We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    376
    89
    26
    8
See reviews for
205
797
32
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Hotel President in Dubrovnik is a c25 min ride from the airport (Kuma 250 by cab) and although it may seem far from Dubrovnik's main attraction - the Old Town - it isn't as a local bus starts/terminates outside the hotel and goes direct to the Old Town. Cost Kuma 10 or Kuma 8 if you purchase tickets from hotel reception.

We had a nice welcome and easy transition to our room which was a good size and clean (+cleaned regularly). There was also a very large terrace which overlooked the sea. In the room the usual 4* accompanients were available (hairdryer, bathroom goodies, including generous supply of shower gel, TV, room service (didn't use). The hotel has a small gym (x3 cardio machines and a weights machine) very modern and adequate. The spa is wonderful, including 2 saunas a steam room a foot spa, outdoor jacuzzi and indoor relaxation room as well as a big indoor swimming pool. You can also book treatments such as massage (which I'd highly recommend) at an additional cost. There's also an on-site hairdresser. There's acess to a small pebble beach and beach bar in a great location. I imagine it would be pretty busy in high season.

Breakfast was good with a wide selection from yoghurt, fruit, croissant to full English (Croatian style). The buffet dinner was excellent and fantastic value for money (compared to external restaurants).

The bar area is open from 8am to midnight and leads out to a terrace overlooking the sea. It's a nice place to hang out during the day or night, but entertainment consisted of a piano player for a few hours on a couple of nights and a band on another. Again this could be because it was low season.

Things will change as we were informed the hotel would close from 1/11/08 for 3 months for renovations to the bar, reception and kitchen/dining areas.

We walked to the nearest town a couple of times c25 mins where there was a pedestrianised street of hotels/restaurants/bars and also a small shopping mall. It was fairly quiet as Oct is low season. However the Old Town did get very busy as there is a daily visit of 2-4 cruise ships into Dubrovnik.

The old town is beautiful and it was great exploring the various museums, shops, churches, etc. This is a walking / climbing, chilled out holiday so steer away if this isn't your thing.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Hotel President, access is very easy, all the staff were pleasant and extremely helpful (although we did glean much more information about what to do an where to go from a cab driver than the information desk at the hotel).

  • Liked — It was spacious and clean
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank catwoman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Dear Catwoman7, thank you for taking the time to write this review and for sharing your impressions and experiences with the Tripadvisor community. Thank you for your recommendation. We are happy that you explored Dubrovnik and enjoyed it. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Greetings to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Arrived to a room on the 4th floor, nice view...
problems, yes! advertised that the room included a clock, bathrobes, coffee maker, none of which were in the room, then the tub drained onto the floor. As we were about to go to bed at 9:50 p.m. I noticed hair on the wrinkled sheets along with black hair (appeared to be public hair) since I am a red head and my husband a blond..and we had not been to bed yet, I knew it was not ours. I called the front desk manager, who came to the room, at which time not only did I point out the sheets, yet the wet bathroom floor due to the tub draining onto the floor.
They did not offer to clean the floor, yet he did call a second man to assist him changing the sheets.

The walls in the rooms were very thin and the noise was quite loud, making sleeping a challenge.

Dining.......a buffet, if you enjoy those, selection was that of a "normal" buffet. Nothing spectacular by any means.

When we checked out did they offer to comp our room for the one miserable night, NO and we had booked in for 4 nights of which we canceled two.
Plus they are a good distance from town, even with a bus up on the street, still not a walking hotel. There are much better hotels close to town that are MUCH better.
Did notice MANY tour buses, for this hotel as well as the ones close by.

  • Liked — the elevator
  • Disliked — room, food
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Dear toplesstaco, thank you for the review. You can always find the current offers and all the necessary information on the Valamar websites. If you had any objections, you should have contacted the manager who would have surely been glad to help you. Greetings to Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

On arrival we were dealt with very professionally and courteously by the member of staff at reception, and shortly after taken to our room, which we had pre-booked with a sea-view. We were not disappointed with the view - the hotel is on the bay with a beautiful view out to the Croatian islands and a private stretch of beach. The room itself was very well-appointed and was extremely clean.

Breakfast, which we had pre-booked, was buffet style accompnaied by friendly watier/waitress service. The choice was very good and included both continental and cooked options, the quality was similarly very good. Breakfast could be taken either indoors or on the adjacent roof-top terrace.

Although some distance outsde the walls of the 'old town' of Dubrovnik, there was a very frequent bus service from the bus stop opposite the hotel right into the entrance to the walled town. In effect the hotel was situated in a prime localtion to afford excellent sea views coupled with a private beach and swimming area - within easy reach of the towm.

My wife and I would have no hesitation in staying there in future, alhtough it is a but expensive, albeit this is expected at the end of the summer season.

  • Liked — Location, friendly welcome, facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AH15765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valamar, Online Community Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Dear AH15765, thank you for the review and the positive comments. We are happy that we have fulfilled your expectations regarding the food, staff and accommodation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see you soon. Greetings to you and your wife and Norfolk, of course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing