We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing at the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of X-Rooms Dubrovnik

X-Rooms Dubrovnik
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
X-Rooms Dubrovnik
Ranked #122 of 174 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing at the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Dubrovnik, with its 6,000 cruise-liner passengers flooding in daily, is an expensive place to stay or even to dine in. X Rooms are a wonderful find. They are on the sea shore about two minutes walk outside the main city gate. The accommodation is simple but more than adequate with en suite double rooms, very comfortable beds, air conditioning, TV and a little shared terrace where you can get together. There is wifi too.
The price is astonishingly low, For 60 Euros a night, breakfast is included at the nearby hotel and that is superb - orange juice, tea or coffee, bread butter and jam and a choice of egg dishes. They were recommended to me and I loudly echo the recommendation. Don't go with a car, though. Parking is a real problem in Dubrovnik. We used the public garage where a week's ticket cost 900 kuna. That's about £100, and you have to walk uphill on steps for about half a mile to get there. It's a challenge with bags, or on the hot days Dubrovnik provides.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

On arriving at the restaurant JUST around the corner (no more than 100 meters) we were delighted to see the view of the walls of the city, the bay, the fort, the restaurant and how quiet a location this is. We were shown to the room and were very pleased with it's cleanliness and condition. There was plenty of space for us two and our luggage. At the restaurant we splashed out on a Chateau Brianne which was reasonaly priced. The food was absolutely delicious so we went back a second night and enjoyed another meal. Breakfasts were ok to fill a hole being omlette or fruit coffee and orange. It was very close to the gates of Dubrovnik so no busses or transport required for the wonderful night life and touring by day. Most enjoyable break with friendly staff. The area was very quiet probably eerily quiet for the position it is. No earplugs necessary here. Also hired a kayak from the chap just outside the restaurant too.

Room Tip: You just need to chance it sometimes. Read reviews and take an average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The location couldn't be better. It is right on the water, about a 1 minute walk from the Pile Gate. The area the hotel is located in is also super charming, with beautiful stone houses all around.

The room itself was fine, but rather old and a nothing to write home about. The restaurant's food tasted ok, but, like all the food in Dubrovnik, it was rather expensive. The reason I give this place 5 stars is that the location was perfect. Even in their old/unrenovated state, the rooms were very underpriced for the location. We paid about $100 a night, and I think it would have been reasonable for them to charge $150-200 a nite, due to the location.

If they gave the rooms a small facelift they could easily charge 5x the amount. I actually think the location is superior to staying in old town since you dont have the crowds of people /noise at night.

We also found a very nice swimming hole very close to the hotel. If, rather than walking towards Pile Gate, you walk in the opposite direction for about 1 min, and stay along the waterfront, you will encounter a swimming area that has a small bar and is frequented by locals. We swam there and it was enjoyable.

Because the room was so old, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my more posh friends, but I would suggest it to anyone who is budget conscious and wants a great great great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offtracktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake district, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Cannot fault the location which is only a very short walk from the Pile Gate into the Old Town.
The rooms were very basic and could do with sprucing up. As we were there to see the town and not spend our time in the room it was OK for us but I would not want to spend a long stay there.
The restaurant had a superb view although the waiter at breakfast was not very cheerful and no menu was offered when asked what was available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here with a friend for four nights recently and took the two bedroom apartment.

The location is great, being only 2 minutes on foot from Pile Gate, down a little cobbled alley. The room as basic but clean. It also had a fridge which was useful for cooling water during the hot days. The beds were massive and very comfortable.

All in all I cannot fault this place too much, especially not at the price. My only slight gripe was that hot water availability seemed to be a little bit erratic and we had to have the odd cold shower as a consequence.

I'd not bother with breakfast (which is served at the nearby Orhan restaurant, where you also check in/out). You can get better quality food at Cafe Festival on Stradun for 10 Kuna more, which seems to be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very happy with it. It is budget accommodation at its best. The location could not be better and the view from the resturant where you have breakfast is stunning, overlooking the water and the old city walls. It is a stone throw away from the entrance to the old town. The rooms are basic but comfortable and cleaned every day. We had a fridge in room.whichas good for keeping water. Just in front of resturant you can hire kayacks, jet skis for competitive prices (they will negotiate on price). All the staff are nice and helpful. A great place to stay whilst exploring dubrovnick.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz112211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
2.0 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Dubrovnik Center Apartments
#388 of 483 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old City Apartments
Old City Apartments
#267 of 483 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Tomato Old Town Entrance
#385 of 483 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X-Rooms Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X-Rooms Dubrovnik

Property: X-Rooms Dubrovnik
Address: Od Tabakarije 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing