We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully luxurious hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Princess Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Princess Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderfully luxurious hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had just spent a week on the island of Korcula at the Marko Polo Hotel and relocated as planned to Dubrovnik and the Neptune Hotel.
When we arrived at the Reception desk (which is shared by the Neptune, Ariston, Royal Palm and Royal Princess Hotels) we were informed that we had been upgraded to a Suite of rooms in the Royal Princess !.....I am always a little cautious when hotels bump you from the planned schedule, but in this case I need not have worried. We were transported the 100yards up the road in a stretch golf buggy to the Royal Princess which even on first viewing looked lovely.
Our Suite was on the second floor , with a small kitchen area, large lounge and bedroom and 2 shower/bathrooms. The balcony had a wonderful view of the rocky coast line and the small islands just off the coast. We had a huge 50inch screen TV in the lounge and another in the bedroom.
We used the"Wellness" centre many times, as the heated indoor pool was wonderful, as were the Sauna and steam rooms, the outdoor sea water pool was very cold, but it was early in the season, so it came as no surprise.
I don't think that I have ever stayed in a better hotel or experienced more helpful and pleasant staff.
One tip for future travellers, is to buy your bus tickets from the Hotel Reception for 12 kuna ......
as on the bus they are 15 kuna. The Number 6 bus terminates just across the road from the hotel and terminates again at Dubrovnik Old Town, so you can't go wrong and you will always get a seat on what is sometimes a very crowded bus!
We loved Dubrovnik and the Royal Princess Hotel !.......................we do not usually return to places, no matter how good they have been, but we will definitely return to this hotel and Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    112
    27
    1
    0
See reviews for
233
297
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

How did I fail to review the Royal Princess on TA? Surely not out of spite, the superb suite to which we were upgraded (for free!) on arrival with its captivating, unobscured 180-degree panoramic view over the Adriatic was without question the high point of 3 weeks of travel in the region. After looking over a few recent posts, I see the main points have already been well-covered: the view, the view and the view. There are two types of accommodation in this building: those that face the sea and those that do not. Never permit yourself the false economy of booking the latter. Whatever they charge for those sea view units is worth every single penny.

Our suite was a spacious one-bedroom affair, with two full baths. The "main" bathroom adjacent to the bedroom was so implausibly lavish that I swear it was larger and better appointed than our entire hotel room in Venice. The unit was outfitted with a small but useful kitchen, very handy although rendered a bit less functional because not a single utensil or vessel of any kind was provided. That said, all one had to do was raise one's eyes to the fabulous "Dr No" type view out the floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall window to forgo any urge to quibble.

Service, anyway as much as we needed, was always impeccable, helpful, polite and dignified. Several young women of cosmopolitan background and a high degree of personal charm spend what seems like 24/7 just waiting to assist you with any little whim like making a reservation somewhere or helping you find something.

The freebie breakfast has been pejoratively described in a recent review. I thought it was fine for what it was with the single exception of the undrinkable coffee furnished by robot barista machines. But what is to quibble about when this collation is offered to you in a vast dining room overlooking that same exquisite sea-view?

So do not hesitate, book a sea front suite only, do not pay for meals in advance (if you must have meals, they';ll sell them to you at the same price anyway) and prepare for a really spectacular oceanfront resort accommodation.

Room Tip: Only ocean front rooms need apply. If you rent the other, you'll hate yourself forever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had booked the Hotel Neptune and paid a small amount to upgrade to a Royal Princess Suite. It was beautiful and was really a five star room and living room. The view is spectacular and this morning I had a beautiful swim in the sea. The sunbathing spots are gorgeous and we enjoyed a drink last night at the bar with a 180 degree view. We didn't have time to try the restaurants as we took a taxi for 10 euro to the old town to explore that area. We could have taken the bus for a tenth of that but we ran out of time. I had to cut our trip short due to a family emergency and funeral and the staff could not have been more accommodating and kind. They are fabulous staff and I look forward to going back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemay027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I won't repeat the descriptions given in previous reviews as they are all quite accurate. The one thing that downgrades my review from a 5 to a 4 star rating is the awful food served up in the Mediterrane restaurant to guests ill-advised enough to have opted for a half board option. As another reviewer remarked, breakfast was just about tolerable provided you don't want anything more than coffee toast and fruit. The evening meals however were completely unacceptable, and all the more so given the otherwise high standard of the hotel. The food was cheap, badly prepared and usually cold, even if it wasn't meant to be. They could not even provide hot plates unless they had just come out of the dishwasher. Whether this was down to poor management, cost cutting or both I couldn't say, but it is not because they are incapable of providing good food, as the Zoe a la carte restaurant (which you have to pay for) has excellent food. I must say that when we complained our complaint was dealt with promptly and courteously dealt with, so come on people, don't accept the mediocre! Take my advice and go for a room only option as there are severel good restaurants only a short walk from the hotel.
As for the hotel being away from the town once you have seen how crowded Dubrovnik gets even in May, you will be glad of the peace and quiet.The bus service is excellent and cheap and runs very late so there is no problem travelling back and forth. All in all a lovely place to spend a week, provided you eat out!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed at the Royal Princess and could not say enough to justify how thrilled I was about the whole experience. Beginning with the reception staff's warm welcome. The treatment was consistent with everyone I came into contact with employed at the hotel from the wellness to restaurants and on.
That said, the thing that impressed my girlfriend and I the most though, were the following: the room, the grounds and sea view. Firstly, the room was the most luxurious one we had good fortune of staying at while traveling through Croatia. From waking up every morning to the 5star sea view to watching the sunset while eating dinner on the restaurants balcony. Secondly, the grounds itself with the beautiful collection of palm trees. Really makes one feel like they are on vacation.
In conclusion, all in all, a great sea side resort, not too far from the beautiful, old town of Dubrovnik. We will definitely return...

Room Tip: The Royal Princess is built going down a mountain side, thus one does not have to worry about having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Not only was the Dubrovnik experience one of the best I had ever had in Europe, but staying in the Royal Princess only added to the value of the trip. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to the suite upstairs with a view of the Adriatic. The staff is very attentive and all speak perfect English. My entire group (from Los Angeles) felt right at home without being smothered. The complimentary breakfasts were excellent. MUST TRY THE FRESHLY SQUEEZED ORANGE JUICE IN THE MORNING!!! THE BEST I'VE EVER HAD IN THE WORLD!! The rooms were always clean and we felt safe leaving belongings in the room. The was a certain charm of the hotel staff as well. Very genuine and approachable. I can't wait to do Dubrovnik again and I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the suite/villa with a view of the Adriactic if available. Me and a group o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Pros
- Spacious room with ocean view
- New & clean
- Nice indoor pool with steamroom and sauna
- Staff with good services

Cons
- A bit far away from the old town, bus ride took at least 15 mins (bus is usually crowded)
- You checked in at another hotel lobby (3* stars), which is a bit annoying
- Breakfast (free) with other hotels' guests. Food quality no good, in fact I skipped after the first day

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nycollegegrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Hotel

Property: Royal Princess Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Princess Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Princess Hotel 5*, with its 54 deluxe high-end accommodations, offers the utmost in luxury. Each suite feels like a private sanctuary equipped with lavish furniture, balcony, living room, kitchenette and boasts breathtaking sea view or relaxing garden view. The hotel is situated steps away from the Adriatic Sea, only 4 km from the Old Town of Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing