. He was putting up with his experienced bar manager who was just alittle too serious and super efficient. Worth trying out if you are down that way. It was fully booked last Saturday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Otto”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

One of the restaurants that I have to visit whenever I am in Dubrovnik. Great food, great service and very pleasant atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bilja_grahovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good one !!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The best one in Dubrovnik. But not the excellent one if comparing with other countries.
Must try if u stay Dubrovnik !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otto Taverna also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Otto Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing