We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Croatia, where we met our son and daughter-in-law. Hotel was amazing. Room was large with private balcony opening to the sea. Bed and pillows were comfortable and sheets were crisp; large closets with private safe. All rooms have a balcony with a sea view and our room's outer door opened into a glass atrium. There are two eating areas. One is a traditional restaurant where we had dinner our first evening, food and service were good. Breakfast is included in price of room and is a very elaborate buffet, including crepes, omelets, and made to order pancakes.

In addition to the hotel restaurants, there are several restaurants within walking distance. While in Dubrovnik we toured the old city, including walking the wall of the city. There is a small fee for walking the wall, money well spent with amazing views. Would definitely stay at Valamar President hotel again--beautiful hotel in a beautiful city.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eliza52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear guest,

It's nice to hear you enjoyed your first stay in Dubrovnik and President so much.
Thank you for complimenting the food and the rooms, so hopefully this will be an invitation for another visit.

Thank you once again and regards from President staff!

Belinda L. Božanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    366
    85
    24
    8
See reviews for
197
757
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Valamar is a lovely hotel with AMAZING food (for a buffet). The rooms are comfortable and all have balconies with sea views. The service was a bit more relaxed than I would expect from a 4 star, I'm not sure if that was because we went off peak, the hotel or the Croatian way. For example you could take a seat in the bar area and wait ten minutes for someone to offer you a drink and if we were late to breakfast or dinner sometimes it took a while for the staff to re-lay a table for us. The staff were very friendly and busy (maybe being slightly understaffed caused the delay?) and could not do enough for us once we had their attention. The location of the hotel is excellent with a bus stop right outside with direct service to the cable car, the old town and the main port. The beach and sun loungers are great (beach is pebbly so take water shoes) and some boat tours will pick up from the hotel pier. Overall, the slight slow/relaxed approach to service is the only thing that stops me giving the hotel 5/5, i'd give it 4.5/5 if I could!

Would still recommend just be prepared to go to the bar to order drinks before you sit down!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but the higher you are the better the view (although the bar is on the 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear guest,

We highly appreciate you're great comments as well as pointing out the things you saw that could be improved.
This helps me a lot, as I can't be everywhere at the same time.
I don't know if this was you're first visit to President hotel, but I hope you come again soon.

Best wishes from all the staff.

regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We booked this hotel on a BA deal in May 2013. I emailed the hotel prior to arrange transportation which is available for EUR35 from Dubrovnik airport. It takes approx. 30min from the airport to the hotel. The check in was quick and efficient.
The room was basic ( as we booked the standard room ) which was fine. Although no bathrobes, slippers provided which I would usually expect in a 4 star hotel. The bathroom, water pressure was great however some of the tiles were slightly chipped and it could do with some renovation in the near future. The minibar was fully stocked and had a great choice / prices. The terrace was clean, had 2 chairs and a small side table.
We had challenges operating the safe as it showed an error code but Reception quickly sent someone upstairs who was extremely friendly and apologetic for the inconvenience. We had lunch once at the beach restaurant but the choice was very limited. The spa facilities are clean and the massages we had were good. We paid around EUR 90 for a couples massage which is not much compared to UK prices.
Breakfast was served from 7am - 10am and busy every morning as I assume all guests have breakfast included. Unfortunately we had to ask for the table to be set up on 4 out of 5 mornings. The choices are great and lots of healthy options.

Bus number 6 leaves right outside the door and takes you to Dubrovnik in 15min. As this is the first stop you always get a seat and the bus gets extremely crowded later on.

Reception was very helpful and friendly and we received some great recommendations for restaurants.
Go to Restaurant Amfora, it is not in the old town but so worth going there. Service and food is truly outstanding!
Avoid Taj Mahal, the Bosnian restaurant as they have people queing next to your table and the service is very rushed. It took 20min from the moment to sit down to receive the main course and we DID have a starter which was taken away while we were still chewing....


If there was anything they could improve, the lifts which are nice to look at but very slow. That's why most people take the stairs but not everybody is physically able to.
The other point, please please change the bed linen more often. Ours was not changed in 5 days which is not acceptable in a 4 star hotel on the beach. I fully understand the environmental thoughts behind that and saw the note to leave the sign for housekeeping if we wanted to have them changed but I expect this done at least every 3rd day.

Valamar President is definitely a great choice for visiting Dubrovnik. The team is very friendly and service is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for all the effort you went to writting this review. I see you've used just about all our facilities in the hotel and had the time to explore the offer in town as well. We are planning renovation in autumn, so I hope you can come and check all the lovely changes we are going to do.
I apologize for the linen, but I don't know what room you were in to check what went wrong.

Once again sorry for this happening, but I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of the stay, the offer and the service.

See you soon hopefully.
Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

For the second year we spent a week at the president. Unbelievably we enjoyed our stay even more than last year. The food quality and choice is as good as I have had anywhere. The service is excellent throughout from the domestic staff to the dining room staff, special mention to John the reception desk manager who again went out his way to make our stay special. The view from the room was stunning with wonderful sunsets.

Oh by the way Dubrovnik was busy but stunning and interesting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honesttouner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear guests,

it's great to hear you've returned again for the second time and we all sincerely hope you'll do so next year as well.
I am glad you found all to your likes and enjoyed the view, the food and service so much.
Thank you very much for sharing this with us.

All the very best and hope to see you soon again.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel came up trumps in every way, staff outstanding, location terrific, bus stop for old town just across the road. The first two evenings the buffet tended to be a bid bland but plenty selection, after that the buffet was simply superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time and sharing your opinions with us and all the Tripadvisor members.
It's nice to read all the compliments on the staff and the food, they are appreciated very much.
I hope you decide to visit us again and enjoy all we can offer as well as our lovely town.

Best regards from Dubrovnik,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

First visit to Croatia/Dubrovnik.

Needed a short break to recharge the batteries. Reviews seemed good. Price was reasonable for the facilities they offered.

everything that I had read turned out to be an understatement!!

Location. Great. Rooms. Great. Food. SUPERB.

Never enjoyed a buffet like theirs anywhere else.

Fresh, fresh, fresh & so much choice. did I mention Fresh?

Cooked to order. Local & international cuisine.

will return whenever the opportunity arrises.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walliro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear guests,
thank you so very much for the lovely review which we are all so proud of.
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday so much and that we managed to do even better than you expected. It maked us very happy if you recharged the batteries as you said even if we had only a little to do with it.
Great to know you'll be coming back and this is our biggest reward.
Until your next visit, take care and be happy.

All the very best from the entire staff.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Great location at the Babin Kuk: the top floor is the entrance.
Room (416) was spacious, comfortable and functional with comfortable bed, sitting area, writing table, mini-bar and flat screen TV. You can choose over three different types of bed pillows!
Every room has a big terrace with a table and chairs, and beautiful sea view.
Bathroom was spacious, with a bathtub, sink, toilet and bidet. There are free toiletries (firm soap, shower gel and soap in one, and body lotion of a good quality) and a hairdryer.
Very clean, towels and linen could be changed everyday if you want, you just have to put a paper sign for bed linen (you'll find it on the writing table in the map with hotel information) or leave towels on the bathroom floor.
WiFi is free.
Safety box in the big closet (hangers are in as well). There is no slippers or bathrobe.
Air-condition - heating is on.
Staff is nice and helpful.
There is a pool, small fitness and a spa zone - didn't try any of those (business trip).
Great food - buffet: they have a nice big terrace if you want to sit outside.
Nice beach.
The bus station (bus number 6) is just in front of the hotel entrance, and bus leaves every 15 minutes.
I can only recommend the hotel - it was my second time at the hotel (both business trips - March 2012 and April 2013), but I would like to come for a few days vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear guest,

being here on a business trip for the second time means you had a good quality trip the first time.
Thank you very much for taking the time and writting such a thorough review which I am sure will be helpfull to many other future visitors.
What a shame you didn't have time to enjoy all our other facilities, specially the wellness and all the lovely treatments we offer.
I hope you come and visit us this summer without having to work this time.
Please contact me if you would like to make a reservation or just go to our web site and do it if you prefer this more.
Thank you once again for all the nice words and hope to see you soon.

All the very best from all of President team!

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing