We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views during the day and lovely beach, hotel is average for its price!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful views during the day and lovely beach, hotel is average for its price!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

just got back from a week here in this hotel, the beach is spectacular and the views are amazing, but that is about as far as it goes, we were given two beds pushed together, the room was ok not amazing!!! no fridge to store our own personal drinks only a mini bar and a note saying do not use this for own use!!!! i woke a few times with ants in the room on my bed and around the floors and fridge!!! the room was very dusty and floor was dirty, the couch looks black with dirt and the room could do with a painting, the cleaning staff were very friendly and the recpetion staff was excellent!!!!! they get four stars, there are two brothers who work on the reception one in particular and he was the most helpful person and answered all our questions, other than that all other staffs english is not great and there not very friendly!!, the manager in the resturant did not explain to use that it was a not a meal you had to get up and get your own food, and the waiters are just there to get drinks and clean tables, very quiet and dead hotel at night always had to force myself into old town, no entertainment!!! not lights outside on the balconys on the right where we were staying, overall if you want somewhere with lovely views and beaches during the day and handy bus into town this is the place but too depressing to stay around at night!! bar closes early!!! also lift very very slow we started to use stairs because we were waiting so long, you would miss your flight waiting on them, and no sperate one for luggage and people going to airports, i had to drag my bags upstairs and every lift was full of people going to the beach!!!!! stay at the other valamar hotels because thats all they play on there small tvs in the room!!!

Room Tip: rooms right beside the lift have more light so you can sit out on the balcony, its self service for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle24554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear guest,

I am so sorry to hear about all these things you pointed out and what a shame you didn't come and talk to me while still in the hotel as I am sure we would have worked most of them out.
You are right about the mini bars, as only apartments have fridged that are empty so you can use them for your own goods. The rooms in all hotels that have mini bars are stocked with items for your comfort ( so you do not have to go to the bar for a drink if you do not feel like it ) and it is not recommended to take all the drinks and chocolates out as they loose on their quality and risk melting which in the end could be a health problem.

I apologize once again if everything was not up to your expectations and thank you for the good comments specailly about the reception staff.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    391
    90
    27
    8
See reviews for
212
825
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed two days at this hotel and the first morning we woke up late and missed the breakfast time. We went to the restaurant (late around 30 mins.) to pay and eat something. The restaurant manager welcomed us, the kitchen is closed though and literally "created" us a breakfast while the staff was collecting the service plates. All the staff were quite helpful and kind during our stay.

Regarding the hotel, the rooms were quite big enough, has a wide balcony with a perfect view, bed is comfortable, bathroom is clean. Hotel has its private beach (but not sandy, mostly stones) and more important of all, the transportation to the old city is easy. We traveled with our own car but we parked it on the hotel's carpark (free of charge) and took the bus which is leaving every 10 minutes to the old city from the bus stop exactly in front of the hotel. It is told from the reception that it will be quite difficult to find parking place near the old city so we took their advice. So, if you take the bus no 6, it is the last stop you will hop off just in front of the hotel.

Recommended. 8.4/10.0

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HurolEmre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear guests,

thank you for choosing Valamar Dubrovnik President for your holiday and I am glad you had a good time with us.
If you ever visit Dubrovnik again I hope you come to us and have the time to explore other parts you didn't get the chance this time.

Until your next visit, all the best.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Just got back from this hotel on a B&B basis. The hotel is spotlessly clean and staff are courteous but not overly friendly. Breakfast is good - the usual buffet things including fried eggs cooked to order and omelettes too. My husband likes poached eggs but the egg cook didn't understand what he was asking for so he gave up on that! We only had one evening meal there (at the buffet for 190 kuna each). It was okay but I'm glad I didn't book half board as the restaurant is fine but of an evening it's far too bright and not many people in there. However, there's a good variety of food and the Valamar house white is only 8.50 kuna per bottle which is excellent value. There are enough restaurants in the immediate area to eat somewhere different every night. Outside the hotel to the left of the bus stop is a small park. On the other side of it is a little shopping centre with bars and restaurants - about a 5 minute walk if that. Also, walk across the car park to the right of the hotel doors and follow the coast path for 5 - 10 minutes and you'll come to Lavanas restaurant which is on a terrace looking out to sea. Stunning views.

The outside of the hotel isn't very inspiring to look at but inside it's fine. Walking into reception you're actually on the 7th floor and the rooms and facilities go downwards to the 1st level which is the beach area. All rooms/areas on every floor look out to sea which is gorgeous - sunsets to die for. We only went to the beach once but didn't like it. It's only quite narrow, hard pebbles and lots of sunbeds crammed closely together. So it's very noisy, crowded and you don't feel much in the way of a breeze. By contrast, we switched to sunning ourselves on the pool terrace just outside the indoor swimming pool in the Wellness centre on the 5th floor. Large area, comfy sunbeds, big parasols, tables and very, very quiet. Most days it was empty except for us until about 11.30am then a couple of people would drift in, then they'd go and some others would come. But we mostly had the place to ourselves - the most we counted were 8 of us at one time. It was nice and quiet, stunning views out to sea, and good to cool off under the shower then have a quick dip in the pool. There's no bar on that terrace but there is one just at the top of the steps to one side. We took our own bottles of water and would pop into the gym just next to the pool to refill them from the water dispenser in there - nice and cold! We couldn't understand why more people didn't make use of this terrace especially as you could feel a breeze there with being higher up than the shore.

We had a romantic room which was very clean and the bed was lovely and comfy. You get a bottle of sparkling wine included. It won't be there when you arrive, just tell reception when you want it and it arrives nicely chilled in a big ice bucket. The room terrace is huge and is nice to sit out early morning and evening - too hot during the day! There were a couple of niggles with the room however. One was that there is no vanity mirror on any wall in the room so I had to use the bathroom mirror to dry and style my hair. I didn't like doing this as it was often too warm and steamy if my husband had not long showered or I had to hurry because he was waiting to use the shower. Also, getting into the bath to use the shower can be a little dangerous - it involves a very large step in and out and you worry that you're going to slip so you have to hang on to the towel rail and the wall for dear life. The bathroom tiling and stying is quite dated and worn but it is very clean. Apparently though, the hotel is shutting for the winter for some refurbishment which includes new bathrooms so no doubt these issues will be rectified then. The corridors too are a dated so I hope they're included in the refurbishment.

The 2 furnicular lifts are quirky but it can get tedious at times waiting for them as they're quite slow so it's quicker to use the stairs if you're able to.

We found all the staff to be efficient and polite. They're not 'in your face' or overly gushy which I like - they just do their jobs and do them well. Prices for drinks, meals and snacks are very reasonable for a hotel. There's a minibar in the room but I couldn't tell you how much the cost of the items were as there wasn't a price list anywhere in the room. The shop in the reception sells the bus tickets for the number 6 bus which stops outside the hotel and goes to the Pile gate at the old city. They're 12 kuna each and if you pay on the bus it's 15 kuna. Dubrovnik is a beautiful city but rammed during the day when the cruise ships are in. We made a couple of trips on the bus but didn't go until about 6.30pm when it started to cool down and the cruise ship passengers had left.

We prebooked a taxi to collect us from the airport and take us direct to the hotel (about 40 mins). It cost 250 kuna each way which is less than just grabbing a taxi when you arrive. We arranged for him to pick us up to return to the airport on our final day at 9.30am and he was at the hotel spot on that time. Large, clean, modern cars. We booked via www.taxiservicedubrovnik.com. You don't have to pay a deposit, just pay the driver when he picks you up at the airport and then again when he takes you back there.

All in all we had a great holiday and would recommend this hotel. Not so much if you have children though as there isn't much for them to do.

Oh, and to reiterate what a previous reviewer has said - I don't know how they do it but we didn't encounter one insect or fly the whole time we stayed at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for the patience and time you took to write such a detailed review.
Thank you for pointing out all the small things you thought could be better and for enjoying all the good sides our hotel had to offer.
I know the beach is quite busy during the peak season but most of the guests come to enjoy the sun and the clean sea, so that's why many of them are not on the pool terrace but rather on the beach.
But it's nice you found a spot for yourselves you could enjoy most.

I am glad you recommended us to other reviewers and I hope we see you again as well.

All the very best from Dubrovnik and Valamar!

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Myself, my husband and two friends stayed here in May/June. We loved it. The rooms are spacious, all have sea views and everywhere was spotless. Very comfortable beds. The beach though pebbles was very clean and pretty, beach shoes are useful for going in the sea. The weather that week was perfect and the sea very warm. The bar is very nice and we enjoyed some of the music at night. It is in an ideal location close to the regular bus to Dubrovnik town. The food in the hotel is good, plenty of choice for breakfast and we had dinner there one night and two lunches at the beach cafe. There are many restaurants a pleasant coastal walk away, cross the carpark and head left along the coast. We like to try different restaurants and enjoyed the walks to and from. There is a small shopping precinct close by handy for shops. We ate in one of the restaurants there on the first night but the meal was not good so thereafter we did the coastal walk and had lovely meals. Pre dinner drinks on our balconies watching magnificent sunsets were special moments. We took a boat trip From Dubrovnik town to Cavtat. Well worth it as Cavtat is beautiful and we did a coastal walk there. The only negative is no tea/coffe facillities in the rooms. I had found this out by contacting the hotel so consequently took my travel kettle tea/coffee and dried milk with me. I would definately recomment this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for high floor rooms as we had read on trip adviser that the beach can be noisy when locals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewquayGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear guests,

it feels good reading your review and thank you for taking the time to write it.
I am glad you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer and that everything was up to your expectations.
I sincerely hope you get the chance to visit us again.

All the very best from all the staff members.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent a week at the Valamar President in July and had an amazing time. My first piece of advice is to book the "romantic room." Not only do you get a free bottle of sparkling wine, but you have a 40 foot long private balcony! Ours was at the end, so it felt totally private, especially with all of the plantings around. This was the best part of the hotel!

The room itself was great, with lots of sitting space. The bathrooms are a little older, but large and clean. The rooms themselves seem to have been updated very recently, though. I found the bed very comfortable, the hotel quiet, and the room temperature great. All in all, great sleeping.

The beach is nice, but it is very busy. When you book online you get the option to pre-book your chairs and umbrella. As great as this sounds (€7/day), do NOT do it. The guys on the beach had no clue that we had done this so every day we still had to go down there and claim our chairs! It was very annoying. I wish they'd spread the chairs out a bit, because sometimes it's a little too close for comfort. But, the water is gorgeous and very clean with loads of fish. Bring shoes, like others advised, because it's hard to climb out of the water because of the rocks (smooth rocks, at least)! I just kept my flip flops right on the edge and this seemed to work, but it might be better to have some shoes that you can keep on in the water.

One strange thing, the hotel did not seem to point us to the very fun Lapad area, which is just down a beautiful cliff path. Go out the hotel doors to the right, down to the path, and walk about 10-15 minutes along this amazing path. It will lead to an area full of bars, shops, and restaurants. There are closer shops, but not as lively or as resort-y. We also booked our personal sailing trip in Lapad, so it's a great spot to visit. You can get the bus from this area, too, and there is a grocery store here.

All in all, I thought the Valamar President was very nice. Good location (just an easy bus ride of about 15 minutes right outside the hotel), amazing rooms, and a nice area to swim. The common areas are a little outdated, but look past this to the amazing views of the sunsets over the Elaphite Islands and you will have a perfect trip!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 444 - it's at the end, so very private with an amazing balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecojojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for posting your review and for taking the time to point out all the things you enjoyed and the areas for improvement.
We try to get something out of each review and use it for improving quality in all segments in the hotel.
I am very glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope this convinces you to come back sometime.

All the very best from Dubrovnik and Valamar Dubrovnik President !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spend 4 nights for our anniversary in late July. The weather was spectacular, over 30 degrees the whole time.
The set up of the hotel is very good. All rooms face the beach and have the most spectacular sunset views over the ocean. The rooms are very comfortable and suit the price tag. Each room has a private balcony too. The rooms were clean and well air-conditioned so you could decide whether to soak up the hot sun outside or cool down inside. The bed was comfortable, however, I find it VERY aggravating when you find four terrible pillows on the bed next to a pillow menu for extra charge - IF YOU HAVE BETTER PILLOWS, PUT THEM ON THE BED!!!!
The staff were lovely although at times I think it is easy to feel like they are being short with you, this is just a misinterpretation of the eastern European english accent.
The Hotel's facilities are very good and cheap. We each had a massage for 35 euro's. There is a pool and a pebble beach which is not restricted to guests only but we never had a problem getting a couple of sun lounges.
The food and cocktails are unfortunately where the hotel falls down. Though the meals and drinks are cheap, they are also cheap! The cocktails we were informed often come premixed straight from a can and are simply poured into a glass and garnished, which shows. The beach front offers a lovely setting for a romantic meal, but the buffet style food continually lets down the meal. However, walking south along the cost there are a multitude of hotels offering high class food (albeit at much higher prices) so a good meal is not far away. The breakfast offered by the hotel is, on the contrary, spectacular and fits the price tag very well. The choice is unbelievable and you will not be disappointed.
Finally, the trip to the Old Town is a 15 minute bus trip. This is made easy by the fact that the Hotel and the Old Town are literally the last stop in either direction so you can't get lost. We found the old town a little tourist heavy and were interested in a relaxing holiday on the beach so this didn't bother us, but if you were interested in spending a lot of time in the old town you might find this frustrating.

Room Tip: All rooms will face the brilliant sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear guests,

thank you for your long review and all the lovely things you said as well as the details you didn't like to much.
I would just like to correct you about the PILLOW MENU. We have them in each room and the choice is FREE OF CHARGE, so I'm sorry you got the impression they weren't.
I hope this will not turn you off coming back if you get them chance to visit Dubrovnik again.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Are having out last night at this hotel, have har great time! Book romantic room that has a large balcony, Yes bathrooms need upgrade as some has pointed out but was clean and ok. Breakfast is plentyfull, good pancakes :-) have tried both beach bar and elifiti during our stay and both was good - seafood tagliatelle in elifiti was very good!

Staff has been lovely ( for the most part ) - went to wellness spa one day to book appointment but godt message in the door that we could find the towels at the desk and then the older guy dissappared... We did not worry though ( we are on holiday after all :-), used the wellness area that day and came back the next for bookings.

All in all a very good hotel!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank li_ze100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, so I sincerely hope you will come back again.
Sorry about the gentleman not being at the wellness reception when you came in, must have been occupied with other guests in the pool area for a moment. Hope you enjoyed your massage though.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing