We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but characterless hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern but characterless hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This hotel is very modern but lacks personality. The bedrooms are lacking in colour, rather drab in browns,; they could do with some lime green or orange accessories to brighten the rooms up. The same goes for the decor in the bathrooms. The toiletries were very good, l'Occitane. The view from the balcony was good, but the beach isn't private and was invaded one afternoon by a swarm of school children, who were very noisy. Also, the water sometimes became very dirty and gritty, with some litter being swept in. The indoor pool was very good, but the beach didn't make up for an outdoor pool, as the sunbathing area was very small. All in all, this hotel didn't have enough outdoor space for gardens and outdoor pool to make it an impressive 5 star hotel. The breakfast was quite good, but again, there wasn't enough variety for a 5 star hotel. The main advantage of staying here was that it was within walking distance from the old town of Dubrovnik, although it was an uphill climb back to the hotel after dining out in the evening. We didn't try the hotel restaurant because there never seemed to be anyone in the cocktail lounge or the restaurant. There were some very good restaurants in the old town, but also some to be avoided. Prices were high, with even local wine being expensive. Would recommend this hotel with some reservations if you get a good deal pricewise.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    320
    70
    10
    5
See reviews for
165
966
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

This has to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, and once again the TripAdvisor reviews helped us greatly in deciding to stay here over the Imperial Hilton at Pile Gate (despite its superior rating).

To categorize this review into major sections:

Service:
- Hotel staff were always available to help with a restaurant choice or to assist with the booking of tours. You can avoid the lineups at the Pile Gate by buying your ticket direct from the hotel; and they have deals with the tour operators such that small children are often free.
- My daughter hurt her foot on the trip and the concierge offered to carry her to our room. Imagine that sort of service anywhere else!
- The hotel will also arrange private transport to the hotel from the Dubrovnik airport at a cost of around £40 (£70 for a large van for larger families). Again a very nice touch if you wish to spend the money.

Food:
- The breakfasts were perhaps the most extensive we have had. Croatian prosciutto, cereals, made to order omlettes, fruits, champagne, were abundant.
- And for those who like to take a later breakfast the room was open until 10:30 for breakfast which was included in the price of the hotel.
- For a hotel, food and drink prices were competitive and service standards were very good. If you stay in the hotel for lunch, order off the bar menu, which has a great club sandwhich or open faced raost beef sandwich. Good deals, for under £10 apiece.

Amenities:
- Stunning (yet rocky) private beach with ice blue and green waters and beautiful cliffs fit for diving, if you are brave.
- Although a bunch of school kids snuck in after school to go for a swim, they were playing nicely in the ocean and were loud but not really a bother.
- There is a magnificent indoor pool, small workout room (no treadmill, just a cross trainer, rowing maching and bike) as well as a sauna, steam room and massage room. While we did not partake, massages are very well priced compared to other luxury hotels. Again service at the spa was impeccable with towels provided without you asking for them and constant replenishment of bottled water in the workout room, etc.

Rooms:
- We had two standard, connecting rooms which were great for kids.
- Bathrooms were spotless, recently renovated and maintained to the highest order.
- TVs of around 30 inches were wall mounted and various international channels were available.
- Rooms were good size and definitely suitable for small children. Our kids stayed in a second room where three beds were easily accommodated.

Location:
- 1.5 KM from the Pile Gate, and a nice 15 minute downhill walk going, but pretty taxing coming back up, especially after a few drinks. Expect to pay Kuna40-50 for a ride back up from the taxi rank outside the Pile Gate (£6).
- The location is reasonably quiet and close to a residential areas surrounding the premises.
- The facade is glass and extremely modern.

Value:
- We paid Euro190/night for our rooms. A very competitive rate for a top class hotel. This is not a cheap option, but there is definitely value for money as the service standards are outstanding.

Security:
- The entrance to the rooms on the reception floor (i.e. beside the tour desk) are not equipped with a pass code or cardkey requirement. Despite good overall room security, the entrance should be secured. Not a major issue but one that management could easily and cheaply remedy.

The only "negative" is that the hotel, despite its adverts, does not take Euros. This is the same for the entire country; they have the kuna which is approximately 8:1 (£) and 7:1 (Euros). That is not a negative for the hotel really because there is a cash point about a two minute walk away where one can get kunas.

We cannot recommend this hotel more and would suggest that other TripAdvisor readers consider this hotel as a boutique option to one of the larger chain hotels available in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael01UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Lovely rooms, good location, breathtaking view. In a nutshell the hotel was beautiful, just beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commedesgarcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Hotel was fantastic and the private beach is a real winner. Walked past a few other places and this one stood out as being the best and I'm all about the grass being greener on the other side too. The Hilton looked a bit cruddy from the back so I would stay here if you are looking for a top place to be. The only tiny complaint is that the air conditioning smelt a bit strange in the room, Can't put my finger on the smell,...kind of like a mix between tea and burnt hair...anyway don't let that put you off - it probably dimished our enjoyment by about 1% and if anything was a conversational piece with my new wife. Hurray!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank womblaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was set on the edge of a cliff and had great views particularly from the glass elevator. The service was friendly and efficient. The hotel was a 15 minute walk from town, which helped you walk off your dinner! although buses were frequent. Our trip was great and we enjoyed looking around the city. If we had any criticism it was that in general, some places were not quite ready for tourists.
Maybe the bus company could have been clearer about times and pick up points going back to the airport. Having said that, we still had a fab time and would unreservedly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennySWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
318 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I advise those interested in this hotel to largely ignore any of the negative reviews below, I am convinced they are completely unfounded or perhaps even faked. This hotel was exceptional in every way imaginable. Very modern and well decorated with a stunning view. It hangs off the edge of a cliff overlooking the beautiful blue of the Adriatic so the view is breathtaking. There is an elevator you can take down to the beach below, and though the water was too cold to swim in April, it was a perfect location to sunbathe. The rooms are a good size with large bathrooms fully stocked with all the necessary toiletries, and including terry cloth robes and slippers. The staff were EXTREMELY nice and helpful and answered all our questions. We had a travel snafu and they even helped us with booking our airfare, very nice. When we booked, I noted in the comments that we were on our honeymoon and not only did they upgrade us to a deluxe room free of charge but they had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room, very nice touch! The pool area and spa was also very nice, featuring wet and dry saunas, pool, hottub, massage area, etc. The rates were also very affordable for a 5 star hotel and included breakfast. The breakfast was far from spectacular (typical hotel buffet fare for the heated breakfast...scrambled eggs, bacon, grilled veggies) but they also had a tremendous selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, cheeses, cured meats, breads, pastries, cereals so it was quite nice, especially dining out on the patio overlooking the sea. The hotel is also well located, only about a 10-15 mins walk to the old town or if you're lazy there is a bus stop virtually in front of the hotel that will take you right there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Bellevue for 2 nights in a superior room. This was the 4th hotel we'd stayed in during our holiday in Croatia and was booked for a little luxury at the end of the holiday. The hotel did no disappoint.

The room was stunning with lots of little luxuries- plenty of quality soaps and other bathroom accessories! There is a fancy technological control for things like air-con, telephone etc but best of all, the views are stunning.

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast was very varied and high quality.

We found Dubrovnik quite touristy and therefore expensive. In light of that the Bellevue is good value for the town and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
780 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.8 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Address: Pera Cingrije 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLEVUE DUBROVNIK, one of Europe’s coolest new hotels according to the Sunday Times, is a unique hotel for discerning individual guests with an appreciation for luxury and attention to detail. The hotel is located in a spectacular 30 meter-high clifftop position overlooking the Adriatic, few minutes walking distance from the Old city of Dubrovnik. All 91 luxurious bedrooms and suites have sea views and are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing