We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We fell in love with Dubrovnik- not so much with the Valamar President.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We fell in love with Dubrovnik- not so much with the Valamar President.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from our fantastic hotel in Dubrovnik. It was our first time to Croatia ,and we loved all that the country had to offer .
On arriving at the hotel ,we were very impressed with the beautiful views you get immediately stepping into the reception area . The surroundings of this hotels have all the makings of a 5 star ,but the service lets it down.
We had booked a Deluxe room which are mainly found on the 4th floor .However ,the guaranteed sea view was not really there ,you could see a little from the distance. You also have another level of building in front of your view ,which spoilt it . However ,the next morning we upgraded to the 7th floor - just stunning .Great Room ,stunning views.
All was well ............
There are some real stars at this hotel and some hopeless individuals that clearly do not want to work there or service its customers .Everything at the hotel is hard work to get - coffee in the morning at breakfast ,a table cleared and reset, ordering drinks round the pool - you have to work very hard to get someone's attention .
The food was great ,both breakfast and evening meal .We didn't go half board - we went out into the old town to dinner mostly - restaurants I can recommend - Dominos ,Defne,360,Nautika,Hotel More -lovely cave bar and great restaurant -fantastic..

We ate one night at the Beach restaurant - absolutely appalling .Food tasteless when it arrived some 1.5 hrs later after ordering .

The issue here is yes they have recently reopened ,but most of the staff have worked for the hotel for years ! There seems to be a complete lack of actual management -but lots of men in suits huddled in the corner doing absolutely nothing .It is directionless . At the beginning of the trip we laughed about the dismissive behaviour we incurred ,by the end of the 10days our sense of humour dwindled some what .Especially for the price we were paying.

On our last day we spoke to an assistant manager - I thought was great ( come out of your office more ) and he listened and dealt with our concerns .Fantastic. However on check out ,the bill was wrong .Nothing we had agreed was deleted from the bill and we had to deal with that issue also .

Such a shame .As I said ,it didn't spoil our holiday ,it was just nonsense you just didn't want to have to deal with at a 5 star hotel.

Lastly a tip - if you want a Spa treatment you need to book a week in advance !! The Spa is shared with other Valamar hotels in the area and all they had was 7pm appointments 7 days later than we wanted them.

Room Tip: 6- 7 floor truly have a clear Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KirstyTwsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    364
    83
    24
    8
See reviews for
193
751
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Liked everything about the hotel: it has it's own beach, and one can arrange to reserve sun beds with the the beach staff, who are always nice and helpful. Sea is so clean and transparent one can see the pebbles at the bottom, views to the surroundings are stunning.
Room is fine: clean, and bed and pillows are comfortable. Food at the resaurant is of good quality, you may also opt for the beach bistro instead. The hotel has its own hospitality desk where you can arrange for the excursion, although plenty of offers are available outside at the nearby shop hub (about 10 min walk towards the bus stop and across the park). The ambience is so peaceful, I would definitely recommend it for anyone, from families to single travelers. If you prefer sea view, make sure to ask for one when doing reservation: although all the rooms face sea, our balcony had exit to the wide green terrace, so wide that it would obscure the sea view.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hermit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Claudio R, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your truly amazing review! I am very humbled by your amazingly kind words about our hotel and delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the hotel.
We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again here at the Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Lot of greetings
Jan Claudio Rahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel has been recently upgraded to 5* and I would say they are trying really hard to get everything right. Service wasn't always seamless, but it was always very friendly and there was a great deal of pride taken in the service.

We arrived well before the check-in time, but our room was still ready for us. Front desk, valet and porter service were all spot-on and the welcome drink was, well, welcome, to cool off a bit. The view from the lobby and piano bar were spectacular and worth spending some time in.

Our room was " Classic double room - balcony, seaview" and had a lovely terrace with lounge chairs and a small bistro set. The bed was so comfortable, the room was quite spacious as was the bathroom. There was a bathtub as well as a rainshower/hand held shower (great for getting the sand out after a long day at the beach). The terraces are very quiet and peaceful spots to watch the sunset.

We had breakfast in the main restaurant everyday and were well impressed with the large selection of options that were fresh or freshly prepared. Service was friendly and unobtrusive. The remaining meals (that we took on site) were always down at the beach bar/restaurant. We stuck to seafood dishes and ate our way through the menu over the course of 4 days. Everything was very good and a few stand-out dishes were the octopus salad and the adriatic fish skewers. In comparison, every meal we ate in the old town was a disappointment.

The hotel was about 6km from the old town, but either a taxi or bus gets you there in about 15 minutes. The benefit to the hotel's location are the little pebble beaches right out front along with the smooth rocks you can swim off of. There were a surprising number of fish and snorkelling along was quite rewarding. The hotel also rents stand up paddle boards and there are kayaks for rent just around the corner.

In summary we both were very pleased with the hotel!

Room Tip: rooms on the south wing have a lovely green space in front of the terrace to increase privacy and gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geewhiz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel which is renoverad lately. Hotel is nice, have own beach. The restaurant beside the beach reminds a cheap charter hotel. It must happen some changes if the hotel wants the right people. The service was slow and check in and out took hours. In general, the room were very nice, great view. I would come back if the management improve a right step.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Watchyouout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The positives: Great location on the beach with a 15 minute bus ride to old town. Outdoor pool was beautiful. Indoor pool was nice. Food was very good at the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner. View from lobby was breathtaking. Our upgraded room was nice with a beach view balcony, comfortable bed, ceiling fan, and rain shower. Air condition worked okay. Maid service was excellent.
The Negatives: Management at all levels. There was a rat running around the terrace outside our room. I paid dearly for a 5 star hotel and the last thing I expect to see within 3 feet of the door to my room is a rat! General Manager blamed nature and the guests and assumed no responsibility for the rat problem he was well aware of. Part of running a hotel is taking care of extermination of vermin. We paid over $2000 for 6 nights. This was unacceptable. Also better management of restaurant workers would help this hotel immensely. I can not recommend this hotel until the rat problem is taken care off properly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank nascartony20fan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Claudio R, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear valued Guest ,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel.

We are all delighted to learn that you have enjoyed and appreciated our hotel facilities , restaurant food and room cleaning during your stay with us.
We appreciate your open feedback , on the same note it helps us to improve our services.
Your constructive feedback has tremendously helped us to infuse in additional strict measures to eradicate its occurrence for future.
On behalf of the entire team here at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings during your stay, we all look forward to being given the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Jan Claudio Rahn
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Астана, Казахстан
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

It was our first time in Croatia. Our friends recommend me this hotel and I have not any regrets. Location, facilities and hospitality are on the high level. Hope back to there again and soon. Thanks a lot to hotel team for their efforts.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Buranbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was at a conference in Croatia and ended up at the Valamar. Didn't know quite what to expect, but WOW!, my wife and I were stunned by the location and beauty of the hotel. The service was great and the room (especially the views) were awe-inspiring. We would sit out on the balcony overlooking the outside pool deck and water (cliff-top views), and felt incredible looking at those beautiful sites. We spend four days there, and (had we done some research in advance), we would have stayed another four.

The great: The views, general service, rooms, and did I mention the views?

The "needs improvement": They need a mixologist at the bar that knows how to mix drinks. The bartender (just a title) can do simple ones, but you have to supervise or they will not come out right. This is something easy for them to fix.

Overall, if your looking for a great place to stay, enjoy the SPA scene (friends went and said it was well worth it), and want to take in some great views and enjoy life for the moment, this place should be considered top on your list.

Room Tip: The seventh floor is the lobby level, with zero being the beach deck and five being the pool deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralphfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing