We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel - spectacular beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel from June 21st through June 26th, 2011. Overall the hotel is very nice. They have a good, helpful front desk staff. The rooms are well appointed and kept very clean (even though the double bed is actually two singles pushed together) with nice furnishings, a mini bar, safe and a sitting area and with extremely nice balconies overlooking the sea and the beach. The beach is not sand, but is rock which we found we actually prefer because there is no sand to stick you. The beach is clean and the water is crystal clear. The beach lounge chairs are nice with individual canopies, the hotel beach towels are large and they also provide large beach umbrellas. Chairs were always available. The beach bar and restaurant was a bit dissappointing. The service was slow -- the waiters hardly ever checked on us and it took a long time to get drinks and food and the check. The food was only average at best and sometimes very bad -- we couldn't figure out what kind of "meat" was on the hamburger so we just stuck to fries and salads from then on out. The hotel buffet breakfast was good with a large variety of choices - even delicious smoked salmon. However, again, just like at the beach restaurant, the wait staff who poured coffee and set up tables were a bit disorganized. They were always working but seemed to get very little done. I always had to wait for coffee service. Better organization would solve the problem. There was always "entertainment" in the bar area inside at night but we passed by a couple of times and it was always very bad entertainment and music - dated and very unentertaining. It was only a 15 minute very nice walk to the closest town along the sea. A bus for the Walled City of Dubrovnik is very conveniently located right outside of the hotel and discounted bus tickets can be bought at the front desk. The bus conveniently starts at the hotel every 10-15 minutes and then picks up passengers along the way and ends at the Walled City. We had three massage treatments in the hotel's spa which were all very well done and a good value. In fact, the massages are some of the best we've ever had. Our massage therapist's name is Miro (?) and he's very good. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone staying in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: All of the room face the sea so there's very few bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz_Stelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear Liz,

Thank you for writing review.
I am glad we fulfilled your expectations and hope to see you next time when we will try to exceed them.
Lot of greetings,

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

Quite a small airport so quick to get through immigration and collect bags. About 25 minutes from the airport. Good roads.
Excellant porter service on arrival. Reception very helpful and friendly. Shown to room which had double bed. Sharing with friend so booked twin (through Expedia). Called Reception and they immediately came to take us to another room.
We were on second floor which is one floor up from beach. Hotel built on terraces on a cliff face to lifts are a bit strange as they go up/down at an angle. All rooms have sea view. Both of those that we saw had this.
Good sized rooms. Big bathroom. Good strong shower. Freebie bathroom toiletries poor. But okay if you run out of something. Put towels in bath or you may have to wait a couple of days to get clean towels. Beds/pillows really comfy. Very good air conditioning used with ceiling fan for an extra blast of cool air. TV has some english news channels. Loads of wardrobe space. Comfortable and big settee in living room area, with table and big dressing table area. Mini bar/fridge can be used to put small water bottles. Terrace big with table and chairs to watch sun going down. Happy with room.
Breakfast included with room. Excellant value for money. Huge amount of choice - juices, cereals, fresh fruit, cold cuts, cheese, breads, jams, pancakes, bacon/sausage/eggs/veggies. Never run out of food even though its a buffet. Coffee service a bit slow at weekend but got better when weekday staff arrived.
Ate in the buffet restaurant a couple of nights. Again very good quality food with immense choice. Cost about £25. Not bad for a 10 course buffet! Good choice of wines. House wine palatable and local.
Pool is indoor but with large open glass doors. Cooling swim after busy hot days out. Very clean and not used much. Jacuzzi in little wooded area quite cute. Good sized sun terrace outside pool if you want to get away from noisy local kids who arrive at the beach after school around 4pm every day.
Beach is pebbly so go to the Mini-Mart in the village square and buy some plastic/webbed swim shoes. Cost about £5 but you can't get in sea without them. Water nice and clean. Beach says private but locals are allowed to come on but cannot use sunbeds. Sunbeds very nice italian ones with comfy webbing and little head shade that you move around. Clean beach towels every day.
Beach bar right next to you so good for drinks and toilet (not very clean as public use). But staff running food and bar very slow so don't wait until you are hungry before sitting down! Small menu but specials always looked nice.
Bar inside hotel has a comfortable outside terrace. Singing trio on Saturday night. Nice cocktail menu but only one barman so very slow service. Anticipate when you need another drink and order in advance!
Across from front door is path to village centre. There are souvenir shops, supermarkets, pubs, cocktail bars, small restaurants if you fancy a change from the hotel.
Bus stop right outside hotel front door. Buy bus tickets (need one for each way) from hotel shop/reception for 10kuna. You can buy on bus but it costs you 12kuna on board. Always get a seat as you are the first on the bus. This is important when you get to Lapad and the bus is so busy it looks like London underground at rush hour! Takes about 15 to 20 minutes to get to Dubrovnik old town.
Evenings are perfectly safe in Dubrovnik, and lots of choices for amazing restaurants, bars, ice cream parlours. Try restaurant by harbour with superb food and service. Bus back to hotel is stressful with pushing to get on and likely standing.
A must do is to walk the old town walls. Gets very hot so either do early in morning or early evening. Can take up to 2 hours slowly with lots of photo stops.
Another must do is Lokrum, which is the island that you can see from Dubrovnik. It takes 10 minutes by ferry, which run every half hour. Swimming, sunbathing, botanical gardens, wildlife, monastry ruins etc make for a full day out. If its not too hot climb to the fort at the top of the island with fantastic views of the old town.
We also did a 3 island boat tour. Fun day with fresh fish barbeque lunch.
Lots to do in Dubrovnik by day and by night, with great beach hotel too means I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KareninPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for this thorough comment.
I am glad you enjoyed most of amenities this hotel has to offer.
I apoligize for slow service in moments of ''rush hours''.
I am glad ypu found everything enjoyable and looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

It’s not quite clear why the Dubrovnik Valamar President Hotel is publicized as 4 star hotel.
Usually 4 stars mean comfort + aesthetics but a part of this hotel has nothing to do either with comfort or aesthetics. It is strange, but different parts of this hotel have different stars: e.g. the double room on the ground floor (which is called the 5th floor, the floor numbering is in reverse order, as the main entrance – reception is the top floor e.g. the 2nd floor is located above the 3rd floor) is hardly 2** . We found hairs on the dressing table, the floor in the room was shabby and a sort of greasy, so it was unpleasant to walk barefoot on it, the bathroom was out of date and uncomfortable, the corridor leading to the room was like underground parking place).
We complained to the receptionist, who was very friendly and the next morning he gave us the double room on the 2nd floor (i.e. upstairs) – clean and newly renovated – 3*** for sure. The beach in front of hotel is also 3***.
There are three things worthy 4**** in Dubrovnik Valamar President Hotel are: The view, the breakfast, and the front wall of the building!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank libra30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2011

Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for taking time to write a review.
Your comments are of great importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
I am sorry you feel that different parts of hotel deserve different categorization but I must mention couple of facts about our hotel – ground floor is 1st floor and not 5th as you mentioned, reception is situated on top floor – 7th floor as the hotel is built cascadly according to the terrain (thus creating feeling that every floor is in fact ground floor) so every room has the same spectacular view over Elaphiti islands and sunset.

As you stayed in our hotel in 2010. I would be delighted to welcome you again so we can amend the overall picture you have about our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Perfect location, spotlessly clean and well maintained room overlooking the private beach, staff always available and attentive, the restaurant was among the best I have seen, with mains in the buffet cooked to order, and despite the ambience the bar prices were as cheap as pavement cafes. The best hotel we visited in Croatia.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrinklytripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Guest,

i am delighted to read about your impressions in our hotel.
Thanky for choosing Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel.
All the best and see you again.

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The hotel is in a good location for Old Town as is on the No 6 bus route. Spectacular views from bedrooms and food is good. However the beach is not private and was packed with local families who would sit against the sunbeds even if you were lying on one. The beach and sea is stony and there are ladders in place on the jetty to assist in getting into the water without having to walk on the stones. The local children were jumping off the jetty onto swimmers and it was impossible to use the ladders as the children quite simply pushed the older swimmers off!! Thus it was impossible to swim from the ladders and walking into the sea was very difficult. On that basis I would not recommend this hotel as a beach resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment.
I am sorry to hear you were put off by children on the beach, unfortunately it was last day of school and those days all the beaches in Dubrovnik are crowded by the celebrating children.
On the other hand I am glad you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service and other amenities. I do hope that this inconvience at the beach will not diminish the overall picture of the hotel.
Hope to see you again in near future.

Kind regards,

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Not long returned from a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.The comments made by the last couple of reviewers were exactly what i was going to say . I found all the hotel staff friendly and helpful .public areas and bedrooms were very clean. We ate in the hotel and the quality of the food was excellent but the variety did not change much over the week.This was our first visit to Dubrovnik and we would certainly go back and stay in the President again.
Thanks to all the hotel staff for their great service

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms level 4 and 5 have best terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear guest,

thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are glad to read such wonderful comments and we will keep doing our best to make your next visit also a memorable one.

best wishes from Dubrovnik,
Ivan Sabljić
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The Valamar President Hotel should be number 1 on TripAdvisor. Everything about our stay was excellent from the initial booking right through to check out.

We booked the “romantic package” which was fantastic value as it included a large sea view room with a lovely terrace overlooking the ocean, massages, dinner for two, bottle of (really lovely) Croatian sparkling wine, breakfast served on the terrace and a welcome drink.

When searching for a hotel one of the reasons we chose this hotel was because the manager takes the time to respond to every comment on TripAdvisor be it good or bad and so we were not surprised to see the manager (Ivan) in the hotel every day – he was always present at breakfast and you would frequently bump into him as he did his walks around the hotel.

The hotel is located in Lapad on the Babin kuk peninsula which is about a 15-20 min bus ride into town which costs €1 or a taxi to the old town costs €10….

The food is great – the buffet breakfast is second to none with everything from typical continental breakfast to cooked breakfast, some of the nicest breads I have eaten and to top that there is a chef who will cook omelettes, pancakes or eggs to your liking. We had lunch at the hotel one day and it was lovely – Caesar salad is particularly yummy… Dinner is very good too – coming from Ireland we have high expectations in relation to meat; my partner had steak one night and it was to die for… It melted in your mouth as it was cooked to perfection….

The spa facilities are first class; the outdoor Jacuzzi is tucked away in a secluded corner with lots of trees and tropical plants… The swimming pool, steam room, Finnish sauna, Turkish baths and relaxation area are all immaculate and so inviting… The staff in the spa are lovely too – I had the hot stone massage which was fantastic.

The staff are all so lovely, warm & friendly and cannot do enough to help you although I would agree with the previous post that there was one waiter who was not as friendly as the others. The hotel is spotless, never a thing out of place.

The one small suggestion I would make is that the hotel should consider including some international wine on their menu rather than just Croatian wine although this is not unique to the hotel as it was almost impossible to find any restaurant serving international wine.

I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough and would love to return there again. Fabulous hotel, fabulous location and fabulous country.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Pamela,

it is always a pleasure to read such wonderful review. I wish to thank you for taking time to do so.

Each and every one of us is very proud to make our guests most satisfied.

thank you and until next time
best regards,
Ivan Sabljić
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £118 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing