We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

The standout feature of this hotel is the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff.
The staff are rotated around the hotel very cleverly so when you attend for breakfast on the let's say 10 th consecutive day you do not meet the same staff , thus keeping a freshness in relationships between guests and the staff.
The breakfast and dinner buffets are first class, from the non repetitive music, to the consistent quality of the food and more importantly the freshness the food. It is impressive to see the meat cut, the fish fried, the risotto and pasta made in front of your eyes. The beach was a major positive also and while the staff there had more of an edge, this was to be welcomed as it is a public beach and guests are prioritised for sun beds and umbrellas etc. Free wifi, tap water is drinkable, very few flies
( what kind of insecticide is being used ...), efficient fridge in room to stop chocolate from melting and keeping water cool,
Being at the start of the bus route is very handy as you will always get a seat, bus is every 10 minutes, cardio gym needs better AC and more machines. Pool on 5th floor needs to be cleaned more often. ( gym and pool still very good features currently) Other guests are pleasant and relaxed, which is not always the case in hotels we have stayed in on holidays , credit for this must go to this hotel and the management.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this impressive review and I am glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves here with us. I see you took notice of many details not everyone sees specially considering the organisational part of the hotel and up to the relaxed atmosphere we always try to create.
Of course there's always things that can be better, so that's our daily task.
Once again thank you on behalf of all the staff and hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    364
    83
    24
    8
See reviews for
193
751
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, PA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We booked a trip on Grand Circle to Croatia and Slovenia and in Dubrovnik, Croatia, we stayed at the Valamar President. It is located right on a pebbly beach with views of the Adriatic from every room. The staff was very nice and the food, especially the breakfast buffet, was excellent. It is close to but not right inside the walled city. Bus #6 takes you right there and departs hourly. We really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear guests,

I am glad you had the chance to stay with us during your tour and of course it's nice to hear you enjoyed everything we offered.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and I hope you do so in the future again.

All the very best from President staff !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our first visit to Croatia and we could not have chosen a better hotel in which to stay. On our arrival the very helpful John on the front desk set the tone, and we found all of the staff to be the same - both friendly and helpful. The standards in the hotel were excellent in every area and the service we encountered as good as the several cruise holidays we have been on. Views from the bedrooms are superb and the standard of cleanliness very high. (our one gripe in the room was the difficulty getting in and out of the bath/shower, but a small complaint)
One negative points I saw previously on Trip Advisor had been addressed - ie the influx of locals on to the private beach. This was well dealt with by the staff there who ensured that hotel guests were given priority. We are not normally beach lovers but the set up was so attractive that we found ourselves there every day. Although we usually like to eat out we opted for breakfast and dinner in the hotel - and were very glad. Food at both was first class, buffet style and all freshly cooked with an enormous choice - something to suit everyone. House Wine was excellent and very reasonably priced and dining outside on the beautiful terrace both morning and evening was lovely. Drinks and lunch at the Pool bar were also first class and we were well served by Tomislav and Blaz and all of the other staff both there and all other parts of the hotel.
We have already recommended this hotel to our family and will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan_cannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear guests,

reading your review made me very happy and proud knowing both me and my staff have succeeded and are going into the right direction.
I see you had the time and checked out all our outlets from dining in the restaurant right down to the beach and it's great to know all was on a high level and that we managed to meet your expectations.
Thank you on behalf of all the staff members for visiting our hotel and for all the nice compliments and for recommending us of course.

Hope you come and visit us again sometime soon.

Until then all the very best !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We did not stay at the President Hotel but we went to its pebbled beach to see how it’s able to get the Blue Flag recognition. The reception staff was not that accommodating us. We asked her the direction on where the beach is, and she just pointed the general direction to us. Luckily, we met a guest on the way to the beach, and she told us that we should ask for a pass from the reception area in order to have access to the lift going down to the beach area. We went there in the afternoon and the wave is quite strong, so we didn’t swim at all. We just took some pictures and then go back to Lacroma Valamar where we’re checked in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tansally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for visit us, even if it was just the beach. Sorry to hear the sea was rough that day, so you didn't enjoy a swim as it is very clean and warm.

I apologise if you didn't understand the receptionists instructions to the beach very well.

Thank you for visiting Dubrovnik and Valamar Lacroma where I'm sure you enjoyed your stay very much.
Hope next time you decide to stay at the Valamar Dubrovnik President for a change.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very impressed with both the quality of the hotel and the high standards of service and cleanliness. It was placed right on the beach although, as with most Croation beaches, was not sandy.

Breakfast was excellent as was the entertainment nightly on the terrace bar, which was ideally placed to watch amazing sunsets. Free wifi was a definite plus point.

The lifts were a very novel idea and good fun, but at the same time were very slow!

The only negative comment was that the hotel was a fair distance from the old town. Although there was regular bus service from right outside the hotel, it was often crowded and slow. It was also a shame that there was no airport transportation directly from the hotel.
However, we were generally impressed and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boeing747SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear guests,

I am glad you've gone back home full of impressions and positive comments about the service, cleanliness, food offer etc.
Thank you for the kind review which I am sure will help others to make up their minds easier if having doubts where to go for a holiday.
Hope you come back to Dubrovnik and Valamar Dubrovnik President in the future.

All the best.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Situated in Babin Kuk all bedrooms have spacious balconies which face the seafront taking in wonderful views of the coast, islands and beautiful sunset. Some are more private than others and are great for a quiet evening with a bottle of wine relaxing at sunset. The two plastic chairs only reclined partially and would be improved by full recliners.
The rooms are of a good size with a seating area (sofas) and table and chairs. Wardrobe and drawer space is also plentiful. Lighting is very good in the room which is unusual for most Hotels.
There is a desk in the room which I would expect is always used as a dressing table but lacks one important item – a mirror. The only mirror being nearer the bathroom and of course you have to stand up and walk to the mirror to use it. The floor is wooden and along with the rest of the room kept very clean by the staff. The bathroom is the only area which lets the accommodation down as it needs refurbishment. Although of good size we both found it a challenge to get in and out of the bath / shower area without falling over (we are both very agile). The room TV (CRT) is large enough with a selection of news channels (CNN, Sky news, BBC world news & RT) in English. Room air conditioning works well and the temperature is controlled by the hotel but cool enough
We did have a problem with our first room and we were relocated to another room. Our issue was resolved quickly, treated seriously and addressed satisfactorily. The customer service was excellent and a credit to the hotel and country. I wish the service standards were as high in the UK.
The evening buffet is of good quality and quite varied. We only ate there once and were impressed. There is House Wine on offer at reasonable value.
There is an excellent indoor pool with its own sunbed area on floor 5 and an outside area at sea level with swimming in the sea on a stony beach, handy to have shoes to walk on but not essential. Sunbeds, towels and parasol provided when you show a card given to you by reception. This area does get quite busy and is used all hours to late in the evening approx. 8:30 / 9 pm. The outside restaurant does serve reasonable value food and drink again with good service from all staff.
There is an inclined lift to get from reception (floor 7) to your room and the ground floor (beach).
Access to Dubrovnik old town Pile gate is via the No 6 which the first and last stops each way. Tickets can be bought from the shop near reception for 3 Kuna's cheaper than purchase on the bus. You next exact fare on the bus of 15 Kuna’s each way.
There is a small shopping / bar area 10 minutes walk outside the Hotel (signposted) and has one very good restaurant (Lindos) but there are others which we did not try. Most restaurants serve similar food such as grilled fish, squid. Meat kebabs, steak, risotto, salads, mixed seafood, mussels. Wine also good value. Two mini markets were you can buy wine, water, food etc. if required.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trebor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for staying at President hotel and taking all that time to write your impressions in detail. Sorry if there were small details you didn't find satisfactory but I see you had a great time in the hotel and in Dubrovnik as well.
Hope this brings you back to us again one day.

All the best and kind regards from all the staff.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel facilities and rooms are excellent.nice pool and terrass area. a bit far from the old town, but busses run regularly. great breakfast. the lift is too slow though and the signage in the hotel poor. I can recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lenita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for pointing out all the things you liked and the issues you saw as a problem.
The hotel is situated on a peninsula right on the beach and is about 10 - 15 minutes drive by bus from the Old city, which I think is not a high price to pay for the piece and quiet we get together with the lovely clean sea on our blue flag beach.
Next winter we should be going into renovation and getting more new lifts toghether with the panoramic ones we have now, so this will spead things up too.

Once again thank you for chosing President hotel for your vacation and hope to see you in the future.

regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing