We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star room and location but............” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Princess Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Princess Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Five star room and location but............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had spent some considerable time choosing this hotel and we required two rooms ideally adjacent to each other on high floors. We did book six months in advance with the hotel but on our arrival this did not materialise. That said we did end up on the same floor (3 rd I think) quite close to each other. We arrived at reception and I think the five of us were a little disappointed with the layout as it did not have the usual 5 star feel.
Our rooms however did, the interiors and view were fantastic. That is where the 5 star rating ended for us unfortunately! On the first day I took my five year old daughter to the children's pool which is shared by the other hotels in the chain. The pool was very crowded, sun loungers were definitely not 5 star and the pool area had a feel of being dirty. So that was it for us going there. There is a small pool at the royal princess with an equally small area that some loungers have been crammed into. The overall feel is quite nice though but there aren't enough. I don't suppose this area was initially intended for children but understandably as it was a fresh water pool, they gravitated towards it and some guests I don't think appreciated that.
I found the idea of having to exchange towel cards for towels and then return them each afternoon inconsistent for a hotel with a 5 star rating and the external doors all required key card access.
Service around the pool was initially none existent ie get your own umbrellas, put them up yourself and collect your own drinks. The umbrella fell onto my wife one day, knocking over several drinks and my wife had to find a member of staff to re order her drinks, no apology for the umbrella and duly presented her with another bill!
Food in the hotel was nice and we ate at both Zoe's and la Castile with both being very nice but devoid of atmosphere hence eating out in the Old town was preferred. We often enjoy a drink in the hotel bar prior to going out/ dining but this was not possible on one occasion with no staff being present culminating in a wait of 15 minutes and then someone who wasn't sure what drinks they had on their drinks list and worst still, had to smell the contents of them prior to delivering them to us. 5 star ?????? That put an end to drinks in the hotel too.
Service did improve after my wife spoke to a lady she met in the lift who turned out to be part of the management team- tatijana who appeared to act on my wife's suggestions. We received excellent service from the maid Gordana, waitress Tonka, waiters Danijel and Mario to name but a few. Would we go back, probably not. We may try the Villamar Dubrovnik President next time as we did have a look around and the service appeared excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    112
    27
    1
    0
See reviews for
233
297
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Royal Princess for four nights in June. We had an ocean front room on the fourth floor. I think it may have been the most beautiful room in the hotel. The suite included two full bathrooms, a small kitchen, a large sitting area and a balcony. We had considered staying in a sobe in the old town but realized there are none with views of the water so we were very happy with our decision. We spent a lot of mornings and evenings on the balcony. We woke up each morning with a stunning view of the Adriatic. You can buy bus tickets at reception and it is just a short walk up the hill to the bus stop. The busses can get very crowded but it is only a 15 minute ride to the old town. Breakfast was plentiful and filled us up until dinner. The food in Croatia is just ok so we chose dinner places with beautiful views - this hotel has several located on the water. The hotel can arrange airport pickup and drop off so you can get by without a car. We hired a private driver one day to drive us in to Mostar in Bosnia and felt it was the most exotic option for a day trip. We stopped in the beautiful village of Pocitelj and then spent the rest of the day in Mostar. Our driver was Pepo Klaic (pepoklaic@yahoo.com)(recommended in Rick Steves guide) and Pepo did a great job explaining the war and the tensions that still exist in the area today. We saw several mosques, the famous Mostar bridge, and a great town bazar that made us feel like we were in Turkey. (200 Euros - 8 hours).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Twaintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We originally had booked at the Ariston which is one of a row of three hotels owned by the same management. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to this hotel. From reading other reviews this seems to happen a lot, I guess to keep numbers evenly spread across each hotel/restaurant. We did not complain as the Princess is a fantastic hotel.

The room was spacious, with a living room with two singles for the kids, and a great room with en suite for us. The view from the long balcony was breathtaking. Room was modern, not five star, but clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was served on the ground floor and was very good. Usual buffet style, with heaps of choice, and even champagne. Kids loved going up over and over again. Eggs we made to order by the friendly, efficient staff. Only downside are the stray cats that hover around the outdoor tables.

We spent even time around the indoor, outdoor and ocean pools, all were great. Staff throughout the complex were very good.

Location is perfect, right on the rocky coastline, with a private swimming area that you enter by swimming or jumping off the rocks - it's very safe.

We took the local bus to the old town every night which we loved.

All in all a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Insist on sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goobs_tommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fantastic stay at the Royal Princess. It's located well away from any hustle and bustle but within easy bus ride (flat rate £1.20 and you can buy tickets at the reception) from the Old Town. Rooms are large, well-appointed and clean. Some prefer the rooms with sea views (which will be spectacular) but be advised that they may be directly above the bar/restaurant, though this is by no means particularly noisy at any time of day or night. Our room faced inland and was very quiet.

The staff are polite, helpful and unobtrusive (as well as hard working). Facilities in the hotel are excellent: great breakfast buffet, decent wifi, nice outdoor sun bathing area and outdoor pool and an in-house spa. All well tended and clean.

The hotel also owns several restaurants and a very rocky demarcated 'beach' area just along the promenade which is meant to be exclusively for guests. This area was pretty lively when we visited and access was not monitored so I suspect a few non-resident interlopers made up the numbers. We ate at a couple of the hotel's own restaurants and, though there are better menus and venues to be enjoyed within a short walk and, of course, within the Old Town, if you want to stay and eat at the hotel then it's perfectly fine and reasonably priced.

If I had to pick fault would be the pool in the spa; this is supposed to be a 'wellness retreat', a place of relaxation and escape...but then parents allowed their children into the spa pool (indeed some parents dumped their kids here while they went to the gym) and the staff did little to prevent this. As I've said, there is a perfectly good pool outside for kids but allowing them into the spa made the indoor pool a complete waste of time for those trying to enjoy the peace and quiet it was intended for.

Other than that it's a solid 4/5 and the bottom line is that I'd definitely stay here again if I was in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nigey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We occupied Deluxe Suite Balcony Sea View and got very positive impression of the room’s lay-out, equipment and design.
There is really quite suitable apartment for the family which provides 2 rooms, 2 separate bathrooms and kitchen facilities. We got the positive surprise to find in reality exactly the same what we have seen on web site. The balcony connects the both rooms of apartment with armchairs and small table enough for 2 persons.
The main attraction is the real sea view. Hotel situated in 20-30 meters from shoreline ( 10-15 meters of the pines, few meters of the walking alley and 10 meters of SPA and restaurant terrace ).
There is not any sandy beach nearby hotel. However, there are many small terraces on the rock with sufficient number of umbrellas and chaise longue. There are 2 pools with sea water, also. There is two more pools with fresh water inside and outside SPA area. You have to use ladders to go at sea. But, you have chance to enjoy by the really clean Adriatic sea.
The hotel is very clean, well maintained with careful and cooperative staff.
We got a lot of pleasure walking nearby the hotel. There is very nice alley passed from the hotel to the city. There is approx 20 min walking distance above the rocks full of flavor of the sea, flowers and trees. There are a few nice restaurants on this alley with some recreation area in the end of it.
So, Royal Princes is well organized hotel situated in right place.

Room Tip: do not use garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hangar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 7 nights in the Royal Princess with our 4 girls aged 11, 9, 7 and 5. We had a ball, whether it was swimming in the fresh salt water pools, jumping off the rocks, swimming in the indoor pool on the rainy day, having a sauna/steam or jumping on a bus into the old town for a look around and lunch. To be honest dinner options were a little limited if you were a real foodie but fine for the family. We found the staff really friendly and helpful and their english was very good. The view from our rooms was amazing.

Room Tip: Most rooms look over the sea so hard to get a bad one. The higher you are the better view but the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We wanted to take this opportunity to express our gratitude and utmost appreciation to you and your family and the Royal Princess family for making our trip to Dubrovnik spectacular and so memorable for all of us.

Tomislav was an amazing and genteel host to us every day and went above and beyond to make our days at your beautiful hotel fun, exciting and without worry. Everything was always prepared and waiting for us.

Tatjana John planned every step of our trip and it went smooth. Every day was a new and exciting adventure for us and we enjoyed every moment of the meticulous planning that she did to make this happen.

We loved “Captain Rob” who was fun, informative and thought of everything we would want to do on our boat trip. We are forever grateful for his kindness and sincere wish that we had a good time. (We had a ball!)

Nicole always sweet, kind and with the attitude that she could make anything happen and she did . Our family dinner was so delicious and fun. Chef Marko and our amazing server Kruno were amazing. The food was so good and presented in a elegant but relaxed manner. Our wish was Kruno’s command! (We loved the white gloves)

We cannot forget our amazing night at Karaoke. WE never laughed so hard and yes Wally was dancing! An amazing addition to the trip and hotel atmosphere.

Our sailing day was gorgeous and we were so excited and breathless when we saw a pod of dolphins jumping beside our sailboat. Unbelievable. Amir always had our places on the beach waiting for us and was attentive to all our needs each day.

We loved this trip, the hotel was beautiful and the service impeccable. Please share our appreciation with Tomislav and the Royal Princess family.
We look forward to return to this lovely, lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Hotel

Property: Royal Princess Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Princess Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Princess Hotel 5*, with its 54 deluxe high-end accommodations, offers the utmost in luxury. Each suite feels like a private sanctuary equipped with lavish furniture, balcony, living room, kitchenette and boasts breathtaking sea view or relaxing garden view. The hotel is situated steps away from the Adriatic Sea, only 4 km from the Old Town of Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing