We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and large rooms with a 20min bus ride to the old town and perhaps 10mins to the port with a bus stop conveniently located ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Argosy hotel for one night after a week long cruise which finished in Dubrovnik so we wanted to spend time looking around the old town before heading to Rome. Our room was very spacious and clean and had free wifi overall was perfect for a quick stopover. The hotel is huge with corridors that seem to go onforever. There seemed to be many senior citizen guests when we were there which was no trouble at all but it was very noticeable with the average age being appprox 60 and we are a couple in our late 20's. The hotels architecture was dated which meant that the pool didn't capture the stunning views of the sea and was in the shade so the pool was freezing. A cab ride to the old town takes half the time in a taxi and costs roughly HRK 60-70. A set fare from the hotel to the airport is HRK 270 and takes about 30mins.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Amber M,
many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and we are glad you chose our hotel for your one night stay in Dubrovnik. I hope hotel Argosy would be choice for your eventually next visit to Dubrovnik, perhaps, for some longer period.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights as a group (a choir). On arrival we were treated to a complementry glass of sparkling wine on the terrace . The manager intoduced himself to everyone and made us feel very welcome. Our room had a balcony overlooking the bay. It was spotless and I could'nt fault it. On our last night we had a BBQ there and it was a terrific night the food was very good as were the breakfasts each morning. It was in a good location and only 10 minutes by taxi into the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Ms. Paula,

Thank you very much for taking time to write review on TripAdvisor. Our goal is service that makes all our guests feel welcome and at home, so I’m delightful when you felt like that. Also hope you enjoyed in Dubrovnik, as well , and that you’ll be our guest in the future.
Greetings from Dubrovnik to you and whole Kilkenny choir.

Josip Konjevod-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

All the pros and cons have already been pointed out by the previous reviewers. I just want to list the following observation:

* the good:
- staff is making an effort to accommodate my requests, they gave clear information and went out of their way to help;
- the ceiling in my room is about 5 meters, making the room very airy and looks larger than it is;
- breakfast at the terrace

* the not-so-good:
- it's big hotel, catering to the groups, and in May it is mostly senior citizens, which means you can't beat the crowd in the morning as they gets up earlier than you;
- for the same reason above, the weekend entertainment at the lobby was a bit sad affair. But just because I don't like lounge music does not necessarily mean others don't, and judging from the crowd in the lobby last weekend, a lot of them did;

Lastly, I read a few comments even before my trip hating the building itself. I guess it is really personal taste. While no specialist myself, I think the complex was in Brutalist Architecture style, which deliberately preserves the wood imprint on concrete when casted in situ. Personally I like it a lot and prefer it than the tiring glass-and-steel ones you see in most resorts. Again, just because you don't like it yourself does not warrant you asking them to "knock it down and rebuild".

Room Tip: Most rooms has balcony or terrace, so you might have better chance of getting one if you ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sebastiensh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Sebastiensh,
On behalf of hotel Argosy staff , and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us your impressions. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
That’s why I’m glad you liked our breakfast at the terrace and I’m truly happy you noticed our staff effort.
Regarding comments for the building itself, I agree with you that everyone has a taste of his own, so some people like the it and some don't, but I’m glad you did. Same can be said of the music.
Hoping to see you again in the future.
All the best from Dubrovnik.
Josip Konjevod-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay and found the Hotel to be very nice. It is situated at the end of the Bus route (no. 6) in a lovely location. Our partial seaview room was good and very clean. We found the Hotel Reception helpful and the food was good. The Hotel is also used by tour groups and occasionally the noise levels in the Restaurant were loud.
We would recommend the Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a partial or full seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear P’line
thank you very much for choosing hotel Argosy for your holiday and many thanks for taking the time to let us know you feedback from your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read that you had nice stay with, On your next visit to Dubrovnik I do hope that you will return to stay with us.
Best regards
Josip Konjevod- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The view from the dining area is spectacular, certainly the best in a hotel I've seen in Europe. Very handy to get to Dubrovnik Old Town, the 6 bus stops yards away. Staff are friendly and very helpful. We stayed for a week on half board and, apart from lunch, did not eat anywhere else - there was no need. The variety of food was excellent and well cooked and the house wines were fine. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We hope to return soon. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a sea view. Worth paying extra.Spectacular views of the islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear davedo,

I would like to thank you for your lovely review on tripadvisor. I'm very glad you enjoyed in our restaurant and its unique location. Thank you for noticing the helpful and friendly staff, that means a lot to us.
I sincerely hope we see you again in the near future for another nice Argosy experience.

best wishes form Dubrovnik
Josip Konjevod- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A wonderful well managed 3 Star hotel. Excellent ford and great location just a few steps away from the sea.
Th staff are very helpful, most of the rooms have been refurbished and are air conditioned. More rooms are being upgraded on an ongoing basis.

Room Tip: choose a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joytravellervienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear joytravellervienna,

we are so glad you have spent nice time with us and thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor.
It’s always a pleasure to read positive comments especially when our effort has been noticed.
Also, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Argosy for your holiday and wish you many happy returns.

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a very good hotel in nice surroundings and nice sea views. The hotel is like the old
holiday camps because of its size and architecture, which is very communistic in style. The rooms were excellent and were well looked after each day. The food in the restaurant was of
good quality and was served with a smile.Unfortunately the noise levels in the restaurant are unacceptable and some people could not tolerate it. The people at Reception were magnificent
and really tried hard to meet all our needs. Bar service in the foyer left alot to be desired and
many clents had unhappy experiences. I found the hotel too far from the old town despite a good bus service. Overall a very pleasant hotel which could be first class.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IStephano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear IStephano,

Thank you very much for choosing Argosy hotel for your holiday and we're glad you liked it.
We highly appreciate your comments.
We all try our best, so I'm glad you've noticed that during your stay.
I am sorry to hear that you found restaurant too noisy. Unfortunately, due to bad weather conditions we couldn’t use outside terraces to cope with that issue. I’m sure in that case, your stay would be more pleasant.
Until your next visit, all the best from Argosy team!

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £95 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by fantastic Mediterranean scenery, the Valamar Argosy Hotel provides the scene for a relaxing or romantic getaway near the old town of Dubrovnik. It's located in the unspoilt nature of the Babin Kuk peninsula, just a few minutes away from three attractive Dubrovnik beaches. In 2018, Valamar Argosy welcomes you with our new and improved services and facilities. Enjoy your stay in a comfortable, stylish room with a balcony, select from the wide-ranging buffet offer in the hotel restaurant, and relax in the wellness zone or by the fantastic infinity pool with a view of the sea and nearby islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing