We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Princess Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I simply loved this hotel, the staff is absolutely amazing and very helpful, we didn't even need to plan any of our days we simply ended up taking the advice if the staff on where to go and what to do. Rooms is very clean, food is absolutely delightful and the hotel is close to everything.. Would definitely recommend it

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank ElieAbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for Royal Princess Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked the Presidential Suite for a week at the end of July. My husband and two children were certainly wowed by the suite which contained two beautiful bedrooms, guest baths, kitchen, bar, dining room and our own personal sauna room! The quality if the furnishings were very high as was the comfort of the overall suite. It had a huge balcony that simply planted you on top of the Adriatic. Although the room was stunning, it does not surpass the level of service from every member if this hotel! The concierge staff, restaurant staff and reception staff were some if the best in the world! The staff go out if their way to ensure your needs are met as well as your comfort. There are so many examples of how the staff exceeded our expectations that I cannot list them. The grounds are lovely although when you first arrive the hotel, the front entrance will not overall impress. The beauty lies inside and beyond to the rear if the hotel which sits in the Adriatic. There are a family of hotels here with a few restaurants on the premises. The Royal Princess is said to be the finest of them. Although we enjoyed a dinner at one of the restaurants, we mostly ate in the Old Town for lunch and dinner. Breakfast at the hotel was plentiful and varied. The service was outstanding. A true gem on Lapad and in Dubrovnik!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank stkincheloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded from Hotel Neptune to the Royal Princess, one of four hotels grouped together, sharing management and facilities at Babin Kuk, 4km from Old Town , Dubrovnik. The facilities and service were excellent including the welcome champagne on the deck, multiple pools, restaurant options, gym etc. It is a 15 min bus ride into Dubrovnik - not really a problem if you are looking more for a resort holiday than a bustling town experience. Hint-request a sea view room as the alternative is a service road partially obscured by bushes.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had spent some considerable time choosing this hotel and we required two rooms ideally adjacent to each other on high floors. We did book six months in advance with the hotel but on our arrival this did not materialise. That said we did end up on the same floor (3 rd I think) quite close to each other. We arrived at reception and I think the five of us were a little disappointed with the layout as it did not have the usual 5 star feel.
Our rooms however did, the interiors and view were fantastic. That is where the 5 star rating ended for us unfortunately! On the first day I took my five year old daughter to the children's pool which is shared by the other hotels in the chain. The pool was very crowded, sun loungers were definitely not 5 star and the pool area had a feel of being dirty. So that was it for us going there. There is a small pool at the royal princess with an equally small area that some loungers have been crammed into. The overall feel is quite nice though but there aren't enough. I don't suppose this area was initially intended for children but understandably as it was a fresh water pool, they gravitated towards it and some guests I don't think appreciated that.
I found the idea of having to exchange towel cards for towels and then return them each afternoon inconsistent for a hotel with a 5 star rating and the external doors all required key card access.
Service around the pool was initially none existent ie get your own umbrellas, put them up yourself and collect your own drinks. The umbrella fell onto my wife one day, knocking over several drinks and my wife had to find a member of staff to re order her drinks, no apology for the umbrella and duly presented her with another bill!
Food in the hotel was nice and we ate at both Zoe's and la Castile with both being very nice but devoid of atmosphere hence eating out in the Old town was preferred. We often enjoy a drink in the hotel bar prior to going out/ dining but this was not possible on one occasion with no staff being present culminating in a wait of 15 minutes and then someone who wasn't sure what drinks they had on their drinks list and worst still, had to smell the contents of them prior to delivering them to us. 5 star ?????? That put an end to drinks in the hotel too.
Service did improve after my wife spoke to a lady she met in the lift who turned out to be part of the management team- tatijana who appeared to act on my wife's suggestions. We received excellent service from the maid Gordana, waitress Tonka, waiters Danijel and Mario to name but a few. Would we go back, probably not. We may try the Villamar Dubrovnik President next time as we did have a look around and the service appeared excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Sonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Royal Princess for four nights in June. We had an ocean front room on the fourth floor. I think it may have been the most beautiful room in the hotel. The suite included two full bathrooms, a small kitchen, a large sitting area and a balcony. We had considered staying in a sobe in the old town but realized there are none with views of the water so we were very happy with our decision. We spent a lot of mornings and evenings on the balcony. We woke up each morning with a stunning view of the Adriatic. You can buy bus tickets at reception and it is just a short walk up the hill to the bus stop. The busses can get very crowded but it is only a 15 minute ride to the old town. Breakfast was plentiful and filled us up until dinner. The food in Croatia is just ok so we chose dinner places with beautiful views - this hotel has several located on the water. The hotel can arrange airport pickup and drop off so you can get by without a car. We hired a private driver one day to drive us in to Mostar in Bosnia and felt it was the most exotic option for a day trip. We stopped in the beautiful village of Pocitelj and then spent the rest of the day in Mostar. Our driver was Pepo Klaic (pepoklaic@yahoo.com)(recommended in Rick Steves guide) and Pepo did a great job explaining the war and the tensions that still exist in the area today. We saw several mosques, the famous Mostar bridge, and a great town bazar that made us feel like we were in Turkey. (200 Euros - 8 hours).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Twaintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We originally had booked at the Ariston which is one of a row of three hotels owned by the same management. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to this hotel. From reading other reviews this seems to happen a lot, I guess to keep numbers evenly spread across each hotel/restaurant. We did not complain as the Princess is a fantastic hotel.

The room was spacious, with a living room with two singles for the kids, and a great room with en suite for us. The view from the long balcony was breathtaking. Room was modern, not five star, but clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was served on the ground floor and was very good. Usual buffet style, with heaps of choice, and even champagne. Kids loved going up over and over again. Eggs we made to order by the friendly, efficient staff. Only downside are the stray cats that hover around the outdoor tables.

We spent even time around the indoor, outdoor and ocean pools, all were great. Staff throughout the complex were very good.

Location is perfect, right on the rocky coastline, with a private swimming area that you enter by swimming or jumping off the rocks - it's very safe.

We took the local bus to the old town every night which we loved.

All in all a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Insist on sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank goobs_tommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fantastic stay at the Royal Princess. It's located well away from any hustle and bustle but within easy bus ride (flat rate £1.20 and you can buy tickets at the reception) from the Old Town. Rooms are large, well-appointed and clean. Some prefer the rooms with sea views (which will be spectacular) but be advised that they may be directly above the bar/restaurant, though this is by no means particularly noisy at any time of day or night. Our room faced inland and was very quiet.

The staff are polite, helpful and unobtrusive (as well as hard working). Facilities in the hotel are excellent: great breakfast buffet, decent wifi, nice outdoor sun bathing area and outdoor pool and an in-house spa. All well tended and clean.

The hotel also owns several restaurants and a very rocky demarcated 'beach' area just along the promenade which is meant to be exclusively for guests. This area was pretty lively when we visited and access was not monitored so I suspect a few non-resident interlopers made up the numbers. We ate at a couple of the hotel's own restaurants and, though there are better menus and venues to be enjoyed within a short walk and, of course, within the Old Town, if you want to stay and eat at the hotel then it's perfectly fine and reasonably priced.

If I had to pick fault would be the pool in the spa; this is supposed to be a 'wellness retreat', a place of relaxation and escape...but then parents allowed their children into the spa pool (indeed some parents dumped their kids here while they went to the gym) and the staff did little to prevent this. As I've said, there is a perfectly good pool outside for kids but allowing them into the spa made the indoor pool a complete waste of time for those trying to enjoy the peace and quiet it was intended for.

Other than that it's a solid 4/5 and the bottom line is that I'd definitely stay here again if I was in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Nigey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,067 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £92 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Princess Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Princess Hotel 5*, with its 54 deluxe high-end accommodations, offers the utmost in luxury. Each suite feels like a private sanctuary equipped with lavish furniture, balcony, living room, kitchenette and boasts breathtaking sea view or relaxing garden view. The hotel is situated steps away from the Adriatic Sea, only 4 km from the Old Town of Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing