We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 4 star hotel for 3 star money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A 4 star hotel for 3 star money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

This is a lovely hotel in beautiful grounds with fantastic views over the Babin Kuk Peninsula. The staff cant do enough for you & I totally disagree with other reviews I've read that say the Croatian people are miserable & abrupt. We didn't find this at all. Everywhere we went we received a warm welcome & great friendly service.

The food at the hotel was amazing. Loads of choice - different every day - & nothing was left hanging around. Lots of fresh, nicely cooked fish, meats, veggies & salads. Always plenty of fruit & lovely puds - the best blancmange!!

I cant say enough good things about this hotel - you have to go & see for yourself.

The only downside to our holiday was the weather but instead of staying by the pool all week we had to go sightseeing & I'm so glad we did - Croatia is stunning!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazybag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Dear Lazybag, thank you for this review and extremely positive comments. We hope the weather serves you better next time. We are happy that you enjoyed an active holiday and exploring our country. Most kind regards to London from Dubrovnik. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    512
    154
    36
    12
See reviews for
149
631
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

The Argosy is a really good three star hotel. It doesn't have the fancy trimmings that come with the pricier hotels, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. We stayed half board and could not fault the food. Plenty of choice and lots of healthy options too.

Free pool towels are available, which saves valuable space in the suitcase. And our rep - Elmir - was really great. Lots of handy hints and tips about dubrovnik - like using the entrance by the harbour to start the walk around the fortress wall in dubrovnik, much fewer steps and means that you don't have a big long climb at the end, when you are hot and tired!! And buying your bus tickets in the hotel to receive a discount on the price.

The hotel is part of a larger complex with three other hotels - all of which were more expensive than the argosy. After having a sneaky look around them all, I think the Argosy definitely represented the best value.

Don't be fooled though, croatia isn't as cheap as you may think - average price of a beer is about £3 and soft drinks £2, and wine is also relatively expensive (even the local stuff!). Would really recomend visiting cafe buza (check out the other reviews on site for buza - is well worth seeking out the one without the railings for a really relaxing drink, good music and great scenery!)

If we go back to dubrovnik in the future we will definitely be staying at the Argosy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Dear MrsA2, thank you for the review and positive comments. We are glad that you chose Dubrovnik for your holiday. We will pass on your compliments to Elmir. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Kind regards to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Recently returned from the wonderful city of Dubrovnik and we spent a week at the Argosy. The hotel is nice, clean and fairly modern. The food was fantastic on the whole with a good range and excellent staff in the dining area, the wine however was very expensive throughout the complex. We were woke up some mornings by building work of a new construction opposite but the main complaint would be the lack of entertainment at the hotel and surrounding area.
To get a bus into town was easy enough but could be very hot and crowded during the day.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishAshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Dear EnglishAshman, thank you for the review. We are glad that, apart from enjoying the holiday, you enjoyed our food as well. We are happy that you found Dubrovnik fascinating. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Best regards to SW England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

My fiance and I have just returned from a one week stay at the Argosy and found it to be an excellent hotel in a great city. We booked a sea view room with balcony (on the 4th floor) – if you can afford to upgrade to this I would thoroughly recommend it, the view from the balcony was fantastic! The room was very good, everything seemed to be quite new and the bathroom was very spacious. The room was also very clean, the maids seemed very friendly and were happy to leave your room until you had taken down the 'do not disturb sign'. In fact, all the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, as were Croatians in general.

The pool was also good, there never seemed to be an issue getting a free sunlounger and the pool side bar provided salads/sandwiches for lunch and drinks. A trip to the nearby Copacabana beach (only 10 mins walk) was well worth it as well.

We were only bed and breakfast so can't comment on dinner but the food at breakfast was good with a varied selection.

There are only a couple of restaurants nearby, these are located in the 'shopping centre' which is only a 5 minute walk away and were cheap and cheerful! We found a great little bar in the centre with a fountain beside which was only 15 kuna for a small beer or wine (around half the price of the bars in the old town).

Most nights we went into the old town for dinner (using the number 6 bus, which took approx 20 mins and cost 10 kuna). There was a lot of choice here and it was nice to sit in the bars on the pavement and soak up the atmosphere.

As for daytime activities, we walked around the city walls one day, which is thoroughly recommended (but perhaps not at 12 noon when we did it as it was extremely hot!). We also did day trips to both Mostar and Montenegro, which we booked through the 'hospitality desk' at the hotel. Both these trips were excellent and interesting but if you were only able to do one I would recommend Mostar – it was a very interesting place which was very different from Croatia.

So overall, I would say we loved the hotel, the city and the country. We will definitely return to Dubrovnik and will most probably stay at Argosy again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith_and_Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Dear Keith_and_Fiona, thank you for this review, extremely positive comments and photographs you decided to share with the Tripadvisor community. Such impressions are always nice to hear, and they encourage us to become even better. We are glad that you decided to explore Dubrovnik and take trips to the neighbouring regions. It is really worth a while. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Best regards to you, your fiancé and, of course, to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

My daughter & myself have just returned back from Dubrovnik after staying at the Hotel Argosy. We can't fault the hotel service and accomodation, the food was excellent and the service spot on . The only problem is the lack of entertainment in the Hotel, as there is nothing in the local area & you have to go into the town centre for any kind of entertainment.

The bus service is brill and is cheap into Dubrovnik , it only cost's 10 Kuna to travel into town & the journey is enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Dear Loz811, thank you for the review and positive comments. We are glad that you chose Dubrovnik and Argosy Hotel for your holiday. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Best regards to you, your daughter and Newcastle upon Tyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

A large, rambling hotel in a good location a short bus ride from the old town of Dubrovnik. The public areas, bars, terraces and swimming pool area were very good and excellent service was received. The restaurant was buffet style and the food was above average although the area can be overcrowded on occasions. Nevertheless, it is a large restaurant with a verandah and outside tables. The view from this area, particularly the sunset, was fine. The only complaint I have is that, although there may be excellent rooms, ours was not. There was no balcony and the view was into a courtyard across which were other rooms - some sights were indescribable!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2156Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Dear 2156Michael, thank you for the review. I hope that next time you have a room with balcony, so you can enjoy your holiday in full. We are looking forward to seeing you, come to the Adriatic again. Best regards to Doncaster, South Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

I have just returned from a week staying half board at this hotel. It may be a bit tired in places (including our room), and yes there was building work going on close by (starting at 8am during the week) but the staff were welcoming and friendly, the reception, bar and pool areas were sptlessly clean. We woke up every morning to birds singing in the trees. Breakfast was plentiful and they served the best breakfast coffee I've had for many a year. The evening meals in the restaurant were varied, a great choice but at times this was limited depending on the time you arrived to eat (so come early or they may run out of the popular dishes).
The cleaning maid and mini bar tender were friendly and responsive to our "do not disturb" labels on the door. All in all we had a great time, only criticism would be to add cushions to the sunbeds so we could lay more comfortably around the pool.
First rate taxi service from the airport was provided by "Taxi and Transportation Service Dubrovnik" which I booked on the internet www.taxiservicedubrovnik.com and cost. 250 kunas or 35 euros each way. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntibbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Dear AuntiBBB, thank you for this review. We are happy that you chose Dubrovnik for your holiday. Next time, we definitely recommend excursions to the neighbouring regions. You would enjoy yourself. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Best regards to South Coast, England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing