We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great views on the Babin Kuk peninsular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great views on the Babin Kuk peninsular”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our room was very nice quite spacious with a balcony that overlooked the sea (although the view was obscured a little by the sister hotel in front of us the Valamar President. The breakfast and evening buffet were very good with a large selection of dishes. We stayed at the Argosy at the beginning of June and the weather was very hot but unfortunately the water in the beautiful infinity pool was freezing. The nearest pebble public beach was close to the hotel but we were not allowed to use the Valamar Presidents (next door) private beach. The staff were friendly and the Manager Matko Maric was great, a lovely man who put his customers first. There were some good tours in the area and an excursion to the Elaphite islands is a must especially if you go on the 16th centuary replica boat the "Karaka". The trip into Montenegro was a very long day but Kotor was definately worth seeing although could have done without the extra coach trip of about 2 hours to Budva.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    538
    160
    38
    13
See reviews for
162
672
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the 4 star Argosy Hotel during the last week of May. We found it was a good time to holiday for those of us of a certain age with our family grown -up. Not sure what it would be like when the families arrive.
I didn't get around to using the spa but it was good to have the option.
The hotel is very clean and the facilities are very good. The gym is small but useful, the pools are good, we saw the pool water being tested which was reassuring. The poolside furniture seemed to be new, as were the beds and pillows which are clean and comfortable.
We had a balcony with a sea view which was nice to relax on, however there are many places both inside and out to sit and relax.
We went on a B&B basis as we like to try local restaurants, the breakfast buffet was excellant.
Each morning I enjoyed cereal, freshly made pancakes, omelets and crispy bacon covered with honey! there is plenty of choice.
The staff were friendly and helpful, for example we arrived after midnight and the guy on reception made us tea. There wasn't tea making facilities in the room however when we asked for a kettle etc. they provided them.
The hotel provide pool exercise sessions and entertainment in the evening. The gardens are nice to walk through in the evening and the beach is only a 10 minute walk away in front of the neighbouring hotel which is in the same chain of hotels.
There is a local bus the no. 6 outside the hotel every 20 mins, its inexpensive and drops you at the entrance to the old walled city.
We ate out in a different restaurant in the city each night, great variety.
We walked the city walls which takes over an hour great views from it.
There are many boat and coach trips to explore further afield.
The cable car is worth a trip if you want an even better view.
The sea water is so clean and clear, and the tap water is safe to drink.
I would recommend it and go back some time.

Room Tip: We were in room 232 which is not far from the lobby and had a sea view side-on. It was handy and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my Mom for 5 nights at the beginning of May. We had booked the half board option and although we were somewhat hesitant beforehand having heard horror stories of half board/All Inclusive options in other resorts where frozen fish fingers is regarded as catch of the day - we were pleasantly surprised! Dining at the Valamar Argosy is no horror story, the selection of food, including fresh meats and fish cooked in front of you is just great! Other options includes a selection of stone cooked pizza's a vast selection of salads and hot vegetables. The selection of cakes, desserts and ice cream was amazing.

The views from the pool are jaw dropping and the location of the hotel makes a great spot to watch the huge cruise ships coming into and leaving the port.

The hotel offers you a very relaxing and care free break away. It is not a family hotel, I didn't see any children during our stay.

The staff are really friendly and helpful. Only one problem-the young lady on the hospitality desk could do with brushing up on tour options available and tour operators in the area. On approaching the desk to book a trip to medjigorje and mostar she offered to make the booking for me, after making a few calls she explained that no operator offered that tour. I ended up sourcing an operator by myself and making the booking.

All in all a great holiday, would definitely go back here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank hy-expectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stopped, for 3 nights, at Valamar Argosy at the start of June. We had booked pretty last minute, so got bed and breakfast rather cheaply (the hotel is so big, you can afford to wait and book to get a better price).

It is a clean, well run hotel. The staff are lovely, and are very helpful, booking taxis and reservations for you etc... We had lunch there every day from the bar which was lovely. Probably more than you will pay if you eat away from the hotel- but by no means as much as lunch in the UK! On this note, food in Dubrovnik, especially outside of the old town is so cheap, yummy, but cheap! So treat yourself :)

There is an indoor and outdoor pool. We chose to swim in the indoor pool as at this time of year the outside one is freezing! There are some lovely 4 poster double sun beds which were fab, and also some normal ones. The views to the sea are lovely! You are probably about a 5 minute, steep walk to the beach, which is very pebbly, not a sunbathing beach by any means.

Breakfast is varied, with a buffet style vibe, good, but not a personal service. Although staff are still accommodating. We cannot comment on dinner as we chose to eat out every evening.

The rooms are nice, if not basic. We likened them to a slightly better premier inn you get in the UK. They have everything you need and are clean, but are still basic. No tea making facilities. We personally had 2 single beds pushed together which isn't ideal. The wifi is very intermittent and fairly slow if you need to use it.

As from other reviews you can see there is a bus that goes into the old town. We personally used taxis to get everywhere. From the airport it was 280 kunas, on the way back it was 250 kunas with the same company. To the old town it was about 90 kunas, which we didn't think was too bad and you get there quicker which gives you more time to enjoy the amazing old town :)

The entertainment was lacking, whether this was because it was still probably out of high tourist season, or because we are used to the sort of thing all inclusive hotels put on, we're not sure, but it would have been nice to have a bit more atmosphere in the evenings.

All in all, a lovely, clean, friendly hotel. We had no problems at all, and it complemented a fantastic trip to Dubrovnik. We would stay there again.... Or the sister hotel next door :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, and not above the bar area as it may be noisy in the evenings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Wellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I thought we would try some where different in Europe so we checked out Dubrovnik
We then of course checked out Trip Adviser, read the reviews on the Valamar Argosy and off we went.
Wow what a fantastic Hotel in a great location. The staff could not do enough for you, the room was great (got a sea view) We went half board great choice of food, every day was different, never saw a chip in 2 weeks! The hotels amenities were fantastic. The Hotel was about 15 minutes from Dubrovnik by bus, stopped just outside Hotel and were really regular.The fare is 12 Kuna each way (get tickets from shop in Hotel they are 15 Kuna on the bus). The city center is the last stop on the way down and the last stop on the way back, so very easy to get there.
Dubrovnik is an amazing city, lots of restaurants, architecture, the castle wall walk is a must. We bought tickets for the three island tours, not sure if I would recommend but if you are stuck for something to do...
We booked trips to Mostar in Bosnia, brilliant place like going to Turkey, we also went to Korcula beautiful place once again, In fact the whole area is amazing.
Would go back again and stay at the Valamar Argosy

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel direct to try to get a sea view and lucky for me they arranged it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IntrepidMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

just returned from a week at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was slightly outside the city but the buses were frequent and efficient and an enjoyable experience. The hotel rooms were well appointed and everything worked fine. The food was good and sometimes very good with a wide choice. All the staff were helpful and polite and added to the holiday experience.
Only criticism would be not enough shade around pool. Could do with more beds in the gardens under trees. However this is not really important and all in all a really good holiday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We drove into Dubrovnik and hadn't booked a hotel. Searched net for deal and found this to be cheapest of the range. Went there and we were very pleased. Big complex and part of a chain of hotel. Staff very friendly. Lovely infinity pool. Heated indoor spa pool. Views were great over sea. Kids shallow pool and playground. Oh and breakfast was great. Big big buffet with everything you need & want ad more. Fruits, omelette, sausages, bacon meats and cheeses, pastries, fresh squeezed juice (at a cost) breakfast great. Oh and the cats are everywhere. This may be a + or - but I like cats so was pleased. They are semi-feral. Taxi ride into centre of old town is approx 90 kn or about £10. Think there are busses just out on main road so worth asking but didn't bother. Rooms nice but not 4*. Clean comfy but could do with a little updating. Very acceptable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathanmarkfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 67 in Dubrovnik
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing