We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed impressions”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with Riviera Travel. First impressions of the room were not good. Lime green moulded plastic chairs looked cheap and the curtains were too long by about 15 inches. There were stains on one of the sheets and a towel. Looked like tea but whatever it was there is no excuse when everything is white cotton and easily laundered. The air conditioning was confusing with two separate boxes on the wall but once conquered was quite efficient. Bathroom was OK but lime green tiles are not to everyone's taste. Concertina wardrobe doors awkward and would not lie flat.
Having got the negative aspect over I have to say the room was comfortable enough with extra pillows in the wardrobe. The hotel itself is quite well appointed with plenty of sitting out areas and a large lobby bar with plenty of seating. There was live music there each evening. Food is buffet style with well warmed plates. The hotel is ideally situated in an area of parkland shared with other Valamar hotels and there are pleasant walks and good views. It is a short walk to a small shopping area with bars and cafes. A bus service runs to Dubrovnik old town every ten minutes.
Looking at some of the photographs it is obvious that most rooms have curtains that fit though there do seem to be a lot of lime green plastic chairs. I would recommend the hotel if only for its wonderful position.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengelly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Sincere thanks for choosing Argosy for your recent stay in Dubrovnik and for taking time to share your experience with Tripadvisor community.
I am glad you have found our room comfortable enough, and we have also noted all other comments regarding our hotel.
Thank you once again and I hope to see you again in Argosy and Dubrovnik.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    522
    158
    36
    13
See reviews for
155
649
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north west
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

If you like lime green paint, this is the hotel for you. Bedrooms and ensuite need a refurb but public rooms are good. Buffet food in lovely restaurant with 2 terraces. Food very bland and a bit same-y. Great location on the terminus of the number 6 bus into the city. Lovely views of Dubrovnik bridge and coastline from the public rooms and some bedrooms

Room Tip: Try to avoid having a room in the central atrium area unless you like music until 2300 or later. Noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dritherdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for finding the time to write your impressions on Trip advisor. I am glad you found our public areas good. All curtains and carpets had been replaced before this season, we have built new balconies, and rooms are going to be our next investment. That works are planned for winter, so I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again .
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just returned from The Argosy and would recommend a stay in this hotel. Staff are extremely helpful and the food is excellent, loads to choose from and of a good quality. The restaurant has the most wonderful views and its great to eat outside. The restaurant staff are all very welcoming and go out of their way to make your holiday special. Great hotel. Will return !!!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the sea for the most amazing views and watch the cruise liners arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somerset58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guests,
A big Thank you for your words of praise regarding our hotel. It is always nice to read that our staff is doing an remarkable job of making our guests happy during their vacation, and I am happy that you got to experience it for yourself.
Until your next visit we wish you all the best!
Kind regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

When our party arrived, we were extremely happy to see this lovely hotel nestling in wonderful surroundings. The view from our balcony was stunning. The rooms spotless, the breakfast buffet exceptional. It was easy to decide to eat in at night, when we were given a 20% discount as guests, and again the food was varied and delicious. Buses to and from the old city were on the doorstep, and very cheap and easy to use.

I would definitely book to come here again, lovely hotel and staff also, made this a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: I only have stayed in a room with balcony and sea view, and it was amazing to wake up to that view e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing hotel Argosy for your vacation in Dubrovnik and also I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your impressions in writing on Trip advisor. It is always pleasure to read kind words form our guests.
We are happy that you were pleased with your stay and especially with the staff service and the quality of the food provided.
We will be happy to have you again as our dear guest and until next time in Argosy,
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Just back from a wonderful week in Dubrovnik where I stayed in Argosy Hotel for full week. Food choice and standard was excellent for both buffet style Breakfast and Dinner. Staff could not be more pleasant or helpful. Location is also excellent, just a two minute walk to No. 6 bus (every 10 minutes) to Dubrovnik. Look forward to returning

Room Tip: Nice to get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KettleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Guest,
we are so glad you have spent nice time with us and thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor.
Thank you very much for complementing our restaurant and the food, especially staff friendliness what makes me very proud.
Also, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Argosy for your holiday and wish you many happy returns.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prishtinë, null, Kosovo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay. Rooms are very good, the view is good but the most attractive part was the kitchen. It had lots of food varieties, the service was very good and the view was perfect. I would love to go again there, it worth those day that i spend there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSaranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review for you recent stay in our hotel. It is pleasure to read your compliments and I am very glad to see that you would like to visit us again.
Until such opportunity, greetings from sunny Dubrovnik!
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Loved the resort. There was so much to do - tennis, pool, beaches, etc. The food was great and the view of the restaurants were great. The staff was very friendly. Easy access to discover the local sights. We took a boat tour from the hotel and took the bus into Dubrovnik with no problems. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tygriss74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very glad to hear that you have nice and pleasant stay in our hotel. Thank you for complementing our restaurant and the food, especially staff friendliness what makes me very proud.
It is always nice to hear kind words from our guests.
I am also glad that you have explored local sights and I hope you will be our guest again in the future.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing