We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff - friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff - friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel was billed as 3 star but I would give it 4. The room was clean and comfortable. I would have loved a kettle but as you could get hot beverages in the bar it wasn't a problem. The "green" policy of only changing linen and towels on request is very good. All the staff were very friendly and helpful , especially the bar staff in the reception area. The food was really good with plenty of choice and the restaurant staff were excellent.
There was an excellent bus service into the town of Dubrovnik which made the location of the Argosy an excellent choice. Would recommend this hotel to all ages.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margmac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay in the Argosy hotel and your feedback shared on tripadvisor.
We are very thankfull for your kind words and recommendations which makes us very proud.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    511
    154
    36
    12
See reviews for
149
631
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for a week with my husband August 2013 for our honeymoon. They upgraded our room even tho it was their highest season and sent us champagne. The reception and management was really nice. The room is a little small but very clean- the bathroom was less nice than the room but totally fine. The grounds of the hotel are GORGIOUS. The resteraunt terrace overlooks the water and the mountains and there are many walking paths overlooking the stunning scenery. The pool was not great (small and cold) but the beaches are very pretty (no sand!!! only pebbles/ rocks). For those with kids- there is a kiddie pool. The hotel is located in a group of a bunch of other hotels there are a few bars/ resteraunts suveneir shops and small grocery store in the complex which is really convinient. Bus from the hotel straight to the old town that leaves every 10 minutes. The hotel also had entertainment every night at the bar which was really sweet and nice. Breakfast was good. Overall- really relaxing place and WELL worth the money. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us; it really is appreciated.
It is our aim to continually offer a great service experience to all our guests and I was therefore pleased to hear that you appear to have received this during your time with us.
We are very glad and proud that we could make your honeymoon better and looking forward to accommodate you in our hotel for one of your anniversaries.

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East coast
Level Contributor
232 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Argosy Hotel. We were in room 245, which was a garden view room, and was quite roomy. Others in our group who were staying in single rooms, reported that their room at the Argosy was bigger than all 3 rooms combined, that they had been in previously.

The blanket on the bed was a thin fluffy one, but there were 2 of them, so we each had our own blanket. The room uses an actual key, so there's no need to use a room key to keep the electricity on. That was a plus. The TV worked fine, as did the combination safe. There was a minibar (which we didn't use) at eye level, with a glass door.

The shower control was semi-broken, but we didn't complain to management about it, as we could still use the shower, which had an adjustable height shower head. And there was a flat area at the bottom of the shower door, so you didn't scrape your foot on it.

There were not a lot of electric outlets in the room, and we had to unplug a lamp to use one to charge our computer. The free WiFi was a bit spotty for us.

There was nightly entertainment in the garden near the bar and front desk. That atrium area could get noisy (not from the musical entertainment, though), so avoid getting a room near there. Also, there was a rock concert nearby on Saturday night, and it was still VERY loud when we passed it at 1:30 AM coming back to the hotel. Luckily our room was on the other side of the hotel from the concert.

There were 2 nearby beaches [down to the right], Cava and Cococabana. Cava had a nude section, if you walked down the shore far enough. Cococabana was the larger beach, and had a sports/play equipment area which had an extra charge -- 40 kuna for a 1/2 hour; 60 kuna for an hour; cheaper for longer times. Sea urchins were seen at Cococabana, (can't remember if I saw them at Cava), but not a lot, and with the clear water, they were easily avoided.

The meals were very good with lots of selections. For example, there was a choice of 10 salads, in addition to your usual do-it-yourself ingredients. There were 4 choices for meat, (pork, rump steak, chicken, and turkey), in addition to fish choices. The patio was quieter than inside. And you could sign for drinks at the restaurant and bar, unlike our hotel in Opatia.

At breakfast, there was an option for fresh squeezed orange juice, but it cost 25 kuna. Regular orange juice was included. The toaster was a slow belt model, and the bread would sometimes get caught in it. Coffee was served in a mini pitcher at your table. Chefs were cooking food constantly, so getting freshly cooked eggs was not a problem.

The pool was fresh water, and beach towels were numerous. There was also a kiddie pool. There was a bar and sandwiches at the pool, and 5 showers nearby for rinsing off.

There were small outside shops between the hotels, if you wanted to go shopping nearby. And as others have mentioned, there was the number 6 bus to get to and from Dubrovnik. Get tickets for it in the gift shop.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments.
We highly appreciate your opinion and we surely hope to have you back in our hotel!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod- General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent location and only a bus ride to the old city.
Very friendly and helpful staff.The hotel manager upgraded our room from classic to the sea view room at no extra cost at the height of the summer season which was really appreciated!
A lovely atmosphere on a small terrace at dinner times.Good selection of fruits,cold salads,desserts.Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sani26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your impressions of our hotel.
We are glad to receive positive comments, especially if they are referring to our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod- General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

May have a 3 star rating, but our Superior room had the best sea view ever, all mod cons, and by far the best value for the price of any place I've stayed in. Quiet, very clean hotel, great staff especially in breakfast/dining area, beaches only a few minutes walk away, shops and restaurants close by, we had an amazing stay. went for a meal in the nearby President hotel (4 star) and I'm so glad I stayed in the Argosy instead! Zero insects by the way, great breakfast buffet and staff really willing to help with anything we wanted. Excellent!!!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. Costs hardly anything more, and so worth it. We had room 260 - lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruno_reinhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel which I'm thanking you for!
We are delighted to see you gave the highest mark in your review and could not be more proud with fact that our staff contributed to it.
We hope to have an opportunity of greeting you again on some other occasion in our hotel!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod- General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis Mo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The Argosy, while reasonably priced is more like two star hotel. The older part of the hotel is in need of renovation. The insects in the outdoor dining area our troublesome. The front desk staff was helpful, but not overly so.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsrl214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry we did not completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. I was surprised when I read your comment’s headline because we usually receive completely opposite comments regarding our categorization from our guests (ex. should be a 4*, it's almost 4 * etc.). However, every comment is important to us and thank you very much for yours.

We hope that we will have an opportunity of greeting you again on some other occasion and thus have a chance to show ourselves in better light and to deserve better marks.

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have not long been back after spending 10 nights at the Argosy hotel. The hotel has very friendly staff, the hotel is faultless! It is clean, close to the beach and not far from the old city with a bus that stops outside the hotel. We had an amazing holiday in CRoatia and we fell in love with it. We are thinking of returning next year. The only small negative was the wild cats that wandered into the restaurant, myself and my husband had a few bites and are sure they were flea bites. Overall though, a fab hotel with lovely food and staff in an excellent position within a beautiful country.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctomshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to write this review.
It makes us very proud to receive a highest mark, especialy if our staff made you feel welcome and happy.

We certanly hope to welcome you again in our hotel and our beautiful country!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing