We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay, like a dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb stay, like a dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our one week stay at Valamar President Hotel it was like a dream! All hotel staff very competente, professional, kind and friendly. The rooms are big and balcony and view from there are very good. The best view rooms are the highest ones. Swimming pool like a dream and restaurant which excelent food quality. I really recommend to stay at this hotel which halfboard plan (breakfast + dinner). It's impossible to don't like their food, seafood, meat, fish, vegetables, all of them are prepared and cooked with love. The view from restaurant balcony it's breath cut...
The beach it's not sandy but it's not a problem because the hotel provides longchair and towels.
It's not close to Dubrovnick city center, but easly you can go there. Every 30min you can take bus there for 15min bus trip. Perfect hotel to relax, enjoy and just chill...
We will never forget how happy we were there, I hope to return there soon!

Room Tip: The best balcony views are on top located rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiogoMiguel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    366
    85
    25
    8
See reviews for
198
758
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I went to the hotel thinking it was luxurious. It was recently renovated and clean. My issue was that after having a rain storm, our room smelled like rotten eggs. We called and told the front desk. They said they would look at it. They sprayed air freshner in the AC unit. This worked for about 5 minutes. We were told they had no more rooms. Finally after continued complaining because my wife was getting nauseous, they found another room later that night. The TV didn't work so I called and asked if they could fix. They said they would have it fixed the next day. They still did not fix it and I had to call again later the next day after we returned from our day trip. I didn't go to watch TV but sometimes late at night I like to check up on the news. Finally, my flight was cancelled which made us one day late. Since we pre-paid for the hotel, I attempted to Skype with the hotel to let them know we would not be there the first night. I sent an email as well in hope that we would get a refund. After arriving, the front desk assured me that I was not charged for the first night and would get a refund. I was stupid for not getting that in writing. They are now refusing the refund. I have learned my lesson, never pre-pay for a hotel and get things in writing. It is not a horrible place and has potential but I will never stay at a Valamar Hotel due to my experience. In all fairness, the bed was comfortable and breakfast was good but all of the problem I had was not worth the $300 per night. Staff was never rude but I expected better service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from our holiday. The hotel on arrival was beautiful and the views through the entrance to the sea were breath taking. We were initially hit with poor service when the receptionist insisted on answering the phone 3 times whilst we were trying to check in. A process which took 30 mins.

When we arrived at the room, it was simply beautiful. A good size, very clean and amazing views from the balcony overlooking the pool and sea. Welcome drinks or at least water in the room would have been a nice touch I would have expected from a 5* hotel, however this was not the case.

We then went to the beach bar for lunch, where we met our not so friendly waitress. Her abruptness could have been mistaken for speaking little English. However her insistence on slamming glasses and plates on the table, made the experience rather unpleasant. Unfortunately not a one off as this happened on the further occasions we ate at the beach bar. The menu was limited and not of great quality.

The bar in an evening was nice and it was relaxing listening to the pianist whilst having a drink. The staff were all very friendly, but far from attentive. We eventually stopped going for a drink in an evening prior to heading out, as it was frustrating waiting for service and furthermore obtaining the bill.

We had a lovely holiday and the hotel and rooms were very clean and impressive, it was just let down by it's staff and moreover the management team who proved more of a hindrance chatting with the staff,as opposed to directing them in adequate customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Njloopsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are currently staying at the Valamar President. We have been in a newly refurbished room for the last 6 nights. Overall, the hotel is nice. It's once you have been here a couple of days that you start to notice the cracks.

The main draw to this hotel is that amazing views of the ocean it provides. We saw the most beautiful sunsets we have ever seen here.

There is no entertainment other than a piano bar at night. There is no music on the beach. The "beach" is covered in pebbles and very uncomfortable to walk on. If you want a drink you have to get up and walk all the way to the understaffed cafe and get your own. We could not understand that there was not waiters walking around asking people if they wanted anything to eat or drink on the beach. If you don't have shoes you will be in pain. There is only 1 place to eat lunch. It's at the beach. The menu is awful. There is absolutely no selection other than a frozen burger, a couple of sandwiches and very overpriced seafood that is nothing special.

The pool was nice but freezing cold and filled with loud children. It was not pleasant as a couple to be around loud children. There should be separate pools for children. For the price of the hotel it should be much more equipped than it is.

They are stingy with the towels. They don't clean dirty glasses in the room. We ordered room service. It was 2 cappuccinos and the price to have them delivered to our room was more than the price of the actual drinks. 2 cappuccinos cost us 13 Euro. They were small and had only 1 shot of espresso.

The trip to the airport cost us 50 Euro each way. The hotel is on the far end of the peninsula which makes it about a 30 minute bus ride to the old town. It stops at every pickup spot on the way.

The new rooms are nice and well decorated with high quality. The staff seems undertrained or not trained at all but somewhat friendly.

Overall it was a decent stay but much more expensive that it should have been. If you compare this hotel on global scale it is missing so many details that make it not worth the price.

I would not come back although like I said it wasn't terrible, just not a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Get the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has been recently refurbished and overall the property is lovely. I stayed in a Superior room which had a nicely sized balcony with 2 sun beds. The bed, pillows and bedding were fabulous feather and luxurious.

Breakfast was excellent in terms if quality, variety and excellent service.

I had a facial at the spa, the spa was the best priced I found when re searching.

Taxi to and from airport 250 kuna and about 30 mins. During your stay you can get on the 5 or was it the 6 bus ... 12 kuna. They are very frequent and take 15 mins to the old town.

My tips for a trip:
* book a table at 360 restaurant for dinner..book a table before sunset so you can take in the stunning views..expect to pay £100 per person for cocktails and 2 or 3 courses. Lovely food menu, excellent wine list and amazingly knowledge staff, in particular the sommelier.
* Orsan Restaurant is the next tip at Gruz Harbour. Stunningly fresh seafood at a really good price. Recommend the grilled octopus and the seafood pasta. Really readonable prices.
* Hire a speed boat - amazing full day out for £360 which included skipper, fuel, water, beer. Dubrovnik Boat

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Sydney_AustraliaMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recently renovated and you can tell right when you walk into the lobby with huge bay windows. The rooms are clean and sophisticated and all face the amazing sea. A bus line that goes straight to Old Town stops directly in front of the hotel, which was very convenient. Our flight was at an ungodly hour in the morning so at checkout they even provided us with little to-go breakfast baggies! I loved this hotel, definitely worth the price. Although drinks and simple cafe food were fairly expensive so we ate out a lot.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gkg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel has everything a luxury traveller is looking for. Very well appointed rooms , stunning views of the sea, helpful staff and out of the world buffet breakfast. While some of the other hotels in vicinity claim to be five star - we checked out all - this one really is five star in every which way.

Room Tip: Higher floors with clear sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PRAMODKRISHNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing