We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Pucic Palace(Dubrovnik)
US$468
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lero(Dubrovnik)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$501
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel More(Dubrovnik)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tirena Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,400 results
Traveller rating
522
636
185
42
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
636
185
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriviera travelthe hotel shopthe buspool areacoral beach clubold townbabin kukdrinks packagebuffet stylesea viewaqua aerobicsbreakfast and dinnercava beachlast stoplovely hotelhalf boardsmall shopping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,400 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was the second leg of our Riviera tour of Croatia, and quite a contrast to the previous, smaller hotel in Omis. We had a room on the top, fourth floor, so had nice high ceilings, and could just about see the sea over the treetops. The room was very comfortable, with a private balcony and a lovely bathroom with bath and overhead shower. The air conditioning was not on, but we found the ceiling fan perfectly adequate in cooling the room.
Other reviewers have mentioned the labyrinthine structure of the Argosy, and it is a day's march to the restaurant! However, the food was very good at breakfast and dinner, with an astonishing variety . The salads were particularly impressive, with a good range of seafood on some evenings. The restaurant did become very crowded and noisy since the hotel was so busy, but it was bearable.
Good luck to the hotel for its upgrade. We enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: The fourth floor gives high ceilings and good views. Ours was 442.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanR646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to send us your review.
It is very nice to hear you were happy with the hotel, it's facilities and the food.
Thank you for nice wishes for our upcoming upgade. We hope that you will be able to come in the future and enjoy all the lovely changes we have planned for next season.


Best regards
Josip Konjevod-General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early October 2013. We emailed the sales department prior to arrival requesting Sea View room with balcony. Our room was on second floor with fantastic sea views of the island and beautiful sun sets. Exactly what we requested. Although it was quite a trek to the restaurant and reception, it was well worth it. As others have said, the food was good, staff very pleasant and helpful. House wine was good and cheap. Just outside No 5 bus takes you to the Cable Car. No 6 takes you to the old city entrance. if you want to walk the wall, purchase a Dubrovnik card. It includes bus travel, entrance to the wall and about 3 museums. Saves you quite a bit and can be obtained from reception. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request rooms with balcony & sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tooson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We're thanking you for your kind comment.

We were very happy to be able to offer you the sea view room and we're glad you appreciated the beautiful scenery. What makes us even more happy is that you noticed the efforts of our staff to meet all the expectations of our clients.

We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here as part of Riviera travel trip but disappointed. Hotel very impersonal and sprawling and felt rather dated. Our room on the 4th floor overlooked t2big airconditioning outlets but more importantly was completly overlooked by an open corridor leading to restaurant thus making it necessary to have the curtains pulled to stop people having a clear vision inside at all times but especially bad with the light on in the mornings or evenings! Needless to say no balcony or patio and furnishings looked tired. Hotel grounds looked bit sad too, not one of the best unfortunately. Food reasonable but again restaurant very impersonal and staff not as helpful as has been suggested! Bus to city good value!

Room Tip: If you get the one with the aircon and corridor views ask for a change of room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for finding the time to write your impressions on Trip advisor.

I feel sorry we did not completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us.
I am wondering if you did not like your room then why did you not ask for a room change. I am sure that our front office manager would be glad to help. If your room was without balcony or patio now I can only assume that was kind of room you booked.

I am very sorry you did not ask to see me personally, during your stay with us and thus give me a chance to resolve any issues to the mutual benefit and in a way to make your stay in Argosy comfortable and enjoyable.

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

A labyrinth of a place! Points to consider if you want accommodation here - a) Some rooms are a long way from reception, bar and restaurant, less able guests would struggle. B) The restaurant is more like a canteen where mayhem reigns. It was very noisy and frantic especially in the evenings. C)There were insufficient easy chairs unless you consider sitting in a downstairs area where it is gloomy, cold and unwelcoming. D)Hotel grounds and gardens were badly neglected and overgrown thus hiding the sea view and sunsets from ground floor rooms.E) There was a lack of privacy in ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 933Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us; it is appreciated.

I am really sad to see you rated us as a “poor choice” and I am very sorry if you did not find anything up to your expectations.

However, I hope that you spent nice vacation in Dubrovnik and also hope you will give us opportunity to host you again in future.

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a sprawling hotel which exercises the legs and challenges your sense of direction and memory! The key to understanding this hotel is (a) that you reception and entrance are on level 2, and that the dining room is located BETWEEN levels 2 and 3. Following direction signs from reception to the dining room leads you along corridors then up a flight of stairs. Being on level 1 it was easier to take the lift to level 3, along corridor then down a flight!

Once you found the huge dining room you discover that it's split into several areas to test your memory as you try to trace your steps back to the table you've left your marker on.

There is a large range of excellent food; with "chefs" manning some of the serveries cooking in front of you. It can get very busy and the non-queuing manners of a few guests can be annoying - you can tell the foreigners from countries that don't place cricket!

The hotel is located a on a peninsula with several other hotels within a pleasant and well maintained park. There is also a small shopping centre with bars and touristy shops.

Close by is the terminus for the number 6 bus which goes down to the old town - buy your ticket from the hotel shop and save 2 kuna! Catching the bus back can be traumatic - it's those foreigners again who pretend to queue then mob the door of the bus when it arrives. The driver's rule of thumb is that the bus is not full until the doors attempt to amputate random limbs from the last few to get on.

The hotel had switched off the air conditioning, so although you could get the fan on your room's unit to run, it did did nothing to regulate the temperature, so even in September it was too warm at times.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a see view, and the ones on level 1 are too low to see the sea over the shrubbery.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John_and_Gwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to share your impressions with us.

Although a bit challenging, I'm glad you found our hotel satisfying too.


We hope to welcome you again in Dubrovniki and in Hotel Argosy!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews