We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scenery surrounding Hotel, Clean and Great Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Scenery surrounding Hotel, Clean and Great Facilities”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here for 10 days and the hotel was very clean and not over-crowded at the pool. The beach is a 2 minute walk and is part of the presidents hotel. Guests from the Argosy can use the facilites here also which is pretty handy. The bus into the town centre runs regular but is very slow at peak times which can be annoying with people squeezing on at all stops, we took a taxi some evenings to avoid this. The breakfast is great, lots of choice, but get down early if you want pancakes!! Like gold dust in the restaurant! If you dont fancy travelling into the centre there is a walkway that leads into a promenade area beside the hotel, lovely walk and again the views are amazing with great restaurants near the hotel! If you are planning on renting jet skis, great for seeing the islands around the area dont rent them from the Cocabana beach, way overpriced and the staff are quite rude, we went with Gari Transport and was alot cheaper and collect you from the Argosy! The Pool side bar staff are also very helpful and friendly! Reception is 50/50 depending on who is working regards helpfulness, Daniel was great!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    579
    170
    41
    14
See reviews for
182
725
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Not suitable for people younger than 60, staff very distant and when asked for advice, not very helpful and didn't really want to help.
Room was nice though, about the only thing going for the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiallODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Nice and clean hotel with wonderful view and very nice hotel restaurant with fresh food cooked in front of your eyes. Nice pool area and friendly personel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pson_asa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Very clean hotel, food is outstanding, rooms clean, try & get a room with a view. Large, spacious lobby, lovely pool & sun bathing area. Staff helpful. BUT a glass of wine is £5....

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

There are some mixed reviews on this website but we found a good deal and decided to go for it and we were very pleased with what we found.

Check-in service was great (we got upgraded to a larger room with balcony). Room was fine - fairly basic but clean and had all we needed (including safe). Pool lovely (and not too small as people have said). Most people seemed to spend their time in the old town so on the couple of days we fancied lounging by the pool we found it to be very quiet.

The hotel is about a 15 minute bus ride away from the old town but buses are incredibly frequent and cheap(ish) at about £1.20 per trip. Also this hotel is at the end of the bus route so you are always guaranteed a seat! Very few buses are air conditioned so I recommend taking a fan with you! I think the buses finish around midnight - taxis after then are around 75 HRK (£8ish).

Only (minor) downside - not many shops/cafes, etc in the surrounding area for this hotel, but as the main attraction is the old town, we were more than happy to spend most of our time there.

All in all, good hotel, friendly staff, lovely location – would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gem_W1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed at Argosy Hotel second week in June. We had a lovely sea view and the room was fresh and bright. Great breakfast with wonderful view if you sit outside. Also close to The President Beach and Copacabana Beach.
We were very satisfied with the location. Babin Kuk is a beautiful and i recommend a walk along the shore from the President Hotel to Uvala Lapad.

Bus station not far away and about 15 minutes ride to the old town, which we didn't mind at all.

After reading the reviews we were suprised that we really have no complaints other than that the staff was kind of stressed at breakfast. But overall this is a very priceworthy hotel. Sure, you can find a nicer hotel at a even better location, but then of course you'll have to pay for it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Just back from The Argosy after a four-night stay with Riviera Travel. After reading previous reviews, I feared the worst but was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent, with a good variety and extremely well cooked. In fine weather there's no need to eat in the restaurant - there's a pleasant outdoor terrace with fantastic views over the city harbour and neighbouring islands. Drinks were reasonably priced and of good quality, although service in the main bar was disappointing - the barman was more interested in chatting to his mates outside! The pool is rather small but there are some fine beaches nearby. It's true that the rooms need modernisation but they're clean and adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful for the most part (see above). Attached to the hotel is a strange concrete precinct; it appeared derelict on first inspection, but it leads to a number of shops and bars which offer good value for money, although they're rather sweaty due to the perspex roof.
The main criticism is the location of the hotel in relation to Dubrovnik's old town which, let's face it, is the main attraction. It's a 15-minute bus ride away; the buses are hotter than Hades and insanely crowded, all of which can ruin a perfectly good day. It would be great if the hotel could provide a regular shuttle - I'd happily pay for such a service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BINGHAMPTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,020 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Property: Valamar Argosy Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic garden paradise in Dubrovnik's green oasis Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, infinity pool and wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just 15 minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing