We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with great bus service to old town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great bus service to old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel provided a relaxing and peaceful setting overlooking magnificent views of the Adriatic Sea and some of its many islands.

The quality of the furniture and fittings within the room was good. Excellent free wifi. The bathroom although slightly tired was adequate and clean.

The hotel staff were all cheerful and extremely helpful and they all appeared to enjoy their jobs.

The hotel's private beach (pebbles) has a spectacular panoramic view.

Huge selection at breakfast.

The only very minor downside is that when we stayed the menu in the restaurant was a bit limited. However the old town is only a short bus journey away.

The hotel has a public bus stop right outside. The buses are clean and punctual. It takes about ten minutes to get to the old Town and the journey is very easy even with a pushchair.

All in all a fantastic four-night stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for choosing President hotel for your holiday and it's lovely to hear you see us as an Excellent hotel. This is very motivating and demanding at the same time as our aim is always to be better next time you come.
Hope you do get the chance to visit Dubrovnik again soon and in this case come and stay with us of course. That would be rewarding for all the staff.

All the best from President hotel.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    364
    83
    24
    8
See reviews for
193
751
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned from a week at the Valamar President. this was our first visit but the hotel has 2 outstanding assets, its position and its people. service was excellent throughout and the reception desk was outstanding. we plan to return next September , hopefully it will be a little cooler, to do some of the things we had planned to do this year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a beautiful sea view. Some have bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dansdad51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for the short but lovely review and for recognizing the efforts the staff are doing to make all the guests feel like home and enjoy their holiday as much as possible.
It's great to hear you are planning on coming next September and I am sure you'll love all the changes and improvements we are preparing for all our dear guests.

Looking forward to seeing you.
Until then all the very best.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Nice beach, good breakfast, excellent bus connection to the old town and the sea was so blue! We first got the room 411A with bad air-condition. Next room that we got, worked perfectly. Good jogging rounds really close to the hotel. Nice 3 days stay at the president.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ismo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear guests,

thank you so much for coming to our hotel and for having such a good time. You said you enjoyed yourselves which is the most important for us.
I apologize about the technical problem in the first room and I am glad you found the next room perfect.
As you had such a good time, I sincerely hope to see you in 2014. enjoying all the lovely changes we are planning.

Until then all the very best from Dubrovnik and Valamar.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Valamar President hotel in Dubrovnik. Very good 4-star hotel, with very nice modern rooms, although the shower/bath was extremely small and leaked all over floor. Huge balcony that was actually bigger than the room, and the room itself was a very good size. We opted for a romantic room, which basically meant a regular room but rose petals sprinkled on bed, a bottle of champagne and one breakfast served in room, which was a very nice touch.

Beach was good but pebbles, so strongly recommend beach shoes for swimming in.

Number 6 bus goes every 10 mins form right outside hotel to Pile gate of the old town. Takes 25-30 mins and costs 12 kuna per person (can get tickets from reception of hotel which makes life easier).

Breakfast very good buffet with lovely views over the sea/islands. Only ate evening meal in hotel one night and was an OK bufet, nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaDavidRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time and leaving your comments on Trip advisor.
It is always useful to receive them as they help both, the hotel and the new guests while planning their trip.
I am glad you enjoyed the romantic room and all that goes with it and hopefully you'll be visiting us again.

Kind regards from President hotel.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We're just home from a week in thepresident and i cant speak highly enough about this hotel.
we took the coach from the airport to the old town, €5 / 35kuna each. we then took the no.6 bus across the road which stops right outside the hotel.
the hotel is on the babin kuk peninsula, and is away from the busier places like the old town and lapad. although we walked the prom one night and were in lapad in 15mins.
All the staff were very accomodating and speak perfect english, we even heard them chat in german, french and spanish!
Having informed the staff that I was planning a very speial week away with my new bride to be, we we're greeted by a room covered in rose petals and a bottle of bubbly!
the bed was massive! at least a super king and very comfortable.
there was a flat screen TV that was on for about 5 mins all week and a mini bar too.
The view from our room was exceptional with stunning sunsets every evening.
the first couple of nights we ate at the hotel buffet. €20 if yu bok before 7pm with reception, €25 thereafter.
There was a huge selection to choose from and all very tasty, great value too.
breakfast too was a buffet style and we really enjoyed the selection every morning.
the hotel has its own private beach, with access to diving, island hopping and paragliding to name but a few. it is stoney so bring some swim shoes. the water all along the coast is immaculate.
we rented a car from the receptio desk too, which was cheaper than if id done it from home, €60 for a corsa wth a/c.
all in all, id really recommend this hotel for couples and families alike looking for a relaxing holiday in a well located place but away from the noisy centres.
the staff are a credit to themselves and i personally want to thank them for making our stay a very memorable one!

Room Tip: all rooms here look out to sea and have a stunning view of the sunset every evening. 5th floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandolfTheDeadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear guests,

it was a pleasure indeed reading your review. I would like to thank you on behalf of all the President staff for staying with us and for all the kind words of support.
We are so glad you enjoyed the romantic room set up, the sunsets, the food and service.
If we managed to add at least a bit of surprise you wanted to achieve for your bride to be we are happy.
We wish you both heaps of love, happiness and understanding and hope you choose President hotel for your honeymoon or perhaps your wedding too.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I'd agree with the last reviewer on all accounts but would add the following:

The hotel is going to have a massive renovation next year bringing it to a 5* rating. All elements that are now out of date (i.e. elevators, pools, lobby, etc.), will be, I'm confident very good for future guests.

We were with kids as well and were very fortunate to have decided to do a 4 day diving certification program. These guys don't waste anytime but get you right in the water and diving. For the brave hearted! It can be boring if you have no activity. The restaurant was nice and presented good food and a wonderful staff. Downside is little outdoor capacity during peak season.


I found the staff at the front desk to be extremely helpful and professional. They should be commended on how they service guests. We had special requests, transfers, etc. and each time it was handled smoothly, gracefully. Compliments to the young lady at the information booth as well as the all 3 young men at the front desk. You are certainly a very capable team!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that is high up which allows a better view. The drawback is that you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissWineTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for deciding to bring your family to Dubrovnik and President hotel.
It's nice to hear you are confident the planned investment will be a great plus and I am sure you and your family would enjoy it in every way. For sure the kids would have great fun in the new outdoor pool we will be having next season.
It's great you decided to go diving and explore all the interesting and clean underwater world we have.
All the staff and specially the reception and Ana from guest relation desk are proud and happy they could fulfill all your requests.
Thank you once again for the kind words and hope you visit us next summer.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We recently booked a couple of rooms in this hotel for our week in Dubrovnik. It’s a decent hotel with its biggest selling point being the great view of the Adriatic Sea and nearby islands you get from every room. The rooms are the size of a normal hotel room but they also have balconies to sit and drink some wine while watching the sunset. The décor was physically new but some things, such as the carpeting, seemed stuck in the 70s. We only had dinner at the hotel twice but the food was fine given the price of the hotel and the meal itself.

The beach was a typical Mediterranean pebble beach. I don’t really like these kinds of beaches but I don’t think there are many alternatives in Croatia unless you find a place where someone has dumped truckloads of sand onto the original beach. Anyway, we had a great time after we started wearing water shoes and sandals while swimming.

I think the biggest negative of the hotel is that it doesn’t have a proper swimming pool. This is very important for families with kids or for anyone when the sea water is too cold for enjoyable swimming. The hotel does have an indoor pool only accessible through the ‘wellness center’ but some of the hotel staff suck the fun out of the experience once you get there. We were using the pool one day, for example, and had our children as well as others’ reprimanded by an older staff member because they were jumping, not diving, but just jumping in from the side. You also can’t bring drinks or do the normal things you do when trying to relax poolside.

If you like diving, they have a dive shop conveniently located at the beach. The cost was only about 330 kuna or about $60 per dive. No reservations were required with a license. You just show up and go.

The fitness center had four treadmills or elliptical machines but only one weight machine so it was fine for people who like cardio stuff but not so great for weight training.

Overall, it’s a nice place but I think it’s probably better suited for retired people and couples but not for families with kids. My kids had fun times at the hotel but also got bored if we spent too much time there. I also think the price was a little high for what you get. We've stayed at a few places around the Adriatic/Aegean and have paid less for the same view and quality of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo_G_Spacely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for writing this review and giving me the chance to answer a few details.
You are right about the beach and the fact that the Croatian coast is mainly rocks and pebbles and just a few natural sandy beaches.
But this is easily solved with rubber shoes, so people can enjoy the crystal clear sea with no problem.
I am sorry your children were asked not to jump in the pool but these are the pool rules made for all the guests to feel relaxed and comfortable. Jumping in the pool is not allowed for safety reasons and because most of the guests complain on this if they are in the pool at the same time.
The fitness is a cardio fitness and is not ideal for weight lifters but this will be changed next season as we are getting a larger fitness room which will allow us to add more equipment.
I do understand that kids can get bored sometimes as we don't have kids programs, but for families we have Valamar club Dubrovnik with daily and evening animation as well as a mini club for children.
Maybe you can try it out next time, the kids would love it.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and hope you do sometime in the future again.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing