We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steep Steps”

Dubrovnik Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 26 Food & Drink in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The region of Dubrovnik has a great tourism potential and it's a really a shame not to explore it if you visit a beautiful city of Dubrovnik with a cruise ship or staying for a longer time. Do not hesitate to contact us with any question or inquiry about Dubrovnik region and we'll be happy to provide you all up-to-date info and even more happier to take you on some of our tours.
Flesherton, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Steep Steps”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our visit to the beautiful walled city was part of a Cruise Ship Excursion. For anyone planning this I recommend good strong comfortable footwear. There is a small entrance fee which is payable in the local Croatian currency. Euros and Dollars are NOT accepted but Credit cards are.

Watch your step especially the more junior and the more senior. We saw several people fall over on the uneven levels and one woman broke her arm.

The view of the city from the wall is superb. There are little bars and cafes dotted about. We found one on the sea side of the wall with great views. They sell beers and cold drinks but no coffees the Portaloo style toilet is not recommended as water and fresh towels seem to be in short supply.


The Harbour is bustling with lots of boat trips, There was a heavy swell when visited and a few people were sea sick. Lots of restaurants to choose from many quite competitively priced.

Great Day out!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulfilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    33
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great tour with Stjepan. He arrived on time, no hassles, super informative, excellent value.

Stjepan met us at our cruise ship and whisked us off to a lovely lookout before a tour of the streets in the old town. My parents found the town too hot and crowded, and Stjepan was flexible, assisted them to get a taxi back to the ship, then modified the tour for my husband and I. He recommended a great restaurant for a lunch away from the crowds. We were happy to do our own thing for a few hours, so Stjepan made sure we knew how to get back to the boat, and then left us to do our own thing (which we were more than happy to do).

We organised the tour via email (from a remote part of PNG) and this was the first shore day of our cruise so I was unsure what to expect - but it all went off without a hitch and Stjepan was a great and friendly tour guide to boot. I happily recommend Stjepan and Dubrovnik Day Tours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xanthe_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You Can't Go Wrong”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We travel all around the world as a small tour company and work with some of the best guides in the business. We had the chance in Dubrovnik to tour with IVO and Dubrovnik Day Tours and as a small group company we love guides who display a wealth of knowledge, show passion for a city they are sharing and have an innate ability to make you feel that they are speaking just to you. Ivo was this type of tour guide and the whole group enjoyed him greatly. The communication ahead of time was fantastic and every email never went unanswered. Dubrovnik Day tours was able to react at the last minute with a change in meeting point without a hitch. I would not hesitate to recommend Discovering Venice, they will be our tour company on the next return to Dubrovnik. Make sure you do the whole wall walk on your tour, worth it to not cut it short and only do partial walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank M_Stewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and informative day. ”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Our shore excursion of Dubrovnik and surrounds was very enjoyable and informative. Igor, our driver and guide was extremely nice and very interesting and knowledgeable. We were saw beautiful scenery around Dubrovnik and learnt a lot about the recent and past history and culture of the city. Ivor also took us on a walking tour of the Old City. Would thoroughly recommend Dubrovnik Day Tours and use again in Dubrovnik or in Kotor where they also have guides. Booking was also an easy process and Igor always answered my emails promptly. Thanks for showing us your fascinating city.

Helpful?
Thank Emma7340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific tours!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had an incredible time with Ivo and the team at Dubrovnik Day Tours. We did a lot of research online before visiting Croatia to make sure that we found a tour guide company that was trustworthy and that would allow us to get to all the must-sees while we were in Dubrovnik. We were not disappointed! Ivo is terrific--so knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. He brings the history of Dubrovnik to life and is willing to share personal stories that gave us a real glimpse of what it's like to live there. We did the Dubrovnik tour, the day trip to Korcula/Ston/Peljesac, and the day trip to Mostar. All were great, but if you are short on time, the Dubrovnik and Korcula tours were the real highlights for us. Best tour guide, by far, that we had during our two-week stay in Croatia! You really can't go wrong with them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dubrovnik Day Tours also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Dubrovnik Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing