We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,315)
Filter reviews
2,315 results
Traveller rating
1,498
565
172
47
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,498
565
172
47
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus piano bar private beach old town the hotel shop beach restaurant sea view buffet restaurant beach shoes outdoor pool superior room last stop five star hotel breakfast and dinner fantastic hotel large terrace sun loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,439 - 1,444 of 2,315 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited for 4 nights and found Valamar President to have quality facilities but still lacking the service and class to be considered a 5* hotel. On occasion the service let the hotel down, however generally the staff were friendly and helpful, if sometimes overstretched or unaware of the service required at this level. The rooms are excellent finished to a very high standard with awesome views and spacious terraces/ balconies. location is very good although not in walking distance to Old town Dubrovnik, there is a good bus service though which cost 12 Kuna each way (in advance) or about 90-100 Kuna for a taxi. The facilities are excellent with 2 good pools and plenty of sunbathing space. Breakfast was good but for a 5* could be better. In general a good hotel but for the price and the advertised 5* an increase in the quality of service would be needed, this may be due to only recently being renovated.

Room tip: Avoid the southern wing, (to the left of the lobby) as views are not as good, overlooking the public access to the beach. also floor 6 on this wing is awkward to acess the restaurant and bar.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ohgibson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed 14-28 June. Lovely hotel, room was amazing - 4th floor - has beautiful large balcony with stunning views. Spotlessly clean, courteous staff. Quiet & totally relaxing. Half board, food choice excellent. Chefs friendly & helpful. Restaurant with beautiful sea view & amazing sunsets. Beach & pool amazing & tastefully refurbished. Bus @ rear of hotel took 15 mins into Old Town & very cheap always a bus available leaving every 15 mins. Definitely recommend. From entering the hotel, staff - especially Bellboy Marco - was so friendly, helpful & professional. 15 min walk along coastal path to bars with stunning sea views. Perfect! Highly recommend. 2nd time in a Valamar hotel & will definitely return

Room tip: Ours was on 4th floor - beautiful large terrace/balcony
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janineo451
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Arrived at valamar argosy next door where I was booked in to be told no room for myself a 2 other couples arriving at the same time, after waiting and no apology We were all sent to Valamar President and told wait we haven't got any rooms here so don't know why they sent you. After a 2hour wait and no details or apology I suggested that they could have at least offered myself and the other 2 couples in the same position a complementary drink and food the receptionist shrugged her shoulders and said wait!!! At last we were given rooms, but from then on it was if I didn't exist, my room didn't get cleaned and I had to keep asking, I was told each meal time I had to either sign for the meal to be put on my bill or pay there and then, this I refused as I had paid half board. I was totally invisible when ordering drinks at the beach bar, even though a suited manager was hovering a must have seen I was being ignored, it was a good old Brit thank you that insisted I be served ahead of him, even then the batman hovered. it was as if I wasn't wanted as a single traveler. I have travelled many places alone and never been treated in this way, there are 1 or 2 staff that are good and helpful the majority are rude and couldn't care less. I paid a lot single supplement so I could enjoy this holiday as others would, what a let down for such a beautiful hotel. The moral of the story be wary of this hotel especially if travelling alone

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suehelyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thought hotel was really good apart from the service - delivered our cases to wrong room and didn't apologise. Room was clean but left in a mess on one day. Staff need more training. Internet connection in room very poor. Sea view from room 4032 was only if you stood on the balcony - they need to cut the greenery down to you can see the wonderful view.

Room tip: Rooms in middle of fourth floor - have to stand to see the sea from your balcony due to greenery
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Not a five star by English standards. More like three stars. The reception area looks like an Ikea sale. Cold and untrained staff on the reception, who do not really know what they are doing. Our supposed sea view on the fourth floor was of a very scruffy garden. The bathroom is very small and very badly designed, and the room itself is just like a Premier Inn, only not as big, although it was clean. Problems came on the first night at Dinner. The four small grill areas do not have enough capacity to cook for 540 people, so young staff felt under pressure to hurry it all up. Result was uncooked chicken. The man who acts like a canteen supervisor was not interested so took our complaints to the hospitality manager who listened to us. Also pointed out the raw chicken should not be cooked on the same grill as raw vegetables Yes this place needs a Maitre D. Second problem is of communication here. Our tour manager arranged an early breakfast as we were leaving early, but this did not happen, as no one had told the breakfast staff. No information on what drinks are available at the dinner table and the young staff do not know anything, so it is best to purchase drinks at the bar before your meal. We had appologies
for all of this and a bottle of wine, but I would prefer not to be the Guinea Pig when a new hotel opens
.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews