We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average 4*, and Food is not that great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An average 4*, and Food is not that great!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a bit of a late review as we returned 16 days ago but I thought it was worth still doing a short write up.
Upon arrival (in a torrential thunder storm that last 20 hours) we had a friendly greeting at reception although got to our room to find out we hadn’t been given our passports back or had it explained they wanted to keep them for a while for some bizarre reason. The room was clean, although when we thought we booked a room with double bed we found out that a “twin double” meant 2 singles beds, in English vocal twin means two and double means multiple so we thought ‘Twin double beds naively”, anyway be fully aware of this. The staff will put them together with double sheet and give you a double duvet and if survive the lumpy join in the middle beds are comfy enough.
The bathroom was certainly not one that could have been renovated in April, Tiles slanted up the bath acting as a bath panel but looked awful and the shower screen was fitted the wrong way round with the screw fittings showing on outside meaning water got through and saturated the floor. If they want to protect the environment and do less washing then this wasn’t helping as it took on average 5 towels a day to mop up the water morning/evening. We couldn’t complain about water pressure like others had though.

When raining the hotel doesn’t cope well, they use guest bathroom towels to mop floors in reception and the flooded restaurant have no idea on how to cater for so many people forced to stay indoors and if ordering “toast” thinking toast and butter in the lobby cafe/bar, it will mean Ham and cheese in 2 slices of toast, so a toasted sandwich without the filling being heated (not good for a non-meat eater).
Pool area is well maintained and you cannot fault the pool staff, they are very attentive and so polite and work very hard each day and they have an instructor who comes out every day to take a water aerobics class for free in the Infinity pool.
Sadly the same compliments could not be said for the bar waiters, they didn’t really care if their way of making a Pina Colada with Captain Morgan’s run instead of white run was wrong, apparantely they had made it like that for 10 years and wasn’t about to change that once for a customer unless ‘they paid for a shot of white rum this was instead of the dark rum so you pay twice the price to have a cocktail made properly!
Restaurant – Well whomever ‘thinks’ and their appear to be many that food is great and of a 5 star stand are mis-guided totally. Really poor breakfast choose for vegetarians unless you want fresh fruit, runny yogurt and boiled / fried egg and toast. Evening meals, plenty of meat and salad but not that frequently was there a veggie supplementary option, but there was white fillets of fish if you eat that, yet every night you ended up with a mouth of fish bones and gagging if you didn’t catch them in time, we practically fed the 4 stray cats that visit & beg from you every night (if eating Al fresco).
Hotel Check-out well what can I say here, a good tip would be to get reception to order you a car back to the hotel as for 270 Kuna you will get a limousine service, better than the 300 we paid getting there from airport. But I think customer service is something to work on, as whilst checking out instead of being asked if we ‘had a good stay’, we were told that were obviously had a good holiday as we had a tan. Maybe that doesn’t sound a weird comment but when one of you is Latino (olive skin all year round) and the other black, we really couldn’t tell if he was trying to be funny ha ha or was actually serious, we presumed the latter.

Literally the day after we go home we started getting spammed by the Valamar group (although did not supply them out email address voluntarily so it must have been taken from hotel.com booking), saying “need to book a holiday, come and stay with us”! well we will not be returning, the stay was OK and we relaxed because there is nothing really to do round there, (don’t be fooled that they have a beach as such, there is a stony beach about 6-7 min walk down a stony hill but we do not recommend it, if you visit you will discover why.

Top Tip is go to the spa in the Hotel Valamar Lacroma, just across from the hotel itself, massages and pedicures are just the best that money can buy and VERY reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kareninkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    538
    160
    37
    13
See reviews for
162
668
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 7 nights in July > September and this is a nice hotel that has recently been given a 4* star rating, in my opinion it is a very good 3* but hasn't got all the finishing touches to be a fully fledged 4*
I had booked a BA flight & hotel package and was told I would have a garden view room, upon check in I was sent to a room that was not what I had paid for. Upon return to the reception desk I found the first lady I came across to be quite curt and not at all welcoming, which was a shame as that put a dampener on the excitement of arriving in a new country and going to your hotel. It turned out that they had just 1 available garden view room and we were shown to it by a lovely young lady. Once happy and inside the room, it was ok but nothing 4*. For starters it was a room for a disabled person which was not an issue in itself but not having a hook for the shower rod was an inconveience. Also the shower floors got incredibly wet after each shower and its took until the following morning when I assume the chaimbermaids moped it up before it was dry. Had originally booked a double room and was given two single beds rather than 1 double, this was incredibly annoying as I was travelling with my significant other, being that this was the only garden room available there didn't seem to be much point in telling reception. Don't get me started on the TV channels, no digital service available and the majority of English speaking stations were CNN, BBC & Sky news and a smattering of UK & US shows once or twice a day. If you are travelling during the peak season this is not really an issue as you won't be spending much time in the rooms however if the weather takes a turn for the worse like it did for us then it would be nice to be able to watch tv.

Onto the positives:
The hotel lobby is beautifully designed and kept impeccibly clean, the indoor pool is nice if you fancy a reprieve after lounging in the sun and is also very clean. The outdoor pool is great, asuuming you wake up early enough to get yourself a space, the pool side bar is fantastic with great service and meal options. The breakfast buffet is varied and good tasting with eggs made to order, I think the hotel missed a trick by not having any maple syrup available if you are going to be serving pancakes. The hotel is amazingly located and a 15minute bus journey to the old town. Just an FYI the shop in the hotel opens very early for 1 or 2 hours and again around 6pm and is closed the rest of the time. It is good for suveniers and getting bus tickets. However if you need a bus ticket after these times you can go to the Valamar Presidential and they have a shop where you can buy from as it is slightly cheaper than paying when you get onto the bus.
I enjoyed my stay at the Argosy but if I am to come back to Dubrovnik I will spend a bit more and stay at the Presidential

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful hotel! Friendly, attentive staff who are always willing to direct you to places using local buses, which stop right outside the hotel. Easily accessible to Old Town and main bus station. Recommend 3 Island Cruise and Montenegro Tour, truly breathtaking views and amzing scenery. Old Town in the evening is a lot cooler and buses run til 2am! 5-10min walk to Copacabana beach and Cava beach (pebbly), take your towels. Large delicious choice of hot and cold dishes. Dinner was just as good, different choices each night, pizza, pasta, salads, meat choices, scrumptious desserts, you need to buy your own drinks at dinner. Definitely would go back. Lots of sister hotels next to it, one which caters for families with children, hence there weren't many screaming kids at this one! Lovely outdoor pool, comfy sunbeds in the most beautiful surroundings of mountains, sea and boats sailing. Cannot fault this hotel a bit!! Take airport Atlas shuttle bus to Old Town and take bus no.6 whiich is the last stop outside the hotel. On return, take bus 7 from outside the hotel to Main bus station and then the Atlas bus to the airport.

Room Tip: South side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel.Cannot think of anything bad at all. Ok maybe the wifi could have been better. I don't think it likes Apple products because my wife had no issues. Seriously though it was great. Only a 10 minute bus journey from the old town of Dubrovnik. All the staff were very easy to speak to and were very professional. The whole complex was spotless. The restaurant food was fantastic with a huge choice of freshly cooked food. Twice a week there is a bbq at the sister hotel which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puppywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This four star hotel where you get what you pay for. It was very clean with a helpful staff, always available to us. Me and my girlfriend got a double bed that were separated in the middle. We asked to get a double bed, and they offered to change our rooms. Great service!

The hotel is located on top of a hill, with a perfect panorama view of the islands and the Adriatic sea. The food in the restaurant by the pool were slightly disappointing, but the buffet breakfast and dinner was great with a lot to choose from.

Even though the hotel is about 20 minutes with bus away from the Old Town, bus number 6 leaves ever 10 minutes from the bus stop close to the hotel.

We spent a lot of time at the two beaches near the hotel. Copacabana beach was a 10 min walk away but was overcrowded, however the President beach was great, as we could chill out on the beach beds on a concrete platform which we could dive from, and enjoy a lunch or join water sports at the President hotel. A hotel which is notably also in the Valamar branch and available to Argosy guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Been in this hotel for two weeks and the experience was overall very good.
Location is very good. Easy bus connection every 10 minutes to Dubrovnik (even if you have a car: finding parking near the old town is a hell of a job). Beautiful sea & island view from pool area. Next to (new) harbor entry = almost daily spectacular passage of a large cruiseship into the harbor.
Rooms are basic but providing all necessary comfort. Plenty of storage space. Beds can be somewhat better.
Breakfast is more than satisfactory with continuously omelets being baked on demand, freshly baked pancakes, fresh fruit, etc.. A nice lunch menu at pool side bar. Attended dinner buffet twice: quite basic but broad choice but then again: Dubrovnik has so many fantastic restaurants I consider it an enormous loss of opportunity to stick to hotel dinners.
Personnel is very friendly in all cases ! (without overacting or being annoying)
There is as good as no animation but that is exactly what I want when taking a relaxing day next to the pool: a quiet and relaxing environment. Evening entertainment is limited to some musical act in the background. The bar area is maybe somewhat "too" quiet in the evening (but you should be in old town anyway).
Very nice & clean pool area. No need to fight for chairs or get annoyed by early-towel-on-chair-reservation-jerks. Towels are provided by hotel and exchanged as much as you like.
I would definitely consider going back to the same hotel (which I almost never do).
I was well-served for renting a car as well by the hotel: good price & thrustfull partner rental )company (don't do this through your travel agent: it will take more time and be more expensive).

In general: one of the best summer holiday hotels I got !

Room Tip: Sea view is really nice, it can be worth the extra effort if you tend to spend quite some time on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Valamar Argosy is a perfect hotle if you want to relax, read a book, lying on the sunbed with a breathtaking view in the sea and Croatian islands. Food is just great, restaurant vith the sea view (always eat outside!). Rooms elegant, spacious, it is worth paying for the sea view - choos 1st or 2 nd floor. No noisy children, no noisy animations! JUST PERFECT RELAX! And you have a bus stop 5 min away from the hotel to get to Dubrovnik Old City. And wonderful walking paths. Beaches, well nothing special, pebbles. But it's Croatia, don't expect sandy beaches.THANK YOU for wonderful holidays! Agnieszka

Room Tip: Always ask for 1st or 2 floor. If you can, pay extra for balcony at least, if not for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgnieszkaOpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 67 in Dubrovnik
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 67 in Dubrovnik
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing