We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

First ,the good news.The staff in the Bellevue are amongst the best I have ever encountered in many years of overseas travel and the service quality is likewise first rate.The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the old town and is superbly located over the ocean.The decor is good (contemporary in feel)and the overall ambience of the place is pleasing being very light and airy.The buffet breakfasts are excellent and the terrace on which one takes breakfast is outstanding.Again staff response to requests is terrific
My wife and I stayed for 6 days and had a really enjoyable experience.
This said I don't believe this is a 5 star hotel.It is a good 4 star and might best be described as 'boutique'.Why? Well,the gym is minute with no running machine.It is shoe-horned into a very small internal room.There is a not very good multi gym(I have a bigger one at home.More than 3 people in the 'gym' at any one time and it would be packed.
There is no outdoor pool ,albeit there is a good private beach.The indoor pool is small but is perfectly fine if onl;y one or two people are in it.There is no business centre and the two PCs which afford free internet connections are very slow.Amazingly,there is no tea or coffee facility in the room.
As to Dubrovnik? Quite fantastic.I suspect that 4 days is the absolute limit for visiting though unless like me you enjoy walking the hills behind (Bosnia is not far even by foot).Make sure you visit the Fort and do try to read about the history of Croatia especialy the recent 'homeland' war.We found that people like to talk about it and are incredibly patriotic about the city,the country and their culture.As they shold beu
Restaurants in Dubrovnik old town are ,however,generally poor( a lot of pasta on offer much of the sauces for which seem to come out of a jar with limited menus and over-priced for what they offer whilst the top end ones-there are about 6 of those-are very expensive and on a par with top end London prices.If like me you are a veggie you are going to have a problem.
In the longer term I think this is going to be a real competitive problem for the city and the country.
Nevertheless a good experience overall.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinky67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your 6 days experience in hotel Bellevue. We are honoured by your compliments on our staff. Indeed, they are our biggest value and we are glad to see that guests recognize that. It is always the biggest challenge in every hotel to build such team and to create excellent service.

We are also aware of your comments regarding our wellness facilities, although as you noticed, being on this location we consider that we have big "outdoor pool" in front of the hotel.

Once again, we are very grateful for all your comments and we hope that we will see you soon again.


Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2011

The Bellevue Hotel received us warmly and we were impressed by the excellent views and balcony room we were give. After coming across the restaurant menu we quickly decided to steer clear of it as prices were excessively high at around £40 for a main course but this wasn't a problem as the Old Town offered numerous quaint restaurants to suit every wallet.

The room offered a lovely view over the private beach and the balcony. The area was really quiet and we were able to have the balcony doors open to listen to the sea at night. It would have been nice to have had a kettle with tea and coffee in the room (we found out when we'd left that you could request this from reception- i really do think that you shouldn’t have to ask for that though) and an i-pod dock would have made the room amazing.

The swimming pool offered a lovely view over the sea and offered a spa service. I had a nice message but my partner had an awful one on a waterbed! He said that he felt rather sea sick after a while and any pressure that the masseuse put on the body was absorbed by the bed. We decided to let it go until he found it hard to walk about 30 minutes later. . . we're still not exactly sure what she did to him. After kicking up a fuss reception got the masseuse to ring and apologise (this was so awkward so we didn't return to the swimming area after this). We found out that we were given a 20% discount, but were very uncomfortable with the way that the situation had been handled. We found it rather odd that the individual that we had complained about called to amend the situation!!! Surely an impartial third party was the correct way to go?

Despite the uncomfortable end to the stay we had a lovely time at this hotel and highly recommend others to stay here. I would however warn against a massage on the water bed!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoandthejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Hvala (thank you) for all your comments. We are glad that you were impressed with your room and that you highly recommend our hotel to others.

All your comments are most welcomed and appreciated. We are sorry that you left the hotel uncomfortable because of the massage that your partner had and the situation after that. Massage was done by a person who is our spa manager and that is the reason why she talked to you as she is the person in charge for the wellness. I can agree with you that it would be more appropriate that someone else talked to you about this problem. We apologize for this.

Regarding your comment on the restaurant prices we believe when you say 40 £ for a main course that you probably meant on a price for two people, because range of prices for a main courses is 15 - 27 £.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope that we will get the chance to welcome you during your next visit to Dubrovnik.


Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the end of March and would highly recommend the Bellevue.
Our room had a stunning sea view and you can see the sea from your bed!
It is perfectly located, about 800m from the entrqnce to the old town, so away from the hustle and bustle but easy to access and a pleasant walk.
The staff were ALL great, good English and very attentive, friendly and responsive.
We chose to eat in most nights and were never disappointed: excellent international menu, exceptional presentation from what must be a top chef, lovely restaurant ambience and blues/jazz music. Highly recommeded.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Bellevue and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik.

All the staff are grateful for your compliments on their work and especially our Chef. All the information we get from our customers are highly appreciated.

Thank you once again for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you again.


Sincerely yours,

Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We spent four nights at the Bellevue, and found it to be very pleasant, with extremely helpful staff. It's built into the top of a cliff, in a small bay with a stony beach. Reception is at street level on floor 5, and our room was on the bottom floor which is still a long way up from the beach. All the rooms face the sea and many have a balcony. The room was clean, of reasonable size, and had a desk, comfy chairs, coffee table, TV, and a wardrobe containing a safe. The bathroom was sparkling and there were plenty of shampoos, soaps, towels, and also bath robes, slippers, and a hairdryer. There was no kettle in the room, but we asked reception if they could provide one and they came down with not only a kettle but a selection of drinks sachets too. The only other problems with our room were that the wireless internet signal was very weak, in fact it didn't work in some parts of the room, and we were woken up the first night by some knocking heating pipes, but we didn't hear them any other night.

The hotel is ideally located between the old and new towns. It's a 15 minute downhill walk to Pile Gate on the edge of the old town, and a 5 minute walk downhill to the local supermarket Konzum, and another 5 minutes past that to reach the new port of Gruz. There is also a bakery and a steakhouse directly opposite the hotel. Buses run every few minutes and there are stops within a minute's walk of the hotel.

We tried out the "Vapor" restaurant in the hotel on the first night, and we were the only people in there. It's not a cheap restaurant, with main courses costing in the region of 240 kuna (£30), however the food was very well presented and extremely tasty. Breakfast the next morning was in the same restaurant, and featured a good selection of cooked meat, eggs, roast vegetables, cereals, yoghurts, fruits, breads etc.

Also in the hotel is a spa, with an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, saunas, cold showers, and a very small gym. There is free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and there are a couple of computers you can use in the reception area.

One of the lifts takes you down the cliff to the beach, which has a restaurant and bar but they only open when the tourist season starts. The beach appears to be private for hotel users, however it can be reached by taking the steps past the new Sun Casino.

The checkout time is midday, however our airport pick-up wasn't until 2.30pm. The staff were very helpful and let us stay in our room for an extra couple of hours without charging us. I doubt they would do this at busier times but it was very much appreciated.

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BucksOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your posted comment. We are happy to see that you enjoyed in our hotel and that you would definitely recommend hotel Bellevue to others.

Thank you for staying with us and hope that we will welcome you again in future.

Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We discovered this amazing hotel via numerous recommendations from online and guidebooks, but the hotel itself with the views and location are extraordinary.

Low season rates are a tenth of high season rates and with Dubrovnik quiet until the onslaught of summer arrives you could not have a more perfect spot. The views from the rooms are unsurpassed in this city.

The staff are some of the most helpful i have ever come across in my years of travel with no issue to large or small to handle.

The food and amenities are better than 5 star.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Storyshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Bellevue on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed in your stay.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in near future.


Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed 3 nights 3-6 March 2011. A lovely, modern hotel, built into the cliff overlooking a tiny bay just outside Dubrovnik old town and situated in a quiet, residential quarter with a bakery across the road and a minimarket just 100m away. We found it easy to get to, taking the "Atlas" bus (35 kunar one way) to the main Dubrovnik square and then walked up hill to the hotel (about 15 mins). If you've got luggage probably a taxi from the square would be better because, although a pretty walk, it is a good turn of foot or alternatively take the No4 bus. Very pleasant reception, and we were upgraded to a lovely room with balcony and sea view as the hotel was very quiet. Excellent, large room, comfortable bed, very good quality bed linen and towels. Everything you could want for a very comfortable stay, excellent breakfast, free wireless internet, high quality toiletries, bathrobes and comfy slippers. There is an excellent swimming pool, gym and sauna. Do you know this is the first hotel I've ever stayed in that noted it was my birthday and, when we got in from sightseeing on the Saturday, found a beautiful birthday cake awaiting us in our room. Such a lovely surprise, so thoughtful and reflective of the level of service throughout the hotel. We loved this hotel and only wish other places we go to could be of the same high quality.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience from hotel Bellevue on Tripadvisor. We are honored when you say that we set high standards that you expect from all the other hotels where you will go in the future.

We are giving our best in everyday's work to make our guests fell special and we appreciate when they recognize that.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and looking forward to welcome you again in near future.


Sincerely yours,

Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The Hotel Bellevue was a wonderful place to celebrate my birthday with my girlfriend back in October 2010.

The hotel is situated on the top of a cliff and has its own elevator taking you down to the beach. The indoor pool and spa facilities were excellent but probably best of all was the food. Each meal was beautifully presented and a joy to eat and I would recommended eating in the hotel restaraunt to anyone.

The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of Dubrovnik's old city (not to be missed!) and of the harbour. We also took advantage of the hotel's own car to take us to and from the airport which made this trip much more pleasant than it otherwise may have been.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and spoke excellent English and if I am ever fortunate enough to return to Dubrovnik again I will immediately book the wonderful Bellevue Hotel for my stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteStar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for you kind words. We are very happy knowing that we made your birthday special.

Special thanks goes from our Chef and his staff for your compliments on the food.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope we will see you soon again.

Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Address: Pera Cingrije 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £88 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLEVUE DUBROVNIK, one of Europe’s coolest new hotels according to the Sunday Times, is a unique hotel for discerning individual guests with an appreciation for luxury and attention to detail. The hotel is located in a spectacular 30 meter-high clifftop position overlooking the Adriatic, few minutes walking distance from the Old city of Dubrovnik. All 91 luxurious bedrooms and suites have sea views and are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing