We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Valamar in June 2014 with our two kids 10 and 3.
The hotel is on a strip of valamar hotels and the location is quite decent. There are a lot of nice places to eat around and the bus just stops outside the hotel to take you to old town.
What I like about the hotel is it's kids friendliness . There is a desperate kids pool at the hotel and also a small play area with slides . My 3 year old and my friends toddler loved playing there in the mornings.
Also walking distance from the hotel is the copacabana beach which has lots of fun stuff for kids. It has water slides and bouncy in the sea for the kids to enjoy . Also the beach restaurant was good with a variety of beers and cocktail options.
The hotels dining room has a door connecting it to a promenade shared by other valamar properties , which has lots of shopping choices, two super marts selling wines , food etc and also has 4-5 restaurants in case you don't want to eat at the hotel everyday.
The breakfast buffet at the hotel was excellent with a lot of choices .
We also had dinner included in our room package and was pretty good with lots of seafood , meat, and vegetarian options.
They also have their own Valamar wines which are delicious .
We had a sea view balcony room and to be honest the room size and decor was basic and just okay . The bathrooms were also just okay and nothing great. But the view from the balcony made up for it all.
Overall the stay at Valamar was pleasant and fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vbhalla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel - great setting close to centre of Dubrovnik though the buses could get very crowded so we tended to return by taxi - the staff were all very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the buffet as a huge variety every evening and we tried a number of wines from the wine list - the only downside if I'm being picky was the hairdryer which proved challenging with long thick hair! Pool setting was fabulous for watching the cruise ships and sailing boats passing by. We will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just spent a week's holiday in Croatia with Riviera Travel and our first hotel was Hotel Park in Makarska, which was brilliant but unfortunately the Valamar Argosy did not meet the same standards. When we arrived and walked into the reception we were very impressed but over the next four nights we became very disillusioned. It did have some good points and I'll start with them. Our check-in at reception was very quick although this was probably more to do with Riviera Travel providing our personal and passport details in advance. However, the reception staff albeit professional were not very friendly and did not acknowledge you unless you went up to reception and waited to be served. The reception bar was excellent with friendly and efficient staff who made you feel welcome and valued and the seating area was very comfortable. The view from the dining room and pool area was to die for, especially at night when the sunset made you drool. Across the road from the hotel is a lovely park with a good restaurant and a small shopping area with a couple of bars that we frequented. There is also a lovely walk along the cliff top with beautiful views and bars for ice cream and drinks and food along the way. There is a frequent bus service from the hotel into Dubrovnik using tickets that you can buy in the hotel shop. Well, those are a lot of good points but we had most of these good points at the other hotel as well as good service. The disappointing points about this hotel is mainly to do with the service provided by the staff who did not make us feel like valued guests who they would like to return. The dining room was huge with various individual islands serving food and because of the number of guests and the layout of the islands people were bumping in to each other and it was chaos. Food was not replenished quickly enough, which meant that we had to wait for vegetables of meats etc and by the time we got back to our table our food was cold. In fact, most of the vegetables and soup was cold anyway and it seemed as though they relied on the hot plates to heat and finish cooking the food. During the for nights that we were there the food seemed to be the same every night with no variations. The service at the table was very unprofessional with servers stretching across us instead of being behind us. The wine was not served in a professional manner and apart from one member of staff, nobody seemed to acknowledge us or try to be friendly. Nobody asked us if we were satisfied or if we were having a good holiday at any time. The room service was even worse. On one occasion when we returned from a day out our bed had not been made, on other occasions the duvet had just been roughly pulled across, the bottom sheet and the duvet had not been smoothed out, the pillow had not been touched to plump up or arrange our nightwear. The glasses that we used for nighttime water were not changed, the room was dusty, our towels were not changed while we were there or even folded up and placed on the rack. I will end on a good point though because we were in room 131 on the ground floor and we had a lovely patio that led onto a garden on the top of the cliff overlooking the bay where we could watch the cruise ships and boats coming and going. But because of the service, we would sadly not choose this hotel for a future visit to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Valamar Argosy and gutted to be back home! The hotel is simply amazing and more than we expected. We had a room on the top floor and despite not having a balcony (appeared to be the only one) we had the most breathtaking view of the peninsular, sea and mountains. I couldn't quite believe our luck when I opened the curtains in the morning (we arrived at night...)

The pool area is luxurious with brand new sunbeds and an infinity pool. The ambiance was perfect with views of the sea and passing boats and cruise ships. There was no need to rush in the morning to bag a sunbed as there were plenty available even in the afternoon. Pool side towels were also provided. There was also a poolside bar with friendly staff.

The food at the hotel was top notch! Best I have ever experienced as a buffet style dinner. There were lots of different stations with freshly cooked meat (including rump steak), fish, pasta and delicious grilled vegetables. There was also loads of salad options, cheese and desserts! My boyfriend was really pleased to see bacon and eggs for breakfast, along with freshly baked pastries and lots of fruit to choose from including cherries, strawberries and watermelon!

Praise needs to also go to the restaurant staff who quickly clear tables so you can have a seat in your preferred area. We often chose to sit outside to dine on the top balcony area to watch the sun set whilst dining. The staff in that section were particularly friendly and helpful.

The situation of the hotel is also great, being only a short bus ride from Dubrovnik old town. The bus stop is outside the hotel and runs every 10 minutes. The bus tickets are cheaper from the shop but they are cheap in any event.

Dubrovnik itself if fantastic and now top of my list of places to visit. Price wise, it depends of which bar/restaurant you choose. Generally, the drinks and food are cheaper than in England. The restaurants nearer the hotel are cheaper than the old town. We found the prices in the hotel to be reasonable.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and would definitely return to the Valamar Argosy and we are already recommending it to our family and friends. We did get a deal for this hotel via Travelzoo and we only hope we can get a similar deal with this hotel in the future!

Many thanks to the Valamar Argosy for a fantastic and memorable holiday!!

Room Tip: Request a sea view room and away from the central bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent 10 days here and the hotel was great. We stayed on a half board basis and I was a little concerned as sometimes the food a buffet in hotel can be a little poor and repetitive but this was great every night we ate there. There was fresh fish every night and a good selection of other options for fussy eaters including pizza and pasta and even a roast dinner if you wanted it. Breakfast was really good with a good choice of freshly cooked food. Get a seat on the balcony from dinner and breakfast the view is incredible, especially sunset.
Our room was great. Nice and big with a really comfy bed (I didn't miss my own at home). We had a lovely balcony with a sea view which was really worth the extra cost. Sitting out on the balcony of an evening was the perfect way to relax and enjoy a drink. From our room we had a view of an island just off shore and it was perfect for sitting and watching the boats, everything from cruise liners to canoes, go past. Our room along with the rest of the hotel was always cleaned really well.
The pool area was lovely. Clean and tidy with plentiful sun loungers, although the best spots did go quite early. The sun beds were very comfy with a good 'shade' to go over your face so you could easily read. The pool was lovely and the view from the pool was great, the only trouble was that it was so cold your couldn't stay in long enough to enjoy it. Our first day there we got in the pool and it really took your breath away, although it did warm up after a few continuous days of sunshine. Aqua aerobics was good every morning at 11am, really woke us up after a big breakfast.
Out of the hotel there was a small cluster of shops, restaurants and bars under a 5 minute walk away which meant the basics were not far away. The bus stop is 2 mins away and the bus to the old town arrives every 10mins and takes about 15mins into town. Buy the tickets from the gift shop in the hotel as they are cheaper than buying on the bus. These are not return so if there are 2 of you, so buy 4 tickets!
All in all a lovely hotel, great staff, wonderful location. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a sea view. You won’t be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunlovernat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed in end of Jun for a week & we must admit this is one of the best 4* hotel we stayed at. We tried to get a sea view room but got a garden view with a corner of the sea view in room 237, still good enough as we never stay in the room or use the balcony due to the sun never come or go down from there. The satellite TV were down for two days & they didnt tell us when we checked in, was not very please about that as we like to watch a bit of tv news before falling at sleep.

Room were spacious enough & bed were comfy, only two fault - pillows were flat even we asked for extra, each of us have 3 pillows still completely flat as soon as you lay your head on it. Bath towels all were thin, could do with some fluffy like those at the pool side. Cleanliness also top level, get clean everyday even the bed linens wasnt change until day 4 but at least bath towels was very day.

Pool view of the ocean was the best of all & if you go early for dinner, will normally get a good table near the window with excellent sunset view.

We booked for half board, and that was the best buffet breakfast & dinner we ever had in any 4* hotel even better when compare with a 5* hotel we stayed in Sharm El Sheikh before. great selection of breads, cold & cook breakfast every morning with selection of fruit juice, fruits etc. And the dinner have two cook station with grilled meats, and a fish/seafood freshly cook & refill as soon as it near finish. On our last night - Tuesday evening, it was Croatian cuisine & there were fresh cooked king prawns, squids & seafood pasta etc. I had so many king prawns & could have stay there for the night just to eat that, it was just so delicious.

House wine was good quality & reasonable price, but if you stay there for a week or more all drink bills do add up. Next to hotel within the Valamar's hotel chain, there is a small supermarket the beer @ Kuna 17 a large bottle & kuna65 for a bottle of wine compare with hotel price kuna38 a pint of beer, kuna110 a bottle of house wine. But if you go to old town supermarket the price go down further. A bar/restaurant next door to the supermarket by the fountain do a very good toasted tuna sandwich & salad if you dont want to pay hotel price for a quick lunch.

Dont bother with the BBQ night @ Tierra hotel, it was such a disappointment & we did feedback to hotel next day. As house guest, you paid kuna35p/p to go there & we didnt know it was not held in Argosy but Tierra which is only a 3* hotel, and if we knew about it will never go. The selection of starters were 3-4 choices of green salad, greek salad, grilled fennel & tomatoes; main were grilled veg, baked jacket potatoes & 4-5type of BBQ meat - Fish, kebab, steak, pork & chicken nothing special at all. Worst of all, the wine selection only got one selection - house white or red!! Dessert were worst, muffins & some sort of apple strudels look alike & fruits (grapes were so sour that you can make vinegar out of it!).

but all in all this hotel is definitely recommended for long or short break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear guests,

the effort you went to writing such a detailed review is most appreciated.
All the team is very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, the food, the views and the service.
I apologise about the problems with the satellite TV that went down due to a storm we had, so we had to wait for a spare part.
Sorry you did not enjoy the barbeque over at Tirena pool, as this is the first complaint we had. I shall contact the Tirena general manager and let him read your review, so he can see what to do to improve the barbeque for the future.

Once again thank you for the support and all the nice words you wrote and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards from Dubrovnik and Valamar Argosy hotel !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Argosy general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Highly recommend the Valamar Argosy hotel. I and a girlfriend stayed here in June for one week’s sunshine break. We were surprised with how high standard the food and general hotel amenities were. Continental star grading is often different in countries such as Greece for example. But this was truly a 4 star hotel and the additional perk of having sister Valamar hotels within a 4 minute walk enabled guests to make the most of the President (5 star) and Lacorna Hotel.
Argosy is perfectly located to have the freedom to access Dubrovnik town centre as it has a local bus stop which runs every 15minutes. (Buy your tickets from the hotel shop which are a few Kunas cheaper than if you were to purchase them on the bus). But being slightly away from the town centre you get the facilities such as the gorgeous infinity pool.

The hotel staff is a mixture of all sorts. The reception and pool staff are very friendly and can’t do enough for you. The restaurant staff can be a little cold and unfriendly at times but that did not taint our experience there.
Breakfast and dinner was delicious. Spoilt for choice; salads, pancakes, eggs, omelettes, fish, grilled vegetables.
The only meal time I wouldn’t recommend is lunch time at the hotel. My food came out cold and wasn’t all that great. There is a café at the closest beach to the hotel that does lovely food.

The transfer duration was approximately 30minutes.

Advise if you want to visit the beach is to buy some water proof shoes as the pebbles on the beach can often be quite sharp. The sea water in parts of Dubrovnik is really pretty (bottle green/blue) and clear.

If you love your seafood then visit the restaurants which are hidden away up the side paths within Dubrovnik town.

I don’t ever right reviews on hotels but Argosy is the first hotel that has warranted me wanting to share this gem. Would visit again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear guests,

thank you very much for the long and inspiring review and it makes us proud we are the first hotel you've decided to write about.
It's great to hear you enjoyed your holiday in every segment and I appreciate you pointing out small things we should improve. We've already stepped on it.
Hope this nice experience brings you towards Dubrovnik and Valamar Argosy again some day.

Until then best wishes from all the staff !

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Argosy general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £111 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing