We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic location, fantastic pool area, but service lets it down” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, fantastic pool area, but service lets it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday to Dubrovnik and spent 5 nights at the Excelsior. The hotel's location is fantastic, with wonderful views of the old town (both from our sea view room's balcony as well as the hotel bar terrace). The pool area was excellent and with its jacuzzis and loungers was the perfect place to cool down and unwind after a morning's site seeing - especially gven the v. hot weather. For those who could stand the heat, the outdoor 'beach' area ie: concrete platform with steps down into the Adriatic was very inviting. We'd booked a superior double room with sea view - the room was huge, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom had both a separate shower and bath, plus a his n' hers sink. However, be warned, the service from our experience was certainly not 5-star. There is no iron or ironing board in the rooms and you can not request one from housekeeping, as we normally do when we go on holiday. You have to use the hotel's pressing service which added an extra 60 pounds to the hotel bill for 4 nights worth of ironing ie: a pair of trousers and polo shirt for my husband and a skirt and t-shirt for me each night. We telephoned Housekeeping before 9am each morning as instructed and were told to leave the laundry bag of clothes and the completed form on the bed for collection - twice when we came back to the hotel after lunch, the bag had still not been collected, so my husband had to take it to Reception. When we checked out, we discovered that rather than use the copy of the form I had completed and signed, they had rewritten the forms and we could not match the totals they were charging to what I had written on the forms - they had also charged us the express service surcharge for the 2 days when they hadn't collected the bags for ironing - if you give them less than 4 hours notice you're charged a 50% surcharge - but I had made a note of what I had requested and the costs so I told the Reception staff that this was all I was going to pay which they accepted. Also, they do not automatically give you to a new form or laundry bag when they bring the ironing back - I had to go to Reception each afternoon to request a form and laundry bag for the following day's ironing. The same with the tea and coffee. You have to ask for tea and coffee-making facitlites to be brought to the room at the start of your stay - this is fine - but they don't automatically replenish them - each day I had to phone through to ask for this to be done. Equally, when they cleared away the dirty cups, they didn't always leave fresh ones so again one had to ask for this to be done. The fact that the reception staff were brusque and officious in their manner made having to continually ask for things a real pain. While they are not rude exactly, they are not at all warm, welcoming or friendly and could all do with spending an evening with the staff at Restaurant Dubrovnik (we ate here twice) who were incredibly warm and friendly - nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent - I can highly recommend it. We didn't eat in the hotel as it is VERY expensive, but always finished the evening on the wonderful bar terrace to watch the sun go down with a beer and a glass of wine. Again - the staff here, while courteous, weren't very friendly or very efficient. Despite asking if he could have the bill, my husband ended up going to the bar to pay on two of the evenings as it took so long for the bill to arrive, even though the terrace wasn't even half full. Having said this, I would definitley stay here again for the location and facilities, in the hope that the service will be better next time. Please don't let this review put you off staying here - forewarned is forearmed.

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea-view room - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_and_Chris_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and for staying in hotel Excelsior. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you again in near future. Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    404
    114
    38
    30
See reviews for
257
791
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We loved our recent trip to Dubrovnik. The city is very beautiful and historic. The people are friendly and the nightlife was fun. I live in Florida and thought Dubrovnik had the prettiest water I had ever seen. We enjoyed the Martime Museum, walking around the walls of Dubrovnik (get your camera ready - so many beautiful pictures to take), walking around the Old Town inside the city walls and taking a glass bottom boat tour around the island of Lopud.

The hotel was nicely located outside the city walls. It was a 10 minute walk to the city. The walk was very safe and enjoyable. The views from the hotel overlooking the city were fabulous.

This hotel was very beautiful! The rooms were very clean and spacious. The pool deck is gorgeous. We could really tell the hotel had recently been updated. There is a old side of the hotel and a new side. We stayed on the new building, which we were told by regular visitors was the way to go.

I highly recommend staying at the Hotel Excelsior and Spa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NM3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Tripadvisor member ,
Thank you so much for the recommendation and this great review! On behalf of our hotel staff, I would like to say how delighted we are to hear your kind words. We truly hope that you will have opportunity to visit Dubrovnik and our Excelsior Hotel & Spa again and enjoy in the unique location, views and services.

Kind regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Excelsior hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

The rooms were very good, and the hotel was very clean. Breakfast had a good selection, room service was good, chamber maids were very nice however, services in the rest of the hotel were not commensurate with a five star hotel..... sullen service in the concierge and front desk, only passable service in the restaurants. When we were leaving, we were left to wave for a taxi ourselves from the street. The front desk was dismissive. Excursion advisor was keen to get you to book an excursion with limited interest to introduce you to what was available.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookieyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH WEST
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I rate this hotel alongside some of the best I've visited. It's superbly positioned in a quiet location literally a ten minute walk from Dubrovnik old town and overlooking the harbour and Lokrum Island. The hotel is very clean and the service is excellent. Breakfasts are typically a buffet but with some extra choices by demand. My only criticism is the lack of interest in their restaurants which makes them too quiet for my liking but then they are only a stroll from some of the top restaurants in town. Also the advertised piano bar is another quiet place with the piano being played on only one evening during our stay. The swimming pool is also an indoor one and there's no beach, only a hard area for sunbathing. Having no children and hating sand between our toes this didn't bother us. We'd gladly return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITSMEAGAINSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Only a short walk from the old town. Fabulous views. Very clean. Drinks are as expensive as any 5* UK hotel. Only disappointment was the room. We booked a superior double with sea view and balcony but it bore no comparison with the one which featured on the hotel website. The room was small and, with a chair at the end of the bed, was a tight squeeze to get past. Bathroom was also very small with only a shower over the bath. The balcony did have a great view but was so small that you could't get a chair on it. Went to the reception to be told that the hotel was fully booked so no chance of a move, we shall be taking it up with the tour operator.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardedge1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
240 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Excelsior's location is great -- just a 5-minute walk from the Old City of Dubrovnik. Breakfast is OK (meats and cheeses, bread, yoghurt, indifferent pastries), nothing special. Wifi is free. But the hotel has no atmosphere whatsoever and is dominated by the modern & generic hotel part of the building. I could not tell that any part of it was built in 1913 -- don't expect old-world charm. Also beware: the a/c system is not up to the task during the summer. My room (July 2011) was uncomfortably warm, and I was assured that it was the same everywhere in the hotel: so either they lied to me (and could have given me a cooler room), or indeed the rooms were all a little on the warm side. The room interior was comparable to a Holiday Inn, though the bathroom was quite nice. At more than USD300/night, the room was very expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

This is a really fabulous hotel. It has wonderful views of the sea, Lokrum island, and most of all the beautiful city of Dubrovnik. Sitting on the terrace for breakfast or a drink in the evening, you can gaze across the bay at the medieval city. The pianist is playing in the Piano Bar adds to the romantic atmosphere.

All the amenities you might wish for are here: swimming pool, jaccuzzi, sauna, sunbeds, sea bathing, beautician, hairdresser, etc. The choice for breakfast is out of this world and there's plenty of it, even if you are late. They seem over-staffed and service is very good. We also ate in the sushi bar once and, although I'm not a connoisseur, the food seemed authentic.

The only drawback was one day the room was not cleaned, but the dirty towels were changed. For Brits who expect tea & coffee making facilities in your room, this can be provided if you ask. However, we had to remind them to re-stock it.

I would definitely return. By shopping around onine, we got a good deal too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherGermany2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Tripadvisor member ,
Thank you so much for the recommendation and this great review! On behalf of our hotel staff, I would like to say how delighted we are to hear your kind words. We truly hope that you will have opportunity to visit Dubrovnik and our Excelsior Hotel & Spa again and enjoy in the unique location, views and services.

Kind regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Excelsior hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#18 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1913, the Excelsior has become an iconic landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik. This time-honoured building – a blend of old and new – is uniquely located on a cliffside, with magnificent views from every floor, over to the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in another. Recognised as one of the finest hotels in the Mediterranean by the UK’s Sunday Times newspaper, it is only when you visit that you can fully appreciate the spectacular setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll; four fine-dining restaurants, all offering panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea; a private beach, back-dropped by the UNESCO-protected Old Town. Among the luxury hotels in Dubrovnik, the Hotel Excelsior is the benchmark to which others aspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing