We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and even better location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2010

First of all have to laugh at previous review having just got back from a weeks stay I can ensure any visitors the Hotel Bellevue is definately NOT a nightclub and is pretty tranquil/quiet all day/evening long with the hotel bars shutting at 12!

Anyway back to my review, stayed for a week on a non balcony room. Knew upfront I wasn't getting a balcony and to be honest did not miss it much. The rooms (well at least ours) was extremely spacious and very well kept with nice amenties and regular cleaning/turn down service. Slight negative is our room faced on to to the road which is the main single carridgeway into Dubrovnik and gets quite busy and Croatia drivers like to use their horn at 6 am onwards which is muted somewhat by the walls but can still be heard however I think most rooms will not have this problem as the balcony rooms sit below groundlevel on the cliff side so as previous said a minor problem for the 4-5 rooms I counted inward facing.

As previously mentioned in other reviews the hotel is circa 15-20 min walk from the old town taxis are frequent and relatively inexpensive if required. We utilised the hotel airport transfer service both to and from the hotel and this was arranged and carried out with no trouble and for the minimal increase in price (circa 5-10 EUR on a normal taxi) was well worth it in my opinion.

Big sell point for this hotel is the beach/cove it sits in, with direct lift down to reception and a paved section for guests only this was great way to spend afternoons and left very picturesque views from both beach side and hotel lobby/room. There was only a handful of "locals" on the beach most days and none of the noise previously reported so if you want peace and quiet you can certainly achieve it here.

A huge attraction and somewhat a suprise to us having vistied other balkan countries previously is the service levels and friendliness of the staff. Truth be told we found this almost everywhere in Dubrovnik (apparently there is a Tourist university which is almost compulsory in the area for young Croats within the Dubrovnik area to attend as almost all will end up in the tourism industry) however no more evident was this in the Bellevue. The manager should be very proud of his team...particular praise to Ivan on the Spice Bar (I know the boss reads these reviews) who injected a bit of personality/humour to his work and was well appreciated by us and others.

We ate at all three restaurants and truth be told this is the one area I feel could be improved on - also noted this on the hotel questionairre so not just sniping post trip! The Beach restaurant & Spice Bar/Lounge are meant to be the more casual restaurants but both had only circa 6 things on the menu of which the dishes varied greatly from a tuna sandwich to monkfish tails in addition there seemed to be things you could get on the room service menu and the Spice bar menu but not the Beach restaurant and vice versa which seemed alittle bizarre. I noticed things are "available on request" e.g bolied eggs at breakfast although this isn't advertised and maybe could be to offer more variance and also cater to what most 4* + hotels offer in means of casual dining.

Finishing off on the food we had the tasting menu with wine paring, at Vapor which is the hotels fine dining. This was really quite dissapointing (Beef Carpaccio was part cooked not raw, soup was luke warm, sea bass & lamb were both overcooked and in the case of the lamb very small portion) as this was our first night dining out we really didn't know what to expect with food in Croatia (To put this in perspective my partner and I regularly eat out in "fine dining" establishments back home in London and are blessed with good food back home) and while I don't want to come across as pedantic, Dubrovnik has a large number of restaurants so competition is high and having eaten out elsewhere throughout the week there are better places (both in atmosphere/food/price and equal service levels) to go to (will review these seperately in the restuarant section for anyone interested). Credit where credit's due though the chocolate souffle was superb and we ordered it almost every night back at the spice bar (available there as well) skipping desert at whichever eatery we had visited...and noticed others doing the same!

To summarise I came to Dubrovnik with no real expectations and both the place and the Hotel Bellevue made for a very enjoyable week. I would happily stay again and recommend Bellevue to my prospective friends although feel somewhat tempted to try one of their sister hotels (Excelsior or Dubrovnik Palace) which are somewhat larger and maybe have more of an "atmosphere" in the evenings....my partner and I were literally the only ones in the bar area most evenings from circa 10 pm to closing....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesUK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for such a detailed feedback of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable week stay at hotel Bellevue.

All of your comments are most welcome and highly appreciated! We are sorry for not meeting your expectations in food and beverage part this time.

Special thanks goes for your comment on our staff and yes, I am very proud of my team.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope we will see you again in near future.


Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

Avoid this hotel which is not 5* but a night club

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (business), the first was perfect, but the second, terrible, the beach of this hotel was used for an event : a weeding !!!!! after midnight, impossible to sleep.

I have never seen that in a hotel, we paid to be in a night club

When the customers are not respected....

Regards

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank escapeFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment posted on the 3rd of September. We are very sorry to hear that you left our hotel disappointed with the last night of your stay.

It is true that we had a wedding dinner for the group of our guests (30 pax.) on the beach on Friday the 3rd. However, the music for this event was allowed only until midnight just like it is for example for all the concerts in Dubrovnik. As we can see from the posting date of this comment it has been written and submitted obviously before the midnight.

Once again we apologize for all the inconvenience that this might caused to you.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had a wonderful three day stay at Hotel Bellevue. The hotel is situated on top of a cliff overlooking the gorgeous blue Adriatic. While booking this hotel, we were worried that it might be too far from the bustling city walls of Old Dubrovnik and that it might be a pain to get there. That ended up not being the case. It's a fairly easy walk (about 15 minutes) to the old city walls, with beautiful views along the way. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service to the gates of the old city walls and public buses are available within one block of the hotel and takes five minutes to reach the old city walls. We also enjoyed all of the hotel amenities including the beach, the lovely and relaxing indoor swimming pool and the wonderful meals from the hotel restaurants. The hotel breakfast is quite large and satisfying and the dinner was one of the best we had in Croatia. The rooms were very comfortable and modern, which we also loved. In the end, we were thrilled with our decision to stay here, a bit away from the noisy, crowded streets within the old city walls. Our only disappointment was that wireless internet was only available in the lobby, and not the guest rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2010

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Bellevue on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Regarding your comment about complimentary shuttle service we must point out because of the other guests that we do not provide this service because Old town is only 10 minutes of walking. However, it might happen that you used this kind of service when we had an event in our sister hotel which is close to the Old town and this service had been organized than. Wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. In case you had a bad signal in your room we provide cables for internet connection.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we hope to see you again.


Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

great location, lovely setting just spoilt by the fact that all the local kids come down and jump off the cliffs etc and genreally make noise on the beach all afternoon, in the mornings though its excellent before they turn up! staff are excellent, rooms are a bit hilton like though so was expecting better but very clean and functional.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cab37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2010

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you find our hotel to be good one.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we will welcome you again in the future.


Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip around Croatia.
Our room was spacious but had a terrible view (5th floor) which was a shame given the lovely bay most of the hotel looks out over. However, it was booked last minute and on a good deal. The bathroom was lovely with L'Occtaine products, the shower kept leaking everywhere but this wasnt really a big issue.
Breakfast was really good, although didnt change each day so if staying a long period of time it could get repetitive. The restaurant terrace has lovely views.
As others have said, the beach isnt private but we didnt mind this at all. Some may find it noisy later in the day with all the groups of young people meeting on the beach, we just found it entertaining.
The location of this hotel was perfect - close enough to the old town centre to walk each night, and yet set in a secluded pretty bay.
The lunches at the hotel beach restaurant were great, and we can highly recommend the cocktails!

The main thing to note about this hotel is the really good staff and service. Every single staff member we spoke to was friendly and helpful. They really make this hotel 5*.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisa.bobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your review and especially on your comment on our staff. It is a great pleasure for all of us at hotel Bellevue when guests recognize staff performance, as you suggested, they are the one who make this hotel 5*. Thank you!

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we hope to see you again in near future.


Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed here in August for 4 nights in a double and triple, both with balconies overlooking the crystal clear Adriatic and onto the public beach below. The rooms were not large, but comfortable, and yes, expensive. The staff was helpful and arranged a fabulous all day trip on a 26 foot boat for just our family with Pavo to the Eliphite islands. Great breakfast in dining room with floor to ceiling windows and indoor or outdoor options. It was a 15 minute walk to the Old Town downhill and somewhat more on the way back or $8 cab ride. We did have very small ants in the room, though these were only a minor annoyance. We debated staying at the similarly priced Hilton closer to the Old Town and were very happy we chose the Bellevue for the beauty of the views from the room. The beach is public and pebbly but we were able to get chaises on the deck just above the beach which are for hotel guests only. The water is remarkably clear and turquoise, though chilly. A great splurge you will not forget!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank Lexingtontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed in your stay with us.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you again in near future.

Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

breathtaking location and views, excellent service. small rooms. spectacular
cliffside restaurant. nice private beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2010

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your positive review of hotel Bellevue.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in near future.


Sincerely yours,


Damir Lukic
General Manager
Hotel Bellevue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
824 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,069 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,909 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik

Address: Pera Cingrije 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £161 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BELLEVUE DUBROVNIK, one of Europe’s coolest new hotels according to the Sunday Times, is a unique hotel for discerning individual guests with an appreciation for luxury and attention to detail. The hotel is located in a spectacular 30 meter-high clifftop position overlooking the Adriatic, few minutes walking distance from the Old city of Dubrovnik. All 91 luxurious bedrooms and suites have sea views and are equipped with the latest technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing