We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First class hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week in November 2011 and had a great holiday. The position of this hotel in terrific, so near the old town and so much better than actually staying in the old town. The rooms were a good size with great views of the old town. It was warm, comfortable and very well serviced with excellent L'Occitane toiletries. It was my birthday while I was there and they had delivered a cake and a letter to my room. They must scan the passports of their guests and I thought that was a very considerate touch which was completely unexpected- but most welcome. The Croatians are wonderfully friendly and the staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast room was excellent with a great selection of hot and cold food and also hot food to order at no extra charge either. They have fizz on ice if you feel like a bucks fizz!
The swimming pool was beautiful and being November, I had it all to myself, which was bliss. This hotel is well worth paying the extra for...

Room Tip: Try to get a sea-facing room and one that faces towards the old town, as it is pretty to look at in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor.
Thank you once again for choosing hotel Excelsior for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    405
    114
    38
    30
See reviews for
258
792
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croatia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed 3 nights in Excelsior during a business conference. It was a very pleasant stay, the weather was fantastic all the time and the hotel was great aswell. The staff is very helpful, they pamper you all the time, bring new fresh fruits and chocolates every day to your room and meet all your needs. The housekeeper even cleaned my room more than once a day! The room is nicely decorated and comfortable. Superior and delux rooms and suites have amaizing sea view which includes the view of the Old town and the City walls. To wake up with the sound of waves and that kind of view is absolutely priceless! The food in the main restaurant is good, but for this level of hotel a bit mediocre, below my expectations. I didn't try other restaurants in the hotel because we ate in several restaurants in the Old town. The position of the hotel is fantastic, just 5 minutes walk from the City walls. The hotel beach is guests only and is just under the main building, but would need some repairing because the cement is a bit damaged. There is also a great public beach 200 m from the hotel I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Superior and Delux rooms have the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Croatia_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for staying at hotel Excelsior and for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We choose this hotel for our 3 night stay based on Tripadviser reviews, particularly the fact the hotel is close to the old town - it is only a 5-10 minute easy walk.

We travel regularly and stay at 4 or 5 star hotels so enjoy the comforts these hotels generally offer so we feel we can rightly judge Excelsior relative to other similar quality facilities.

The GPS took us to the front door of the hotel and the staff parked the car (free) and took the bags to our room. Following reviews, we had a superior room with balcony and sea views and as the reviewers said, it was definitely worth paying the extra as the views were breathtaking. We were in the older part of the hotel but it has been refurbished to a very high standard and from the inside you wouldn't think it is old. The room was large at 30 square meters, tastefully decorated and what we expect from a 5 star hotel. The toiletries were L'Occitane which my wife loved and the large bathroom had a standard shower and another over a bath. We had only 2 grizzles - 2 single beds are pushed together with single linen but this seems reasonably normal (not conducive to romamnce) and the TV is on the wall but by the side of the bed so you aren't looking straight ahead. Not a problem because we only watch TV first thing in the morning with a cup of tea.

This is a large hotel but has all the extras that go with size, restaurants, bars, health centre, large indoor pool (you can also swim in the sea), gym, shops, etc.

We found the staff very professional and every time we walked passed the bar the staff always said hello. Our requests for extra towels, tea making facilities, ice, tea bags etc were all provided within 5 minutes.

Some reviews weren't complimentary about the breakfast but we found the selection of everything to be far greater than we have experienced elsewhere. You can also order such things as an omelet, porridge, freshly squeezed orange juice, etc if you wish. The only negative was the several hot dishes were only warm. Nevertheless we feel that you would have to be hard to satisfy if you couldn't have a good breakfast here.

The first night we didn't feel like going out to a restaurant so we ate at the sushi restaurant. The sushi was great and my wife also ordered a Japanese main whilst I had grilled fish off an adjoining restaurant menu. Unfortunately both these meals were at best average and expensive relative to local restaurants so we didn't eat In-house again.

Without hesitation I would stay at this hotel if we return to Dubrovnik and we will recommend Excelsior to our friends. Those hotels rated better in Dubrovnik must be something else!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor.
Thank you once again for choosing hotel Excelsior for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We chose Excelsior for the spa facilities and location, as we wanted to relax and pamper during our long weekend away. The hotel service was amazing from the moment we arrived, they are very professional and try to accomodate all requests. The concierge was very helpful - as we were in low season many places we had on our list for the evenings were closed, and having him tell us that and think of suitable substitutes was useful.

The rooms were a decent size and the bathroom was really nice with a good powerful shower. We got a standard seaview which was ok, as we got the good views from the Piano Bar and at breakfast. Breakfast was a little disappointing but passable - had I known they would make certain hot breakfasts on request I may have been a little happier.

The spa was lovely, one of the benefits of going during low season is you get to enjoy it more as its less crowded and more peaceful. My only gripe is that the steam room was out of order the whole time we were there, and when we asked they said ti would be fixed but it wasn't.

The old town was only a short walk away and nice for a stroll. Cable car was good for the views it gave. If you want more of a nightlife go after May, as March is a bit dead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for staying at hotel Excelsior and for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again. Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel is great. Just a few blocks from old town with an amazing ocean view right across from Lokrum Island. The complimentary breakfast buffet is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrellhoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. Thank you once again for choosing hotel Excelsior for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are already looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Jasna Durkovic General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Had a week here with our two grown up sons in March. We'd paid for sea views, and our room had a balcony. The views from the rooms are just sensational and the sea is so close you can drop a stone into it from the balcony. Hotel is lovely with very helpful and attentive staff. As mentioned by others there are a very few rough edges, eg bleach marks on the carpets in places but I certainly wouldn't let that put me off. As ever location is all and it is but a few minutes stroll into Dubrovnik. The hotel was very quiet in March as it was very much early season here. We didn't mind at all as we had the superb facilities, pool, sauna etc, all to ourselves most days. Weather was fine but it might be worth coming a few weeks later if you like it a bit busier. Whatever you do don't go to Dubrovnik in mid summer. We were told it is hideously busy (20000 people a day), and hideously hot (40 deg C). It is also very very expensive. I've been to Venice, Rome and New York recently and I'm not sure this wasn't more expensive than any of them! Very handy Hertz car hire just down the road which we used to travel into Bosnia and Montenegro over a couple of days. All in all a stunning City and a superb hotel, I doubt you'll find anywhere as opulent this so close to the City

Room Tip: Pointless staying here if you don't get a sea view or balcony. We'd lie in bed at night with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our visit to Dubrovnik was crowned by stay in this superb hotel. Location and the view are outstanding. We were surprised to finally find five stars service in Croatia. Our front desk clark Zelko provided us with prompt and professional service, displaying a friendly, courteous and professional demeanor in all interactions. We highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CodsonI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for staying at hotel Excelsior and for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1913, the Excelsior has become an iconic landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik. This time-honoured building – a blend of old and new – is uniquely located on a cliffside, with magnificent views from every floor, over to the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in another. Recognised as one of the finest hotels in the Mediterranean by the UK’s Sunday Times newspaper, it is only when you visit that you can fully appreciate the spectacular setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll; four fine-dining restaurants, all offering panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea; a private beach, back-dropped by the UNESCO-protected Old Town. Among the luxury hotels in Dubrovnik, the Hotel Excelsior is the benchmark to which others aspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing