We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel but an awful smelling room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice hotel but an awful smelling room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

I went to croatia with a good friend in June. for our last night in the country we deceided to splash out and stay somewhere really nice, so after reading around on Tripadvisor we booked this hotel. it is a nice hotel with a really interesting design and all the rooms have seaviews. unfortunately, despite us booking a twin room and indicating on the booking that we wanted 2 beds, when we arrived in our room it only had a queen bed that could not be separated. we rang reception and asked to be shifted to a twin room. after a bit of delay we were shifted to a twin room 426b. it clearly hadn't been used for a while because there was a coating of dust on the card on the bed. more of a problem though was that is smelt replusive. we aired it out for a while hoping that would help but when it didn't we rang reception again and asked to be shifted because of the smell. i have travelled a lot, and slept in some odd smelling hotel rooms, but nothing like this. i have never asked to be shifted from a room before, other than when the bedding configuration wasn't right. the smell was hard to describe, a cross between sewage and a dead animal. when we rang front desk we were told there were no other twin rooms available in the hotel but they could send down housekeeping with an airfreshener. this did not help. in hindsight i wish i had thought to ask if they had another double room and asked for/paid for an extra room so that my friend could go back to the first room we were allocated and i could go to another room. needless to say we didn't sleep well, the comfy beds and pillows could not make up for the smell.
the following morning my friend went back to the front desk, where a new staff member was on duty, and mentioned to him about being in a room that smelt terrible and he knew immediately which room we had been in without her saying, so clearly there is a known problem with the room.
yes, the location and the sunset was lovely, but our stay was spoiled by our room. we also found the restaurant staff in the evening slow, rude and unhelpful. food was okay.
the beach was a nice pebble beach with nice sunloungers/towels/umbrellas supplied for hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingkiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear guest,

I thank you very much for writing a review and I apologize deeply for unpleasant experience you had during your stay regarding bad smell in your room which was a result of very bad circumstances.
Unfortunately we had burst pipe in hotel very close to the room you were allocated into after being transfered from double bedroom. Unfortunately that was our only vacancy left.
We have repaired the mentioned abruption but the smell preserved for some time till it completely disolved.
Once again I am sorry and I do hope you will visit us again so we can extend our courtesy as it is our continuous mission.
Greeting to Whangarei, New Zealand

Best regards,
Ivan Sabljic,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    366
    85
    25
    8
See reviews for
198
758
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We had perfect weather while staying at Dubrovnik for 4 days. The hotel is situated about 5 kls from the town centre however this was never a problem as there is a bus stop right out the front of the the hotel with buses going every 30 minutes.

The hotel is amazing. It was built in the 70's but still stands up well. The design is very interesting with every room having a view. We had a romantic package ( even though we are in our 50's ) so we had rose petals on the bed and champagne on arrival. We think we had the best room in the hotel as it was at the far end ( room 444 ). The view is absolutely amazing, with the sun getting up at around 5.30am and not setting until around 9.00pm - the sunsets were fantastic.

The room was comfortable without being amazing. It was very well cleaned every day and our cleaner was very friendly and polite. We did in fact find the female staff through the hotel to be friendly and very efficient. We couldn't say that for the staff ( men ) at the pool bar who were rude, and basically useless unless pushed. They spent most of the time standing around doing nothing. When we checked out the man settling our account forgot to give us back our passports which could have been difficult if my wife had not remembered ( as they hold your passports while you stay ). My suggestion is get a full staff of women they are far more attentive.

Food !!!!!!!!!! Well breakfast was ordinary ( very ordinary ) the orange juice must have been so watered down it had no taste and the selection and quality of food left a lot to be desired. I know that Croatia is not known for it's wonderful food as is Italy however I think they can do better. Better to go into the old town though we didn't find the food there all that flash either - maybe we expect too much.

The beach - well the water was a clear as could be and 25C. Getting in there was the difficult thing. Most of the beached in Dubrovnik are pebbles/ rock so walking down the beach hurts the uninitiated feet. Suggest buying a pair of aquatic slippers if staying thre a few days.

The Valmar goup owns three hotels in the areas. I'm not sure if you are suppose to but we strolled over the the Club Hotel and had a couple of lovely swims in their fresh water pool for a change and a couple of beers and pandcakes. You can use your pool towel from the President at the Club hotel, but we suggest returning it to the President to get your towel card back as one of the pool guys had abit of a wobbley. So not sure if you allowed but it worked well for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spj709Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear guest,

thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I truly hope that we will have a chance to host you again.

Kind regards,

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel from June 21st through June 26th, 2011. Overall the hotel is very nice. They have a good, helpful front desk staff. The rooms are well appointed and kept very clean (even though the double bed is actually two singles pushed together) with nice furnishings, a mini bar, safe and a sitting area and with extremely nice balconies overlooking the sea and the beach. The beach is not sand, but is rock which we found we actually prefer because there is no sand to stick you. The beach is clean and the water is crystal clear. The beach lounge chairs are nice with individual canopies, the hotel beach towels are large and they also provide large beach umbrellas. Chairs were always available. The beach bar and restaurant was a bit dissappointing. The service was slow -- the waiters hardly ever checked on us and it took a long time to get drinks and food and the check. The food was only average at best and sometimes very bad -- we couldn't figure out what kind of "meat" was on the hamburger so we just stuck to fries and salads from then on out. The hotel buffet breakfast was good with a large variety of choices - even delicious smoked salmon. However, again, just like at the beach restaurant, the wait staff who poured coffee and set up tables were a bit disorganized. They were always working but seemed to get very little done. I always had to wait for coffee service. Better organization would solve the problem. There was always "entertainment" in the bar area inside at night but we passed by a couple of times and it was always very bad entertainment and music - dated and very unentertaining. It was only a 15 minute very nice walk to the closest town along the sea. A bus for the Walled City of Dubrovnik is very conveniently located right outside of the hotel and discounted bus tickets can be bought at the front desk. The bus conveniently starts at the hotel every 10-15 minutes and then picks up passengers along the way and ends at the Walled City. We had three massage treatments in the hotel's spa which were all very well done and a good value. In fact, the massages are some of the best we've ever had. Our massage therapist's name is Miro (?) and he's very good. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone staying in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: All of the room face the sea so there's very few bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz_Stelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Liz,

Thank you for writing review.
I am glad we fulfilled your expectations and hope to see you next time when we will try to exceed them.
Lot of greetings,

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Quite a small airport so quick to get through immigration and collect bags. About 25 minutes from the airport. Good roads.
Excellant porter service on arrival. Reception very helpful and friendly. Shown to room which had double bed. Sharing with friend so booked twin (through Expedia). Called Reception and they immediately came to take us to another room.
We were on second floor which is one floor up from beach. Hotel built on terraces on a cliff face to lifts are a bit strange as they go up/down at an angle. All rooms have sea view. Both of those that we saw had this.
Good sized rooms. Big bathroom. Good strong shower. Freebie bathroom toiletries poor. But okay if you run out of something. Put towels in bath or you may have to wait a couple of days to get clean towels. Beds/pillows really comfy. Very good air conditioning used with ceiling fan for an extra blast of cool air. TV has some english news channels. Loads of wardrobe space. Comfortable and big settee in living room area, with table and big dressing table area. Mini bar/fridge can be used to put small water bottles. Terrace big with table and chairs to watch sun going down. Happy with room.
Breakfast included with room. Excellant value for money. Huge amount of choice - juices, cereals, fresh fruit, cold cuts, cheese, breads, jams, pancakes, bacon/sausage/eggs/veggies. Never run out of food even though its a buffet. Coffee service a bit slow at weekend but got better when weekday staff arrived.
Ate in the buffet restaurant a couple of nights. Again very good quality food with immense choice. Cost about £25. Not bad for a 10 course buffet! Good choice of wines. House wine palatable and local.
Pool is indoor but with large open glass doors. Cooling swim after busy hot days out. Very clean and not used much. Jacuzzi in little wooded area quite cute. Good sized sun terrace outside pool if you want to get away from noisy local kids who arrive at the beach after school around 4pm every day.
Beach is pebbly so go to the Mini-Mart in the village square and buy some plastic/webbed swim shoes. Cost about £5 but you can't get in sea without them. Water nice and clean. Beach says private but locals are allowed to come on but cannot use sunbeds. Sunbeds very nice italian ones with comfy webbing and little head shade that you move around. Clean beach towels every day.
Beach bar right next to you so good for drinks and toilet (not very clean as public use). But staff running food and bar very slow so don't wait until you are hungry before sitting down! Small menu but specials always looked nice.
Bar inside hotel has a comfortable outside terrace. Singing trio on Saturday night. Nice cocktail menu but only one barman so very slow service. Anticipate when you need another drink and order in advance!
Across from front door is path to village centre. There are souvenir shops, supermarkets, pubs, cocktail bars, small restaurants if you fancy a change from the hotel.
Bus stop right outside hotel front door. Buy bus tickets (need one for each way) from hotel shop/reception for 10kuna. You can buy on bus but it costs you 12kuna on board. Always get a seat as you are the first on the bus. This is important when you get to Lapad and the bus is so busy it looks like London underground at rush hour! Takes about 15 to 20 minutes to get to Dubrovnik old town.
Evenings are perfectly safe in Dubrovnik, and lots of choices for amazing restaurants, bars, ice cream parlours. Try restaurant by harbour with superb food and service. Bus back to hotel is stressful with pushing to get on and likely standing.
A must do is to walk the old town walls. Gets very hot so either do early in morning or early evening. Can take up to 2 hours slowly with lots of photo stops.
Another must do is Lokrum, which is the island that you can see from Dubrovnik. It takes 10 minutes by ferry, which run every half hour. Swimming, sunbathing, botanical gardens, wildlife, monastry ruins etc make for a full day out. If its not too hot climb to the fort at the top of the island with fantastic views of the old town.
We also did a 3 island boat tour. Fun day with fresh fish barbeque lunch.
Lots to do in Dubrovnik by day and by night, with great beach hotel too means I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KareninPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this thorough comment.
I am glad you enjoyed most of amenities this hotel has to offer.
I apoligize for slow service in moments of ''rush hours''.
I am glad ypu found everything enjoyable and looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

It’s not quite clear why the Dubrovnik Valamar President Hotel is publicized as 4 star hotel.
Usually 4 stars mean comfort + aesthetics but a part of this hotel has nothing to do either with comfort or aesthetics. It is strange, but different parts of this hotel have different stars: e.g. the double room on the ground floor (which is called the 5th floor, the floor numbering is in reverse order, as the main entrance – reception is the top floor e.g. the 2nd floor is located above the 3rd floor) is hardly 2** . We found hairs on the dressing table, the floor in the room was shabby and a sort of greasy, so it was unpleasant to walk barefoot on it, the bathroom was out of date and uncomfortable, the corridor leading to the room was like underground parking place).
We complained to the receptionist, who was very friendly and the next morning he gave us the double room on the 2nd floor (i.e. upstairs) – clean and newly renovated – 3*** for sure. The beach in front of hotel is also 3***.
There are three things worthy 4**** in Dubrovnik Valamar President Hotel are: The view, the breakfast, and the front wall of the building!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank libra30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for taking time to write a review.
Your comments are of great importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
I am sorry you feel that different parts of hotel deserve different categorization but I must mention couple of facts about our hotel – ground floor is 1st floor and not 5th as you mentioned, reception is situated on top floor – 7th floor as the hotel is built cascadly according to the terrain (thus creating feeling that every floor is in fact ground floor) so every room has the same spectacular view over Elaphiti islands and sunset.

As you stayed in our hotel in 2010. I would be delighted to welcome you again so we can amend the overall picture you have about our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Perfect location, spotlessly clean and well maintained room overlooking the private beach, staff always available and attentive, the restaurant was among the best I have seen, with mains in the buffet cooked to order, and despite the ambience the bar prices were as cheap as pavement cafes. The best hotel we visited in Croatia.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrinklytripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear Guest,

i am delighted to read about your impressions in our hotel.
Thanky for choosing Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel.
All the best and see you again.

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

The hotel is in a good location for Old Town as is on the No 6 bus route. Spectacular views from bedrooms and food is good. However the beach is not private and was packed with local families who would sit against the sunbeds even if you were lying on one. The beach and sea is stony and there are ladders in place on the jetty to assist in getting into the water without having to walk on the stones. The local children were jumping off the jetty onto swimmers and it was impossible to use the ladders as the children quite simply pushed the older swimmers off!! Thus it was impossible to swim from the ladders and walking into the sea was very difficult. On that basis I would not recommend this hotel as a beach resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment.
I am sorry to hear you were put off by children on the beach, unfortunately it was last day of school and those days all the beaches in Dubrovnik are crowded by the celebrating children.
On the other hand I am glad you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service and other amenities. I do hope that this inconvience at the beach will not diminish the overall picture of the hotel.
Hope to see you again in near future.

Kind regards,

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing