We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel, Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We loved the Hotel Bellevue, definitely recommend it and really debated 4 vs. 5 stars. Its a really lovely place that just misses being perfect in a couple of small areas.

Pros:
* Wonderful staff!! Seriously - from the concierges, desk staff, bartender to the cool young guys who served breakfast everyone was friendly and really genuinely helpful. For example, when we wanted to got to Mljet, Dovar the concierge told us about going there as a child, explained all the sites and options for getting there and organized a rental car to be delivered. We felt very well taken care of.
* Great decks, views and common areas. The hotel feels clean and modern with amazing views from the bar, breakfast area, reception area and decks.
* Good beach access. Like all beaches in Dubrovnik, the beach is pebbly and rocky. Coming from California that was a downer. But Bellevue has direct access to a beautiful semi-private beach and a couple of great decks with chairs, umbrellas and bar service overlooking the water. We were there at high season and while we did throw towels down on our favorite chairs in the morning, it didn't seem like a crazy scene and they seem to have enough to accommodate everyone.
Nice breakfast and bar. You can have breakfast on the deck over the water. View is amazing and made every morning special. I had a glass of wine each night on another deck - also amazing.
Great Spa. We had a couple of treatments. Cost wasn't cheap but was a little less than California prices. Massage was amazing!

Cons:
Gym. This is the biggest miss - at this price point they need a real fitness room. What they have is three old machines in small depressing room off the spa.
Guest rooms. We actually really liked our room. We had a Deluxe Sea View room which is supposed to be the best until you get into suites. While it was very nice, it was not quite as spectacular as we'd expected. The bathroom has high quality fixtures and toiletries, but is small. The room itself is sort of long and thin and the door to the deck is the only window and is a little small so the room didn't feel bright and open. The view from the deck was stunning but the other room's decks are directly adjacent so its not private. But these are all little nits. Net-net it was a really nice room that just wasn't quite as amazing as we expected.

Other considerations:
* Like a lot of Dubrovnik hotels they have an indoor pool and hot tub. Seemed weird on paper but its nice. They have a wall of glass overlooking the water so you almost feel like you're outside. They also have deck chairs overlooking the water and under a glass roof so you can almost sort of sunbathe indoors. Sounds weird but the effect was really nice. And the pool area was usually pretty quiet.
* Its a 15 minute walk into Old Town. The walk itself is great and has pretty views for part of the way. You can also take a long walk to Babin Kuk which has some great views and good places for drinks/dinner.
* You could argue that the are south of town near Sveti Jacov beach is prettier, but we were happy with the location of Hotel Bellevue. We did a walk to the other side and it was a great day trip.
* We also enjoyed day trips to Mljet and Captat and heard great things about Lopud. Mljet and Lopud have beaches with actual sand too!
* Dubrovnik is not great for foodies - especially during high season when fresh fish is in high demand. We had some nice fish and a great dinner at Bugenvila in Captat. But we also ate more pizza and pasta than planned and mostly found dining in Old Town to be tourist-trappy.
* Croatian wine is awesome! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    308
    69
    10
    5
See reviews for
159
911
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
117 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a rough first night at the hotel. We checked in and they put us in a room with two small beds pushed together even though we had a confirm for a king. After some discussion they found us the right type of room. That room had a mattress that was squashed in the middle and gave no back support, which was clearly quite old and yellow and needed desperately to be replaced. There was also a large bug when we pulled back the covers. Perhaps the biggest problem was that the AC startled making a rattling noise that continued throughout the night so that we had to sleep with earplugs. When we let the front desk manager know about our problems he was very helpful and said they even could have tried to fix the AC in the night. He got us a new room, which turned out to be suite that was amazingly large and gorgeous. It had two bathrooms and a dining room table! The AC was quiet and the bed more comfortable most importantly. As for the amenities at the hotel, there were plenty of chairs to lay out and the sea was refreshing although it is a rock beach as with most of Croatia. The indoor pool is actually quite nice and the chairs there were very comfortable. My husband got a reasonably priced massage at the spa. The cafe by the beach is pricey and the food selection was not great. We had a better lunch just up the street at Magellan. Our experience the first night was not anywhere near worthy of a $400+ hotel while the second night certainly was. While the views are not of the old city, they are breathtaking and we even got to see a water polo match out of our window.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

While expensive, the Bellevue was the best hotel experience of my time in Croatia, maybe aside from the Vestibul Palace in Split. The room was comfortable, the staff helpful, and breakfast and drinks on the terrace very pleasant. I had a low level room looking out over the sea and it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear TonyPSP,
Thank you for your nice feedback.
Should your travel bring you back to Dubrovnik in the future, my team and I would be delighted if you choose our hotel again,
Sincerely yours,
Luce Baca
General manager
Hotel "Bellevue, Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just completed a 9 day stay in picturesque Dubrovnik at the very good Hotel Bellevue. Yes it is debatable whether the hotel is a 4 or 5 star but all that didn't matter because of the beach. It is very hot in Croatia this time of year so having access to a beach to relax and cool off in the beautiful Adriatic outside your hotel, priceless!!, Easily worth a star. My wife and I chose this hotel not because of free breakfast but because of the beach. As mentioned, in the previous review, It is a rocky beach but so are almost all the beaches in Dubrovnick. It would not be cost effective for the hotel to hellicopter in an excavator to move rocks especially since all beaches in Croatia are public. If you are not a confident swimmer or have delicate feet, bring some water shoes.

The view from our room is also worth a star. From beautiful sunrises, to watching sunbathers, water polo practices, rock divers, birds, and bats, there was always a source of entertainment from our balcony. I found our " FREE" Internet connection worked well most time except on our balcony. I suppose if they charged for it like most luxury hotels it may be faster but I prefer slower but free.
The distance to old town is approximately 2km or a 15 to 20 min walk up and down a hill on narrow sidewalks. Not for everyone especially if you make the trip a couple of times a day. We looked at it this way. It was a good opportunity to burn off some calories after eating a meal and having fantastic ice creme in old town.
We did find the food at Vapor very good if you know what to order. Food in Croatia is hit or miss. If you are looking for haut cuisine you will not find it in Dubrovnik but if you stick to Croatia's strengths. Simple dishes made from excellent local ingredients like fresh vegetables, cheese, fish, olives, cured meats, even pasta, you will do fine. We thoroughly enjoyed the grouper. The fish was cooked to perfection with a nice crust on one side in a lemon reduction which balanced it perfectly and the chocolate soufflé was to die for. The drinks at the hotel were also excellent and so was the espresso, cappuccino. Cocktails were made from fresh fruit and herbs such as the mohito and the hotel offered a signature drink every day at a 50% discount taking the sting out of high drink prices in general in Dubrovnik except for beer.
The service at the hotel was very good and it was very clean. When I left for my daily 6:00 am run cleaning staff were busily tidying up the hotel. Overall staff were genuine, friendly, and very accommodating. Despite a bit of a language barrier the staff appeared to be trying their best. We did initially end up with the dreaded room under the restaurant area know for its noise. Initially we though it was going to be acceptable but the moving of chairs above us wore us down by the second day so I had to complain. The front desk staff apologized and immediately upgraded us to a suite. Within an hour we were moved into our new digs. The suite was considerable larger with a separate bedroom and double balcony with coffee and tea in room.
I agree with a previous reviewer that the gym is lacking and probably an afterthought to attain a 5 star rating. As mentioned above I am a runner so no treadmill meant I had to run outside. Perfectly safe but if you don't start before 7:00 am it gets too hot. We did not try the spa services but the facility looked modern and clean.

Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would come back again. It is pricey, you have to pay for water in your room, the breakfast is average, and the gym severely lacking but the beach and view make up for the hotel shortfalls. It depends what you are looking for. If it is summer or early fall stay here and you want to go to the beach stay here. If it is another time of year maybe somewhere closer to old town would be better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the restaurant area if possible especially if you are a light sleeper and like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Gina Greg,
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review.
We are working hard to provide the highest level of product and services and therefore really appreciate your enthusiasm and positive comments.
We are happy that you had a great time and that you would come back again.
Thank you for pointing out our location, our beach, good food in the restaurant Vapor,our
friendly and very accommodating staff.
All of us look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General Manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Will keep it simple:

Great location, about a 10 minute walk from Old Town and far enough away from the hustle and bustle
Private beach in beautiful bay, meaning you don't have to compete to get a good spot
Unbelievable views
Service by the employees is outstanding, you will not go without anything and the concierges were fantastic
Restaurants were great although breakfast could have a better variety or be better presented
We attended for 5 nights as part of our round the world honeymoon and this was our favourite location
Rooms are great but you do not want to spend anytime in the rooms when you have such a great resort
Only downside for us is that the gym is lacking in equipment
We are already talking about when we can return next
Highly recommend Hotel Bellevue

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharpTravellers2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear SharpTravellers2714,
I am so pleased to hear that you have had such a wonderful stay with us.
Your kind comments regarding services will certainly be forwarded to the Team and I am sure they will be very happy to hear that you have felt taken care during your stay.
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. For the next season we are planning to enlarge our gym and improve equipment.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Yours sincerely,
Luce Baca
General manager
Hotel "Bellevue, Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel has recently upgraded itself from three to five stars. Pity it was only the rating that was upgraded, because the hotel just qualifies for three stars (I think). The rooms are small, and there were only facilities for tea or coffee for the first night. There are no bottles of water provided for free and the cleaning of the room certainly leaves a lot to desire. We stayed there for three nights and our drinking glasses were never changed or cleaned, despite complaining. There was no night turndown service and the serving staff at night are very erratic in their service provision. It is quite a long walk to the old town, about three kilometers down hill, the walk back was tough after eating and drinking. The spa staff are surly and there was no way I would trust my body to them - lol. Dubrovnik is expensive, but for the price you would expect value and there is no value here. My advice go to another country if you want a break.

Room Tip: The hotel states that it has a private beach. The beach is a public beach and the hotel only has pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fredex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Milton Keynes,
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations in a certain aspects.
I also understand the reviews on Tripadvisor are based on subjective opinion so as in your case,so please let me seize the opportunity to highlight the objective ones for the travelling community.
The hotel can not upgrade itself. Categorisation of the hotel is done by Croatian Ministry of Tourisme and already 7 years hotel Bellevue is operarting as a 5 stars hotel.
All our rooms are "smart rooms" which means that if you leave your room key card in the socket for all staff ( room service, housekeeping) is forbidden to disturb.IProbably you did not know that and I am sorry that you did not tell us.
Regarding our location and distance from the old town hotel is only 1,2 km far from the old town and 15-20 min. walk is normal time to reach main street in the old town.
Dubrovnik as a most beautiful city in Croatia - pearl of Adriatic is on the World heritage list protected by UNESCO - very popular and very full during summer ( July,August)
I would be more then happy to have privilege of welcoming you back again in Dubrovnik and hotel "Bellevue " in a pre or post high season.

With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

As the name suggests, the hotel boasts a nice view to the sea. The hotel's structure is interesting. The reception is on top of a cliff, the restaurant on the floor below the reception and guest rooms are situated on lower floors. Finally, the hotel has a private beach at the level of the lowest floor.

Our room (a standard type) was simple but chic with abundant linen.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiyoshi_Fujioka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luce b, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Kiyoshi_Fujioka,
Thank you very much for posting your nice review on Tripadvisor's pages.
My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to Dubrovnik and hotel "Bellevue".
With kind regards,
Luce Baca
General manager
Hotel "Bellevue", Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Address: Pera Cingrije 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLEVUE DUBROVNIK, one of Europe’s coolest new hotels according to the Sunday Times, is a unique hotel for discerning individual guests with an appreciation for luxury and attention to detail. The hotel is located in a spectacular 30 meter-high clifftop position overlooking the Adriatic, few minutes walking distance from the Old city of Dubrovnik. All 91 luxurious bedrooms and suites have sea views and are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing