We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach at the Valamar President”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Beach at the Valamar President”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We did not stay at the President Hotel but we went to its pebbled beach to see how it’s able to get the Blue Flag recognition. The reception staff was not that accommodating us. We asked her the direction on where the beach is, and she just pointed the general direction to us. Luckily, we met a guest on the way to the beach, and she told us that we should ask for a pass from the reception area in order to have access to the lift going down to the beach area. We went there in the afternoon and the wave is quite strong, so we didn’t swim at all. We just took some pictures and then go back to Lacroma Valamar where we’re checked in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tansally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for visit us, even if it was just the beach. Sorry to hear the sea was rough that day, so you didn't enjoy a swim as it is very clean and warm.

I apologise if you didn't understand the receptionists instructions to the beach very well.

Thank you for visiting Dubrovnik and Valamar Lacroma where I'm sure you enjoyed your stay very much.
Hope next time you decide to stay at the Valamar Dubrovnik President for a change.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    415
    100
    30
    9
See reviews for
236
884
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed with both the quality of the hotel and the high standards of service and cleanliness. It was placed right on the beach although, as with most Croation beaches, was not sandy.

Breakfast was excellent as was the entertainment nightly on the terrace bar, which was ideally placed to watch amazing sunsets. Free wifi was a definite plus point.

The lifts were a very novel idea and good fun, but at the same time were very slow!

The only negative comment was that the hotel was a fair distance from the old town. Although there was regular bus service from right outside the hotel, it was often crowded and slow. It was also a shame that there was no airport transportation directly from the hotel.
However, we were generally impressed and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boeing747SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear guests,

I am glad you've gone back home full of impressions and positive comments about the service, cleanliness, food offer etc.
Thank you for the kind review which I am sure will help others to make up their minds easier if having doubts where to go for a holiday.
Hope you come back to Dubrovnik and Valamar Dubrovnik President in the future.

All the best.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Situated in Babin Kuk all bedrooms have spacious balconies which face the seafront taking in wonderful views of the coast, islands and beautiful sunset. Some are more private than others and are great for a quiet evening with a bottle of wine relaxing at sunset. The two plastic chairs only reclined partially and would be improved by full recliners.
The rooms are of a good size with a seating area (sofas) and table and chairs. Wardrobe and drawer space is also plentiful. Lighting is very good in the room which is unusual for most Hotels.
There is a desk in the room which I would expect is always used as a dressing table but lacks one important item – a mirror. The only mirror being nearer the bathroom and of course you have to stand up and walk to the mirror to use it. The floor is wooden and along with the rest of the room kept very clean by the staff. The bathroom is the only area which lets the accommodation down as it needs refurbishment. Although of good size we both found it a challenge to get in and out of the bath / shower area without falling over (we are both very agile). The room TV (CRT) is large enough with a selection of news channels (CNN, Sky news, BBC world news & RT) in English. Room air conditioning works well and the temperature is controlled by the hotel but cool enough
We did have a problem with our first room and we were relocated to another room. Our issue was resolved quickly, treated seriously and addressed satisfactorily. The customer service was excellent and a credit to the hotel and country. I wish the service standards were as high in the UK.
The evening buffet is of good quality and quite varied. We only ate there once and were impressed. There is House Wine on offer at reasonable value.
There is an excellent indoor pool with its own sunbed area on floor 5 and an outside area at sea level with swimming in the sea on a stony beach, handy to have shoes to walk on but not essential. Sunbeds, towels and parasol provided when you show a card given to you by reception. This area does get quite busy and is used all hours to late in the evening approx. 8:30 / 9 pm. The outside restaurant does serve reasonable value food and drink again with good service from all staff.
There is an inclined lift to get from reception (floor 7) to your room and the ground floor (beach).
Access to Dubrovnik old town Pile gate is via the No 6 which the first and last stops each way. Tickets can be bought from the shop near reception for 3 Kuna's cheaper than purchase on the bus. You next exact fare on the bus of 15 Kuna’s each way.
There is a small shopping / bar area 10 minutes walk outside the Hotel (signposted) and has one very good restaurant (Lindos) but there are others which we did not try. Most restaurants serve similar food such as grilled fish, squid. Meat kebabs, steak, risotto, salads, mixed seafood, mussels. Wine also good value. Two mini markets were you can buy wine, water, food etc. if required.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trebor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for staying at President hotel and taking all that time to write your impressions in detail. Sorry if there were small details you didn't find satisfactory but I see you had a great time in the hotel and in Dubrovnik as well.
Hope this brings you back to us again one day.

All the best and kind regards from all the staff.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel facilities and rooms are excellent.nice pool and terrass area. a bit far from the old town, but busses run regularly. great breakfast. the lift is too slow though and the signage in the hotel poor. I can recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lenita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for pointing out all the things you liked and the issues you saw as a problem.
The hotel is situated on a peninsula right on the beach and is about 10 - 15 minutes drive by bus from the Old city, which I think is not a high price to pay for the piece and quiet we get together with the lovely clean sea on our blue flag beach.
Next winter we should be going into renovation and getting more new lifts toghether with the panoramic ones we have now, so this will spead things up too.

Once again thank you for chosing President hotel for your vacation and hope to see you in the future.

regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Dubrovnik is superb, the hotel is itself is all the good things people have said, pleasant staff, polite, helpful. Its location for a sea view is spot on however. I thought the beach was distinctly average and uninviting made from landscaped builders shingle. They have made the best of a bad job, the coast line is pretty rugged. It's location is a bit out of the way however the buses are regular and cheap. The swimming pool balcony area needs a bar, it is very plain, the evening entertainment is mind numbingly dull and boring. We had a good week but wouldn't go back there. The back of the hotel has a 1970s architectural design appearance, doesn't quite looked the finished product.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneralGwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing with us all the good and bad sides of your holiday.
I appreciate very much all you've said and always try to look into all the negative points and solve them as soon as possible.
More eyes see more things, so all our guests have to say is treasure for me and my staff and we try to do our best to eliminate all week points that could errase from time to time.

All the best to you and hope you do change your mind about coming back.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I had an amazing time at the Valamar President. It is not about full blown luxury, but rather about simplicity and practicality.

We had a very spacious room with wonderful sea views.

Service is overall good to very good. The stronger points are reception, breakfast, and housekeeping. However, both Ante (reception) as well as Marija (restaurant/bar) made this stay particularly wonderful. They made us feel both welcome and at home.

The hotel is just by the beach which is wonderful. Sunsets are just beautiful. The beach is not a sandy one, and some rubber shoes are ideal to brave the stones (I deliberately am not using the word 'pebbles'). Beautifully transparent sea. You swim amongst the fish.

Staff at the beach bar are very slow and do not see the client as a priority. This is rather annoying but you just get used to it. Even when the hotel day manager was there, they were happier to chat amongst themselves, him included, rather than serve the clients. However, everyone is rather affable and pleasant.

Hotel is located by bus stop where you can get the number 6 bus that will take you to the Pile gate in Old Town Dubrovnik in 15mins. There are regular buses all day.

I would definitely go back and strongly recommend the hotel with its quirky architecture.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear guest,

I am very glad you found the time to send your review to Trip advisor and to point out all the great things as well as the ones that you thought should be improved.
I immediatelly looked into the beach bar problem you mentioned and had a meeting with all the staff, so there was an instant improvement seen.

A big hello from Ante and MArija and all the other staff, hoping to see you again !

Best wishes,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Although all rooms are facing the beach yet the majority have a very long landing in front of rooms allowing view to the water only if you go to far end of balcony. Important points as follows:
1-Arriving by bus to Dubrovnik, take bus 1 to last stop then bus 6 to last stop. Bus 6 is very available and is just outside the hotel and takes you to old city[20 min] or Lapad [10 min] for shopping and nice walks.[Bus 6 costs 12 kunas per ride,can buy from Kiosks or hotel reception, costs 15 kunas if you buy on Bus].
2-Beaches in Dubrovnik including the hotel's beach are pebble beaches...my advise is buy a pair of beach shoes as early as possible, widely available and costs =$10.
3-Breakfast excellent choices, highly enjoyable.
4-No one tells you that there is a tremendous walk with breath taking views from hotel to Lapad,as you are facing the beach walk to the right and follow the beach line about 3 km..do not miss this
5-Sea food is good there and the Coffee in Croatia is Superb..amazingly good wherever you go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no long landing in front of them as some rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip5adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for finding the time to write and share your tips with other reviewers. It is always helpfull for people to read things like this as it helps them make up their mind where in the end to go.
I see your choice is a balcony more then a terrace in front of your room but this is a personal preferance of each guest. The views are great anyhow.

It was lovely having you with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Durbovnik President genral manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,828 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,296 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing