We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time was just as excellent”
Review of Konoba Dubrava

Konoba Dubrava
Ranked #21 of 396 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Authentic delicacies in the relaxed setting.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Second time was just as excellent”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just returned from our third trip to Dubrovnik and in the interests of validating my past review of this restaurant I thought I would re-review and I can confirm that our experience was exactly the same, nothing short of excellent! We ate virtually the same meal. Cured meats and cheeses to start with a selection of grappa. Then onto the main event, slow cooked meat and potatoes. For four of us, with this wonderful food and quite a few drinks the total cost was just short of £100. It is well worth the price. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is up Mount Srd so the views of the Old Town lit up are spectacular so take your camera! As before I would recommend booking in advance as the meal that we had takes 4-5 hours to cook. I also believe on Saturday night there is traditional music so the restuarant is really busy. Wse have always tended to visit on Friday when it is quieter. Overall if you want a traditional experience whilst you are in Dubrovnik look no further!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisgriff6191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    128
    33
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic and recomendable”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I know that majority will visit this restaurant for meat under the bell but belive me- BBQ is excelent as well. Great quality and for sure you will not leave with empty stomack because plates are big and full. I had one of the best 'strudels' there, it was so tasty and warm!!
Prices are totaly normal and for sure you will not be ripped off in this place.

Would go back here any time!

A small tip- great place to have lunch with kids because playground and souranding is wonderful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zviz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This traditional restaurant has great food we had veal and lamb cooked under the bell. White wine , posip to drink. We spent a lovely afternoon enjoying the peace of bosanka way above the city on std mountain. Highly recommended.


  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meltibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited this restaurant as we had read about the slow cooked lamb and we're glad we did!
We caught the number 17 bus from outside the old town and were surprised when a transit van with a sign in the window turned up. It had a proper ticket machine so we knew it was official though!.

The bus took us up the hill and 20 minutes later dropped us off at the doorstep of the restaurant. We were a bit apprehensive when we arrived as a group of chefs and waiters were gathered outside. We went to sit at one of the tables but were advised that our (reserved) table was already set up inside. Boy was I glad as it was a bit chilly in the open air!

We were sat in a lovely old room in the corner so we could see exactly what was going on. We ordered the cold meat plate to start as the waiter said our main course would be 30 minutes and we munched our way through the cured ham and bread. It probably wasn't necessary to order that as the enormous portion of lamb and potatoes quickly slowed us down.

At 9pm a traditional 3 piece band started and it felt like we were really part of Croatia. It was a perfect accompaniment for our local desserts which were also delicious.

It was well worth a visit for the overall experience and the beautifully cooked lamb.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Dubrovnik!!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here last Saturday and the food was fantastic! Ordered the peka (slow cooked lamb and veal) in advance it was food heaven! The staff were very helpful and friendly, the wine was good and the in-house entertainment was the icing on the cake. Well worth the 10min drive. Make a reservation in advance.

Helpful?
Thank K0kita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konoba Dubrava also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Konoba Dubrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing