We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with gorgeous beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Although the building of the hotel seemed rather old and the interior rather soulless, this hotel has several major advantages. For me the first one was the perfect private beach (the fact that it wasn't sand didn't bother me much) and the gorgeous view from the hotel. You can really experience the full beauty of Adriatic see at this beach and the view from every room is stunning! The second one is location pretty close to Dubrovnik. We also really enjoyed the Spa. А little drawback for me was that the pool is inside and the access to the pool is through the Spa only. If you like water sports you an take a very pleasant walk about 10 minutes down the coast to the nearby hotel. The breakfasts were tasty and plentiful (again - gorgeous view from the restaurant's terrace), but for dinners we preferred to travel to Dubrovnik. Lastly, the stuff was always helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmileyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel and the rooms are great, the views are simply stunning and are worth staying for on their own. We were only on b&b so can't comment on food although breakfast as good, the usual European take on buffet and there are a couple of good restaurants nearby (Komin and levanat are both worth a visit)

It's easy to get into the old town via the number six bus from just outside the hotel but expect a scrum when you get the return one as it gets very busy and everyone just piles on so don't be English and try to queue.

There were only two downsides really, the terrace bar is really slow, the staff are great but stretched to thin and it can take 1/2 an hour to get a drink but the beach was the real let down, the hotel advertises itself as a romantic oasis of calm and the hotel is but the beach is far from, when we were there it was packed with kids and certainly wasn't calm or romantic, small thing really though and the views easily outweighed it, the superior room we had was lovely too

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cidermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear guests,

thank you very much for taking the time and pointing out all the ups and downs of your holiday. As you said small things do matter and can make a big difference in how ones holiday can end.
I appreciate all you said and have done some changes for the better I hope.
The beach was occupied with half a class of kids as it was their last day of school, so it was a one day occasion. I apologise for this once again.

Hope you will choose our hotel again if you get the chance to come to Dubrovnik.

All the best from all the staff !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked a 'Romantic Room' and it had stunning views over the bay with excellent facilities, tea/coffee supplied etc., (only thing missing was milk). Bathroom is beginning to look a bit "dated" but nothing wrong with it and all worked well. Bit of a hike from the room to the lift/stairs but good exercise after the huge breakfast on offer :-). Staff at check-in were efficient and friendly. Waiter in restaurant could do with a few lessons in 'customer relations' a friendly welcoming smile would be appreciated. Hotel is well situated with a bus that stops outside and takes you to the old town (No. 6). Ate in their restaurant and had the most delicous seafood risotta ever, highly recommend you try that. Would certainly return to this hotel if in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Go for a Romantic Room, worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear guests,

it's lovely to see we have tourists from all over the world specially from lovely but far away Australia. Thank you for choosing our hotel while in Dubrovnik and for all the nice compliments too. You are right about the bathroom but we are getting brand new ones after we close this autumn.
I am really glad you enjoyed our seafood risotto so much and for advertising it to all the other reviewers.
I hope you come our way again, as it will be a delight to see you in the future.

All the best from Dubrovnik and Valamar.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We loved the President hotel. The setting of the hotel was perfect for a relaxing vacation. The food was great and the staff were amazing - especially John at the front desk who looked after all our needs. We loved the old city especially the walk around the city walls. If you have time we highly recommend day trips to Kotor and Mostar. We rented a car and enjoyed the the two day trips we made to these special places.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larryisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear guests,

I'm glad you had a great time in Dubrovnik and on the excursions. The best news of course is you loved our hotel and the staff. Thank you in John's name and all the rest of the crew ... I'm proud to have them working in President.
Thank you once again for the great review and it will be a pleasure having you back if in Dubrovnik any time.

Best wishes,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. It is in quite a secluded area with not much nearby. However if its some relaxation you're looking for, this is the perfect place. Lovely large room on the 5th floor with large balcony & amazing views. Plenty of loungers & very peaceful at the pool & beach terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bailey2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and you are absolutely right when saying this is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation. I'm glad you liked your room and the long terrace with the lovely view.
Hope this is a good motive for you to come and enjoy yourself again some time.

Best regards from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The President hotel offers extraordinary views from every spacious room, use of the entire resort's facilities (the wellness centres are incredible), and direct access to the Adriatic sea. I enjoyed the beach in the morning, the Chroma Hotel's outdoor pool in the afternoon, and a massage in the evening. The bar offers live music. Even if UNESCO's magnificent Dubrovnik was not 15 minutes away, I would rate the hotel worth visiting on its merit alone.

To go into the Old Town, just hop on the public bus (station is just outside the hotel front door) and you arrive in 15 minutes. These buses run 4 times an hour and the cost is minimal.

The best part of a hotel stay here, however, is the service. I sleep in hotels over half of the year and I have not encountered a more helpful and efficient front desk staff. They extended themselves beyond their job descriptions. They as well as the dining and cleaning staff are to be commended for top service with a smile.

I hope to return again and again.

Room Tip: Every room is GREAT--the hotel has been designed to offer a sea view to all guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palindr0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear guest,

it was a pleasure to read your review and of course it makes me and all the staff members proud of our work results.
This especially goes for the polite and smiling staff, the clenliness and the good food.
I am glad you felt so comfortable with us and enjoyed your stay for the maximum.
Hope you get the chance to visit us again very soon.

Until next time, take care and all the best from Dubrovnik !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed for three nights as part of a tour of Croatia with Titan. The hotel is at the end of the Babin Kuk peninsula in a quiet location. There are two other Valamar hotels nearby and it is possible to use their facilities. Their Tirena Hotel is more suitable for families with young children.
We had a standard room, 317 in the South wing. I agree with all the good things others say about this hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable, the views are fantastic and the food is excellent.
As shown in my photos, the hotel is on a hillside. There is a long central stairway with an outside funicular "lift" at each side. On the North side the hillside is steep and the terrace for a room on one level is on the roof of the room below. However, on the South side, where we were, the slope is not so steep. The room's terrace is on a bridge and then there is an inaccessable garden on the roof of the level below. (You can see this best in the aerial photo on the hotel's website.) Because of this, we could not look down to the beach, only out to sea.
One nice touch is that you get a choice of three sorts of pillow. The ones in the room are very soft, but we phoned reception and firmer ones were delivered in 10 minutes.
I am not sure how old the hotel is, but we talked to one couple who have come each year for 17 years. After this time, in some areas the hotel needs maintenance and a facelift.
Our greatest concern was that the grab handle for the bath/shower was very loose. It is awkward to get in and out of the bath because it is high above floor level and there is a wide marble surround. We needed to hold on to something, and we could not trust the grab handle. Also, our wash basin was chipped in several places.
Another safety concern was that the non-slip backing on the bedside mats was almost completely detached. They slipped around on the wooden floor and were unsafe. We did not use them.
The paint was peeling off our room wall in a few places. Also there was an unpleasant musty damp smell in the corridor outside our room.
In the dining room, the toaster at breakfast did not work on day one, and it was not repaired or replaced during our stay.
Despite these issues, we enjoyed our stay very much.
Tips 1: There is red and white Valamar house wine available in the restaurant, but it is not shown in the wine list. It is very acceptable and at 65 kuna a bottle (£7), or 20 kuna for 20ml, it is half the price of the cheapest wine in the list.
Tip 2: If you plan to take the bus into Dubrovnik, it is cheaper to buy your tickets at the hotel reception than to pay on the bus. (You need to get a second ticket for the return journey.) On the bus, you put the ticket into a machine by the driver, then take it back after it has been stamped.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear guests,

what a detailed novel you have written, thank you for the time and patience. Thank you for the tips you saw and thought should be fixed and for the compliments too.
The maintenace is being done on a daily basis, but there are issues that require investment and a closed hotel, which shall be done this winter, such as new bathrooms.
Hope you'll visit us again and enjoy all the lovely things we are planning on doing in the near future.

Best regards from Dubrovnik!

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,984 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £125 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing