We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very plesant week at the Argosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very plesant week at the Argosy”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

4 of us have just returned from a week here, having grown up kids with us for the first time in years we wanted somewhere reasonably priced. As has already been said, the hotel will win no beauty contest, I suspect it was built as a holiday retreat for 'the friends of the party' back in communist days. However this is soon forgotten about, especially when you eat dinner with one of the best sunsets you will ever see. We ate on the lower terrace, surrounded with the smell of lavender, watching the sun slip between the islands, magical!
Good points:
1. Clean inside, well maintained gardens
2. Spacious outside area with plenty of places to sit in the shade.
3. Friendly staff.
4. Good location at the start of the number 6 bus route, you will see how valuable this is when you witness the fight to get on later in the journey!
5. Good food, though as all croatian food seemed to be, a bit 'unspectacular'.

The not so good:
1. Air conditioning struggled to keep the room cool when it was 30+ outside.
2. If you don't like cats, don't eat on the terrace! I don't have a problem, but you might. Semi ferral cats are everywhere in croatia.
3. The dining room would be crowded if you all had to eat there, but this never happened to us as the sun shone all week.
Tips:
1. Get a Dubrovnik card, covers several attractions, including the walls, discounts in restaurants and shops and 10 or 20 bus rides depending on 3 or 7 day card.
2. Walk through the park to get to the bus, the hotel drive is hot and dangerous.
3. The cafes in the little shopping centre beside the hotel are cheap and come alive at night.
4. If a bus back from the pile gate is crowded, get the next one and let the others fight for a space; they run every 5 - 10 minutes.

Overall we would have no hesitation in returning to the Argosy Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our week.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep before 11, ask for a room away from the bar area and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grittyofcheadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear guests,
Allow me to thank you for choosing Argosy hotel for your vacation. I find it very helpful to recognize all the good and less good things You as our guest notices. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
I'm sure your tips in the end will come in very handy for our future visitors.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and to read that you would have no hesitation in returning.
Till than all the best from Dubrovnik!
Regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    577
    169
    41
    13
See reviews for
179
723
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We spent four nights here on our tour and were really sorry to be leaving so soon. The staff were excellent and room and food very good. Because the weather was good we were able to dine on the terrace for breakfast and dinner with beautiful views across the bay. If weather does not permit outside dining it may be a bit claustrophobic in the dining room with so many guests arriving to eat at the same time so would advise dining later or choose the summer months to visit. The local beach is shingle/pebble a few minutes walk but the pool area is excellent with lots of space and plentiful sunbeds. Pool bar does an excellent greek salad for lunch and prices are ok. Had live music entertainment every night in the courtyard garden by the bar. We went into Dubrovnik one evening (bus service really easy to use and runs beyond midnight); can definitely recommend. Lovely atmosphere with streets, walls and towers illuminated; if you're into jazz then the Troubadour cafe bar is the place to have your night-cap. Riviera travel company provided an excellent holiday by the way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtraddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your most kind review. We appreciate every word you have written and are extremely happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. Especially that you have enjoyed in our food, certainly important part of any vacation.
I am also very pleased that that you got the chance to visit Dubrovnik Old Town I believe you “tip” would be valuable to our future guests.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Best wishes from Dubrovnik,
Josip Konjevod- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

It is a hotel in a fantastic location. Not close to the old town but the bus down only costs £3 roughly or you can get a card which gives you free bus rides and entrances to attractions. The staff are courteous and helpful. The pool area is clean and well maintained with access to the beaches close by. The gym and tennis is shared between the 4 hotels but this isn't a problem, we made friends with 2 Swedish people and played tennis with them most mornings. There is a shopping centre close by with plenty of options for food and entertainment so you can spoil yourself. Its well worth a visit as the rooms are clean. We had a great view of the sea and pool from our balcony. Food is more expensive here than in the shopping centre and possibly not as good but there is always enough.

Room Tip: We had a room over the garden by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tennishels67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure for us to read your positive comments about our hotel. Thank you very much. I am happy to read that you have had a pleasant vacation with us and that categorized us as “worth a visit” . I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Best regards from Dubrovnik,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four nights as part of a Riviera Tour holiday. The room I had was a twin room on the ground floor with a large shared balcony. The doors to the balcony were old and were quite difficult to lock and unlock and did not close properly at the top leading to the air con not being very efficient. As the temperature was in the 90s most days this made the room quite warm. The room itself was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The dining room was quite noisy at busy periods but the outside eating area was better with beautiful views. The food was very fresh and varied and even the fussiest of eaters would find it good. There were chefs cooking food in the evenings and the fish and meats were delicious.
The garden area was a lovely place to sit in the evenings and there was some form of entertainment each night, which was very good.
All in all a typical 3 star hotel with excellent staff who were very attentive at all times

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChampagneSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor community. I am pleased to read that you liked our food and you found our team to be attentive throughout your stay .
I hope you will visit Dubrovnik again, and that you will be our guest on that occasion. Until then I send you best regards from the entire Argosy staff
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in mid June as part of a Riviera Travel tour package.
It is a large hotel and typical of the dour socialist architecture of the 70's ie. lots of unadorned concrete. However, the views are superb .. especially from the diningroom terrace and the adjoining gardens : these are features that would befit a 4 or 5 star hotel.
The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is very good.
Our main disappointment was the bedroom. To be fair the bed was comfortable and the ceiling fan was helpful. But there was a general feeling that the level of furnishing was below what you would expect in a 3 star ( superior ) hotel : a glaring example of this was the use of plastic garden chairs ( in lime green ! ) as your 'easy chairs'. Also, the concentena wardrobe doors were so frustrating and impractical. The sliding doors to the balcony were almost impossible to lock and based on old technology. The room had an Air Con control box but this did little to lower the temperature .. it was often mid 20 degrees ! The entry door to the room was very difficult to close and the handle was positioned in such a way that you could easily injure your hand trying to force it shut. The bathroom was basic but was the best feature of the room : for example, the shower always worked well with plenty of hot water and towels were changed frequently. Overall though the room required some refurbishment to match modern expectations of a good 3 star hotel.
The quality and range of food was OK for a 3 star rating but varied significantly from day-to-day.
One small irritation was the lack of fresh tomatoes on the salad selection on 2 nights.
If you get a place on the dining room terrace you will have a magnificient view : but the main dining area is characterless and 'canteen like'.
The reception staff were always friendly and efficient, with especial thanks to Daniel who arranged for a doctor to come to our room to treat my wife who was suffering from sickness.
Some wonderful walks from the hotel, especially around the Lapad penninsular via the Neptune hotel. Short walk to the bus terminus : No.6 takes you to Dubrovnik old town in about 10 minutes : get your tickets from the hotel shop at a cheaper price.
In short, the hotel was good enough to make our holiday an enjoyable one but some small refurbishments are needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asitwas4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel and thank you for putting so much effort into your detailed review for pointing out everything you liked or not. I am very sorry if you didn't find your room about up to your expectations but I’m glad despite that you had enjoyable holiday.
Thank you for noticing our superb views from dining room and gardens although I am so proud you have complimented our unique staff member, Mr. Daniel.
All of our staff members constantly strive towards achieving the highest levels of customer service and hearing such feedback as yours is the greatest reward and a special motivation for them.
Daniel and the rest of our team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale Cheshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a large hotel set in beautiful grounds with dramatic scenery. It is very clean & weel cared for the staff are friendly & is anothe example of Riviera Travel picking the ideal place for its clients. We manage st secure an outside table on the terrace of th large restaurant on each of our 4 night stay & each night we witnessed the most beautiful sunsets over the mountains Stunning!

Room Tip: Such a large hotel their seemed to be rooms on all elevations with different aspects ours (208) ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommoSaleCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Argosy hotel with the Trip Advisor community.
We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our unique restaurant location contributed to your experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Great room, good food and very clean. Spacious with lovely al fresco dining, live music in the evenings and two bars (one of which is beside the pool). Location is very close to bus stop, number 6 takes you directly to the old town in about 10 minutes. Access to the see for swimming is within 5 minutes walk with pedalos, canoes and an inflatable fun park. There is also a small shopping centre attached to the hotel.

Warning... It is a very couply hotel and almost all are pensioners. However as a couple in our early 20s we still felt very welcome. Tap water in the room is drinkable but they don't serve it in the restaurant, and a smile from the waiting staff might be nice too! The room has high ceilings and a spacious bathroom which is cleaned daily. Fantastic value for money, definitely recommended :) :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieR0bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Argosy hotel with fellow travelers. It’s always pleasure to read recommendations from our guests.
I am glad the hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay in Argosy and I also hope this will encourage you to visit us again soon.
Best wishes from Dubrovnik,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,008 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing