We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
134
71
12
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
71
12
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool area tuk tuk tour baby pool small shopping complex great location for walking coral beach club sister hotel next door the bus on a half board basis the hotel shop pools are great the breakfast buffet was great pillow menu local bus service lovely country babin kuk old town
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We had a pleasant pre-season stay in mid June. And the hotel stayed up to the expectation from the pictures. Its clean, friendly and understanding staff. Everyone greets you, and EVERYONE is service minded. There is always one you meet, who is not, but not in this hotel.

We had a superior room with sea view, and it did not disappoint. The room was medium large, with a nice balcony with a view over the pool area and the sea. Perfect.

The hotel said it was adult friendly, and did not give out child beds, still there are childs in the hotel. Adult friendly, not adults only.

Before I start to tell you about the food, I must say me and my wife usually make our food from the bottom, with good ingredients, and we are kind of picky on taste and what we like. We have high expectations for the chefs.

The breakfast brunch was excellent, with food for everyone from every corner of the world. I usually go for cereal and eggs, and was happy to find it, and thought it was hard to avoid all the other temptations. Two chefs making scrambled eggs/omelet, boiled eggs, poached eggs and fried eggs, AND another chef making bacon, pancakes and much more. Large variety, so I guess even the most picky would find something ;)

The snack menu was somewhat small, but still, the food you get was really good. We tried burger and pizza, and both were excellent, also the drinks, and again, the service was perfect.

We tried the dinner buffet once, and wow. Again, you get something for everyone, pasta, local traditional foods, and much more. I had a taste of a lot, and was so full when I left. Worth the price (which we had not included in our room), and everything tasted good.

The room service menu was small, and the food was maybe the most disappointing about the hotel. We tried the club sandwich, where the chicken was dry, and also the eggs, yep. Also we ordered a Ham & Cheese plate, and got only cheese. Thou, the taste was still good =)

The pool area was spacey, we didn't feel we had to lay upon other people, thou, we went pre-season.

The room cleaning was ok, beds made perfect, and vacuuming, the only thing we missed was new wine glasses instead of just rinsed glasses. But otherwise nice room cleaning.

All in all good and worth the price. And not far from stars.

Room Tip: Seaside view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svein Olav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are happy to hear you had such a great time and to hear you enjoyed our Valamar Argosy Hotel so much.

We hope to welcome you again so we can crate some new beautiful memories together.

Warm regards,

Valamar Argosy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This hotel was way above my expectations.You were greeted by friendly and helpful reception staff. The stylish decor was fantastic throughout the hotel not just in the reception area. The room was spacious and airy, with very comfortable beds. The restauraunt was big and you could have breakfast on the sun terrace. The pools were fantastic and the scenery around the pool area was superb. My only criticism is the waiting and bar staff never smile, even if you gave them a tip.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our Valamar Argosy Hotel team , I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for all your kind words. We are proud of our devoted team as they are the ones who make your experience memorable.
Thank you for your inputs, we will use them to improve our service.

It will be our pleasure to see you again at Valamar Argosy Hotel.

Warm regards,

Valamar Argosy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

The rooms were recently renewed to nice Scandinavian style. Hotel area was nice and not so crowded. You can also find shady places in the garden surrounding the hotel, in case you get enough of the sun. There is couple of beaches in the walking range and restaurant and shops nearby. To visit the old town you need to go by bus, which run frequently, but could be quite crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nasapekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying in Valamar Argosy Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to see you again.

Warm regards,

Valamar Argosy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We arrived at the Argosy in Dubrovnik and were immediately excited. The situation is wonderful, the hotel recently totally refurbished to a very high standard. The rooms are airy and spacious, the bed very comfortable and the ambience perfect. The staff are very attentive and friendly.
We went down to dinner the first evening and were wowed by the superb buffet, it is enormous and of excellent quality. The choice is amazing and the situation, we sat outside where the views are stunning, was perfect.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank PaulE130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to exceed guest expectations and we look forward to the pleasure welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Valamar Argosy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Stayed at the Valamar Argosy for a week starting 10 June.

Hotel had just been refurbished to a very high standard and was spotlessly clean. Rooms are bright, well equipped and had an amazing shower! The hotel advertises the quality of their pillows and sure enough sleep quality during our week was perfect.

Stayed on a B&B basis, which suited us as any other board basis would have been too restrictive when there was so much choice for dinner elsewhere in this beautiful area. There was great choice for breakfast and coffee was free flowing from the waitering staff.

A key attraction for this hotel was the views across to the Elafiti islands, which look stunning at sunset.

A new infinity pool had opened just before we arrived which overlooked the bay. Sunbeds were plentiful if you wished to stay poolside rather than exploring. The hotel does have a children's wading pool, although the hotel is very much geared towards couples rather than families and so we didn't see this being used as there were so few children present during our time.

There was evening entertainment some nights - the singers were incredibly talented: a rarity in my experience!

Bus service from the hotel into Dubrovnik city is efficient and cheap at 12K (c. £1.50 one way) when tickets are purchased from hotel gift shop. The journey into the city centre is only about 15-20 minutes and the buses run every 15 minutes from very early until 1.00am.

Overall a great stay. Prices for the same time next year appear to have increased considerably, but even so for a week of luxury, attentive service, the beautiful views and very convenient location to the wonderful city of Dubrovnik, I would say it is worth a stay at this hotel.

Great things to do while staying include a trip to Mostar in Bosnia-Herzegovina (we used Amico travel found in the old town), cable car up above the city of Dubrovnik and dinner at the Panoramic restaurant (be sure to book beforehand), a trip over to Lokrum to see the wild peacocks & monastery and a boat ride over to Cavtat for a leisurely lunch by the harbourfront.

Wonderful holiday overall. Croatia, we will be back!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms offer great views of the sunsets.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Simon_Grain_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for booking Valamar Argosy Hotel and for your feedback. We are happy to hear your great comments , they motive us to keep up the good work. It was our pleasure to welcome you.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Valamar Argosy Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews