We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall asleep to the sounds of waves...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed for a week at Bellevue in the middle of April. We booked a superior sea view room with a balcony and our room was located on the 5th floor of the hotel. The view was just amazing and even though the hotel is located besides a busy road, the only thing you could hear in the room when the balcony door was open was the sound of waves which we enjoyed tremendously.

The room itself was ok, but the balcony was a bit small and if you have vertigo you might want to ask for a room on the lower levels. The only thing that was lacking in the room was storage space. There were only 4 drawers and 10 hangers in the closet and that was all. These days when you have chargers for cameras, mobile phones, laptop etc. it would have been nice to have some drawers to store these. Now the only place for them was on top of the desks which made it impossible for the cleaning ladies to dust during our stay.

Another thing we would criticize is the hotel rule of not allowing own drinks (or food) in the room. We find this a bit “old-fashioned” and it would be much better service to let the customer decide whether they want to use the minibar as a fridge or it they want the hotel to fill it up with minibar products. It also felt a bit ridiculous to have to pay 20 kunas for 0,2 litres of cold bottled water from the minibar, since we did not want to risk stomach problems by drinking tab water. The price of beer 25 kunas for 0,33 litres was more manageable.

The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have an actual double bed instead of the two singles pushed together. And for us it was the first hotel room where we could enjoy the sea view straight from the bed. We also enjoyed very much the bathtub and the L’Occitane products.

The hotel’s spa was free of charge for hotel guests and it had 2 saunas, hot/cold showers, a pool and a jacuzzi. Although the Finnish sauna was a bit too hot even for us Finns who are used to sauna. A bit milder temperature with a bit more humidity would be much more comfortable. During our stay it rained a lot so the spa was a perfect place to relax and wait for the rain to end.

We ate twice at the hotel’s restaurant Vapor. It was a bit expensive (appr. 150 euros for a 3 course meal with wine for two), but during our first night there the food was the best we got in Dubrovnik. The bar next to Vapor serves delicious drinks and we can only imagine how nice it must be to enjoy them on the bar terrace during a warm summer night. Also the restaurant personnel deserves a special mentioning, since they were especially friendly and efficient.

The breakfast at the hotel was good, but definitively not the best we have seen. They did have a wide selection of hot and cold foods, but at least during our stay they did not vary much. However we did enjoy the fact that breakfast was available until 10.30.

We can also recommend the hotel’s taxi service which we used for travelling from and to the airport. The cost was appr. 45 euros (one way), but definitively worth the money since it was so easy, fast and the drivers were very friendly. For travelling within Dubrovnik we used the busses, since the 7 day Dubrovnik card included 20 single rides on the local bus. This was very convenient since busses 4 and 5 stop right in front of the hotel and after a heavy dinner a bus ride back to the hotel is much more comfortable than walking uphill. Otherwise the walk to Old Town from the hotel was a nice 15-20 minute walk downhill on a sidewalk besides a busy road.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheFinnishRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for posting such a comprehensive review on Tripadvisor's pages.
Thank you for mentioning nice views and location of our hotel.
regarding hangers in the closet our standard is to have in each closet 10 hangers,
but on request the guests can have more then that and I am sorry that you did not mentione to us during your stay.
Also, I would like to explain why we do not like when the guests bring food into the room from outside, but to be honest very rarily we mentioned this rule to our guests.
It is very difficult to keep the room tidy if there are any crumbs around. Also, our hotel is surrounded with a natural plants,as well as the whole hotel inside is covered only with eco-natural materials; wood, stone, Our linen is 100% cotton or flax.
In a such surroundings when we do not use any pesticides if there are crumbs on the floors it is easy that small ants entered from outside.
Thank you for mentioning our restaurant Vapor, tasty food and friendly personnell.
I will take a great pleasure in sharing your compliments with them.
Should your ztravel bring you back to Dubrovnik, my team and I would be delighted if you choose our hotel again.
With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We went for our first wedding anniversary at the end of April 2012. We requested room 111 as some have mentioned on here and we honestly can not fault the place. We had the biggest balcony giving us some amazing views across the beach and sea. The service was brilliant and everything we asked for was provided without question or delay. Some have mentioned the walk to old town being 15-20 minutes but for 20 somethings like us, it was more like 10 and actually pleasurable with all the views and smells.
Overall, the Bellevue was a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Couldn't recommend it any higher.

Room Tip: Ask for room 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing hotel "Bellevue" Dubrovnik for your very important first wedding anniversary.
I am so happy to read that we fullfilled all your expectations.
Thank you very much for posting nice comments on Tripadvisor's pages.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Bellevue for 3 nights at the end of April. From the moment we landed we had a fantastic trip. We hadnt booked transfers so picked up a taxi and paid 250 kounas for the trip. We were welcomed at the hotel, doors opened and cases collected and delivered to room. Our rooms didnt have a balcony but still had an amazing view over the sea and were very clean with a luxurious bathroom. There is a fanastic terrace overlooking the beach and has views across the sea. All the waiters that worked there worked very hard and looked after us extremely well. We walked into Old Town but got taxis back as the weather was too warm for an uphill walk - a great problem to have! We did a couple of trips including one to Mostar which we really enjoyed. On the last night we ate in the hotel as we had enjoyed a tasty and varied breakfast each morning. We opted for the 7 course meal which we thought was a reasonable 450 kounas for a meal of that variety. We were not disappointed as the food was truly excellent - I cannot praise the quality or service enough. We had an absolutely brilliant time in Dubrovnik and the location and quality of the hotel added to this. But it was the service of all the wonderful staff at the hotel that made the trip truly memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AEC1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comments posted on Tripadvisor's pages.
It is a pleasure for us to read such a positive recommendation.
Thank you for your nice words highligting our staff,food in our restaurant "Vapor" and our nice views.
Should you return to Dubrovnik, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again !!
Sincerely,
Luce Baća
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Went to Hotel Bellevue after my trip to London and it was a much needed change of scenery. The weather was warm and the view from our room was of the water and parts of the city. It has to be one of the best views from a hotel that I've been in. If you have luggage and you're in front of the pile gate I would recommend getting a taxi as it is uphill. It will be about 40-60 kuna.

Guests get use of the spa facilities and the spa has an even better view of the water. It was great sitting in the whirlpool and looking out at the water. I also used the sauna, steam room, and this foot washing thing that is supposed to help with circulation. We wanted to book a massage but were told that you would need to book a day in advance and it was our last full day there. I would love to come back to try the massage.

I also got room service and had the club sandwich, which is different from what Americans know as a club sandwich. It had ham, boiled eggs, lettuce, tomatoes, and some kind of sauce. It was delicious and I'm not a sandwich person.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was great. There's hot food, cured meats, friut, yogurt, breads, pastries, and some items that you can order freshly prepared. On the warmer morning we sat outside to enjoy the sun and the view.

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank lit2kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at the hotel "Bellevue" Dubrovnik.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed the magnificent views from your room,that you liked very much our wellness & spa facilities,our tasty food and breakfast.!
We look forward welcoming you back soon!
Best regards,
Luce Baća
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue" Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Myself and my wife are just back from a three night break in this beautiful hotel. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the whole experience was very special. We arived early (just after 12 noon) but yet they had our room ready and gave us a free upgrade to a room with a balcony. The whole check in lasted about two minutes which was great after a long flight and when we arived in the room the hotel provided us with a complimentary bottle of bubbly - it was a really great start to our stay.

The location is great, not too close to the old town and still a gentle 15 min stroll or short bus trip away for those who might find the walk too much.

The bedrooms overlook the small bay where the hotel is situated and it's very private. The views are spectacular.

One of the days was a little overcast and we relaxed by the indoor pool and availed of the sauna, steam room and Jaccuzi.

Food is great, staff are really friendly and if you're looking for a top class hotel to stay while in Dubrovnik then this place ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjcrevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great hotel with friendly and helpful personnel. My son and I stayed there during the 3rd week in April. Weather not great, but still enjoyed tremendously. Convenient location with local bus service to the Old City and back.

Room Tip: It is a must to have a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your recommendations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik and highly appreciate your praise of our staff !!
Should you return to Dubrovnik, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again !!
With kind regards,
Luce Baća
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Fantastic hotel. Would love to return one day but hopefully with better weather. Wonderful location and certainly an easy and pleasant walk into the Old City though a more demanding uphill return journey.If wearing anything other than comfortable shoes the bus or taxi is a good option.

Went with friends for a week mid April and experienced six wet days out of seven.
Nevertheless the quality and location of the hotel went a long way to compensating for the disappointment of the weather. First morning at breakfast the manager came to each table to apologise for the forecast .. very thoughtful as was the supply of brollies in the lobby.

The attentiveness of the staff at all times was first class.
Ate two evenings at the hotel due to the wind and rain and received excellent service however did notice the drop in quality between the chefs on duty on those two evenings.

The weather also meant we used the massage facility - my wife had two massages -recommendation enough! However we could not use the indoor pool as it was too cold.
Very disappointing!. Hot tub however is fantastic with a wonderful view.

One small gripe was that the ambient music was on a pretty short loop and began to annoy after a few days but once mentioned to the manager this was quickly attended to. Unfortunately the temperature of the pool was not so easily changed.

One practical tip - the Dubrovnik card on offer for 1,3 or 7 days may not save you much especially if are not keen to see all the museums (although if you get the weather we did you will probably see every one of them). If you happen to have a student card be sure to take it as you will make greater savings but you will need to enquire each time as there is no advertising of student or other concessionary entry prices. However the 10% discount at many shops and restaurants for Dubrovnik card holders is very useful and does not appear to be limited to the dates of the card use (it is activated by one's first entrance) nor the size of the party so purchasing at least a one day card could be an investment. Buy it at the start of the holiday for discounts and use it at least for entry to the walls and it will more than pay for itself.
Meanwhile back at the hotel it is worth taking advantage of the happy hour 4 - 6pm but take note that it only offers 40% discount and does not include cocktails, wine etc
Look out for the programme of concerts in the OldCity and try to get some. We went to a wonderful acapella concert of local music at noon on the Sunday and a string quartet at 9pm during the week in a candelit church. Both were memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing hotel Bellevue and thank you very much for your kind and
comprehensive feedback posted on Tripadvisor pages.
I was delighted to read that you were pleased with our facilities and in spite of unusal bad weather in April spent nice holidays with us.
Thank you for pointing out the efficient and attentive service provided by our staff, and I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with them. !
Hope to welcoming you soon again !!
Sincerely,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,984 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Address: Pera Cingrije 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £88 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLEVUE DUBROVNIK, one of Europe’s coolest new hotels according to the Sunday Times, is a unique hotel for discerning individual guests with an appreciation for luxury and attention to detail. The hotel is located in a spectacular 30 meter-high clifftop position overlooking the Adriatic, few minutes walking distance from the Old city of Dubrovnik. All 91 luxurious bedrooms and suites have sea views and are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing