We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wonderful hotel, fantastic views, excellent food. We went bed and breakfast which was a mistake, the food is fantastic and unbeatable value. We ate out a couple of times but was nowhere near the standard of the hotel cuisine. Can't recommend this hotel enough , a definite 5 star!!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank tickledbyturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have spent three nights here and it has been a wonderful experience!

On arrival we were greeted with cool hand-towels and champagne - a token greatly appreciated when traveling in the midsummer heat.

We were shown to our room, which has been beautifully, and cleverly, designed. The room is spacious and opens up onto a balcony which looks over the Adriatic Sea and the nearby islands.

Breakfast is included and is served in the restaurant on the 6th floor, with the dining area extending out onto an enormous covered patio with the same view as our room. I do have to commend the chefs on their breakfasts; the quality and variety of choices is excellent - I can confidently say it's the best breakfast we've ever had at a hotel!

Yes, there are some negatives to this hotel; like the awful, cold conference-like reception and the ridiculous "culture" of guests reserving loungers on the beach, even if they only intend pitching midday?? But the positives are plentiful and completely outweigh any negatives. The staff are genuinely lovely and always happy to help. For example; my husband, who works 24/7, had trouble connecting to the internet and at 10pm someone came to assist - how impressive is that!

The hotel is on the other-side of Dubrovnik to Old Town but the bus stop is directly opposite the hotel, Old Town is a mere 15min ride away and the busses run until late at night. The distance also allows the hotel to have the space to have its own private beach, which is great, especially when you see how congested and dirty some of the other public beaches are!

I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here and I would definitely return should I ever be in Dubrovnik again.




Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TheSmithTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights. The hotel is very new and large but it lacks any character. Such a pity because they could have done so much more with the amazing view and location.

The facilities are great. Nice pools, plenty of space and the private access to the beach is really nice too. However, the service is pretty appalling for a 5-star hotel. Staff are not rude but rather curt and not very friendly. The inconsistencies are also quite annoying - some staff will serve tap water, others simply refuse to. We ordered a simple plain pasta dish with butter for my son, they charged us the full price of a spaghetti putanesca. Little things like that spoiled the experience a bit. Housekeeping is also shoddy. Dirty wine glasses were left uncleared, garbage bins unemptied.

Location is great though. Just a short bus ride to the Old City and the bus station is just across from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TylerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I am a luxury hotel addict. My choice of this hotel is another huge success, though it was my first ever trip to Croatia, which turned out to be a zillion more beautiful than I expected.

This hotel is an entirely new establishment. Every corner oozes an air of newness and a lot more important, a quality of sophistication. The lobby is huge, airy and enriched by an ocean view. The receptionists are all very polite and pleasant. Jasmina, my receptionist, is an all-time smiley lady whose warmth feels just so wonderful.

Transport is no issue. The local bus No.6 stops exactly opposite the hotel gate. It takes only 15 or 20 minutes to get into the old town, where a galaxy of wonderful restaurants, bars, pubs, shops converge in a pleasant labyrinth.

Breakfast area must have been done by a divine designer: it looks so tasty. Food variety is large. Every bite is a true delight.

Rooms are appointed to a very high standard. Mine looks onto the outdoor pool, just wonderful.

My advice is that you MUST try the hotel spa. My therapist Tomislavg is one of this world’s best massage experts: her fingers worked wonders on my fatigued body. I have tried many luxury spa lounges around the world, and would like to say, hand on heart, that she is among the BEST.

And the massage price is unbelievably reasonable. So why not treat yourself to a good massage?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel overall is great and truly a 5 star experience. The staff are great and extremely friendly and the views / facilities are outstanding. Only issue is that its slightly further away from town but not a major problem :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank issaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Never been to Croatia before and was not sure what to expect. Wondered what the service would be like. The hotel arranged transfer from airport and we received a warm welcome from our driver. First impressions of the hotel impressive large reception area with wonderful view's of the Adriatic. Reception staff friendly but some very young and some seemed to struggle understanding some English. Our room was not ready as we arrived early. We were given a welcome glass of sparkling wine and had a very nice lunch by the lovely pool which was a good size with lots of available sunbeds and double beds for couples. At first I was disappointed that our room was on the first floor overlooking the private pebble beach but have to say the room was really lovely and I liked the location and you don't have to be high up to enjoy a wonderful view. One thing I will say is that our balcony was smaller than on all the other floors which was not really a problem but next time would probably ask to be a little higher up just for larger balcony. We stayed bed and breakfast but did eat in hotel 2 nights out of our week stay 5th Aug 2014. Breakfast good with lots of choice and eggs cooked to order. Buffet style nice outdoor dining area. I would suggest that when you go to get your food one of you stays at the table to keep the little birds away. It was a little off putting at times to see the birds helping themselves. Dinner was lovely too with fish or meat cooked to order. Service a little slow at times but overall ok.
Beach lovely but get yourselves some diving shoes to wear on beach and in water.
Dubrovnik old town is aprox 20 mins away by bus right outside hotel cost 12 Kunas each way. Get bus ticket in hotel shop before you go.
Hotel spa looked lovely and the hotel has a fantastic indoor pool.
I could not have a massage in hotel as fully booked but I did have a great massage just a short walk away on the lovely Copacabana Beach.
This hotel overall was great and definitely 5 star would stay again.

The air conditioning could have been a little cooler but the lowest it could be set was 19c.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mistyflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this hotel via a BA deal so, while we were fairly assured of a quality place to stay, to say that our expectations were exceeded would be a massive understatement.

This place has an amazing location on the tip of the Lapad peninsula area of Dubrovnik, is very new so in pristine condition and has all the amenities and great staff you could want on a top-notch holiday.

The sunsets are spectacular, every room has a sea-view balcony from which to see this, and the hotel is right on one of the rocky beaches. The breakfast buffet is good and there's an excellent drinks list as well as nice, light lunch options. There's also a water activity centre based in the hotel at beach level so if you want to rent a kayak, paddle board, or book diving or parasailing, it's right on-site.

Although it's a little ways out of the old town, it's only about 20mins (and 12 kuna) by bus or a short taxi ride to get to the Pile Gate, so we were easily in town most nights to enjoy the nightlife and restaurants there.

I would go back here again and again if I could!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MapleLeafGirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £130 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing