We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary hotel in an extraordinary town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Split
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An extraordinary hotel in an extraordinary town”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We decided to spend our honeymoon in Dubrovnik after we backed out of trip to Santorini, Greece. And what a good choice it turned out to be. We booked a romantic room with a breathtaking view, especially the sunset (and we are not easily impressed since we live in a city by the sea). The room itself was spacious, furniture brand new and the bathroom large with lots of various amenities (my wife loved the body lotion).
The staff were excellent even though we sometimes had the impression that they were overworked. Despite this, they were always smiling and ready to help.
The food was, to our great suprise, very, very good, to say the least (better than in surrounding restaurants) and the prices in the a la carte restaurant were not high at all. Breakfast consisted of a large variety of food for everybody, there was a lot of fruit also, so you could make your own juice if you wanted.
All in all, it was a wonderful stay and we gladly recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neno_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2010
Dear Neno,
First of all i would like to congratulate You and Your wife on Your wedding.
I am glad to hear that we have surpass You expectations and i hope that You will come to celebrate Your first wedding anniversary with us.
Kind regards
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    391
    90
    27
    8
See reviews for
212
828
32
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My wife and i have just returned from a week in Dubrovnik president hotel,where we had a most enjoyable stay.The staff were very helpful and verty friendly.The girl on the hospitality desk was brilliant and organised our trips to Montenegro and Mostar,We booked a romantic room and it was lovely and the view was breathtaking.The facilities were excellent.The breakfast was great with all kinds of fruit and lovely fresh orange juice.Overall this is anexcellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2010
Dear Welshie26,
i would like to thank You personaly for staying at our hotel and for taking Your time to share Your comments.
We are happy that we have fulfilled Your expectations.
With kind regards
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

GOOD: Quiet; decent buffet breakfast; comfortable; convenient beach with amenities for guests; nice wellness center; good massage (despite the Gregorian chant versions of hit pop songs!)

NOT SO GOOD: Everything looks a bit old and weary; the girl working on the 'hospitality' desk was useless; all staff seemed overworked and disgruntled;

Generally this is a brilliant place for families with young children, not so much for honeymooning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missklara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
Dear Mrsclara,
We appreciate Your reviews, both good and not so good.
We take pride in our staff's courtesy and i feel sorry that You find them disgruntled.
Looking forward to Your next visit and hope to prove our hospitality.
Kind regards
Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Very friendly, helpful and polite staff. A fabulous setting, wonderful views from our room and excellent facilities. Bus stop outside the hotel to get to Dubrovnik, so was very easy to visit. Dubrovnik did not disappoint, it is a wonderful city. We also did a boat trip to Cavtat which is a lovely resort. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and would recommend the hotel and the destination to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2010
Dear Stonehamsouthampton,
Thank You for Your kind words and praises.
I am very pleased to hear that You enjoyed Your stay in Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel and i am looking forward for Your next visit.
Kind regards
Ivan Sabljić
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Myself and a group of friends stayed at the President for 3 nights in early June, booked through a generic hotel website - word of warning BEWARE "1800Hotels" - we thought we had a really good deal, but when we tried to make a change to the booking the problems began.........they wouldn't answer e-mails and were blaming the volcanic ash disruption for not being able to deal with any enquiries! When we finally got through to them to add an extra person to the booking, then said it was all fine but then didn't send any e-mail confirmation. When we arrived at the hotel, the booking had actually been changed, but somehow it had gone from 2 rooms for 4 people to 1 room for 2 people, when it should have been 2 rooms for 5 people! That should have tipped us off that there was something up but nevertheless, this very accomodating hotel quickly sorted our rooms and provided the extra bedding required.

The hotel itself is 10 minutes from Dubrovnik old town, but the bus stop is right outside and the bus service is very very good - regular and pretty cheap and you don't really need to stay in Dubrovnik itself to explore the city.

The rooms were very comfortable and had lovely views from the balconies, and the funicular which takes you down to them (the hotel is built into a cliff side so is upside down!) was very novel!

The best thing by far at the hotel was the breakfast - none of us have ever seen such a selection on offer - absolutely everything you could think, both hot and cold, and they provided things like soy milk which was a nice touch. The food in the bar was OK, but things like the sweet skewer with chocolate dip was disappointing, it was 5 small pieces of fruit drizzled with a little bit of bottled chocolate sauce - hardly the "white, milk and dark chocolate dip" that was described. But it was much nicer to eat out in Dubrovnik anyway, or in the surrounding area in Lapad.

The private beach was lovely and the Spa facilites were very nice, as was the live music in the bar each evening, be it a piano player or violinists! Being able to be picked up from the hotel's own jetty to go off on tours to neighbouring islands was also very convenient, and the lady on the information desk in the hotel was very helpful when arranging those.

Finally I have to mention JOHN on reception who was absolutely fantastic and we thank him profusely for all his help - when we checked out, the booking that 1800hotels had sent them had said we had ony paid for one room and not two, despite the fact that we definitely booked and paid for two rooms. John tried calling 1800 for us, he spoke to his sales people, he let us use the internet to show him the rate we had booked, basically helped us for over half an hour to resolve the problem - he was AMAZING! We must express our sincere thanks to him, as being stung for more money when we'd already paid in advance could have been a really horrible end to our stay in Dubrovnik!
Thank you John!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Dear KLB78
Thank You for staying with us and we hope too see You again in near future.
Kind regards
Ivan Sabljić
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed in Hotel first week in June 2010. Booked superior room and got same room as previous visit in 2006. Very enjoyable stay for us both. Staff were excellent and food as good as ever. Delighted they kept the open kitchen in dining area. Beach much improved in size since last visit. We did a day trip to Montenegrno. Coach picked us up at Hotel and we went to Kotor. Superb scenery on trip from Dubrovnik. It lashed rain for our 1 hour stay . Next stop was Budva and then back to hotel. Would recommend this trip. It goes only on a friday. €60 pp. The only change I saw in Hotel was that there were no newspapers stocked in Hotel Shop. All in all it was a great weeks break. Would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
Dear Mr McKenna,
Thank You for coming once more to our hotel.
I am glad that You enjoyed Your stay.
Looking forward to Your next visit when we will try to surpass Your expectations.

Kind regards

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed one week at the Dubrovnik President Hotel.
Here you can find the pro's and con's:

Pro:

-beautiful and spacious rooms, with a gorgeous view
-a bus in front of the hotel that goes to Dubrovnik every 10 minutes
- private beach with lots of sunbeds and parasols
-indoor pool and nice pool area with enough sunbeds
-very nice spa facilities
-good breakfast
-free breakfast box if you have to leave early
-large choice of food at buffet (also see con's: food quality and variaty)

Con:

-the food at the buffet is of poor quality and certainly not 4*: almost no variety, strange and very greasy salads, food that is often cold, no variety at all at desert, vegetables that taste like plastic, greasy fish and meat (for example: fresh grilled tuna and than they drop it in a bowl of oil and olives)
-the buffet area is boring and not very inviting, with all week long, every morning and evening the same CD playing the same enerving music. There is a lovely terrass, but they put few tables outside (there is certainly room for more) and they're always taken by people who wait at the restaurant door 15 minutes before the restaurant opens...
-the food at the pool bar is in one word discusting: we ordered a ceasar salad which was proportionally very expensive, and all we got was a plate with 5 leafs of salad and a chemically tasting dressing. Nothing else in there: no chicken, no other veggies, no cheese, nothing, just 5 leafs of salad. One day we ate a burger: the french fries were like concrete and the meat was still raw...
But the worst thing of all was that the day after , we ordered a ceasar salad and a president burger at the lobby restaurant, same menu, same price, and it was totally different!! The salds had variaty, was presented in a parmezan basket, and we got a bigger burger with eatable fries. I think it is a total ripp off that with the same price and same menu, you get something totally different if you go up one level in the hotel... A couple we met ate two times at the pool restaurant and had stomache pains every time...
-some parts of the room were a little bit dated and rusty (tabs in the bath f.e.)
-the bus to Dubrovnik is very concienant, because the hotel is a little bit remote and in Lapad there's nothing to do...

It is a beautiful hotel, with lovely, comfortable rooms, and we shall return, be we won't ever eat in this hotel again... Go there, but take bed and breakfast and eat in Dubrovnik!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djeejn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DubrovnikPresident, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2010
Dear Mrs Djeejn,
Thank You very much for staying in our hotel.
Your comments are of tremendous impotance to us.
I feel sorry we didnt completely meet Your expectations regarding food quality and that
You didnt adress to us with theese problems so that we can amend this immediately.
I can assure You that price in our a la carte restaurant i.e. fine dinning is not the same as at
our beach bar as well as food presentation, decoration etc.
Looking forward to Your next visit when we will do our best to fulfill Your expectations.

With kind regards

Ivan Sabljic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Property: Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing