We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Spent 3 days and 3 nights at this hotel. Fabulous sea view room with balcony. Very attentive staff great facilities.Enjoyed good breakfasts but dinner and snacks get a bit pricey. Very close to the walled city and bars and good reasonably priced eating places.Lovely place and would recommend it to anyone visiting Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. Those on the road side do not enjoy good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik! Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    405
    114
    38
    30
See reviews for
258
792
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Only real complaint was the broken jalousie window that looked out on the water; I guess I expect perfection at a hotel with this reputation. Otherwise, the staff is awfully nice, the breakfast is fantastic, The so-called saltwater pool is a slimy thing no one uses, but the indoor pool facilities are fine. The elevator situation, depending upon where one's room is located is just plain whacky - we had to change elevators to get from public areas to our room, and it became tiresome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olewahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Spent 10 days at this hotel. Easy walk into Dubrovnik Town and great views from the hotel. To be honest a long weekend would have been sufficient to see all the local sites. Island of Locrum (Opposite the hotel) is a great trip. Found the breakfast excellent - virtually anything you want to eat and plenty of it. The sunbathing terrace was good with plenty of sun loungers. If none available the staff went out of their way to find more for you. Found the gym to be a bit of a none event. Four machines two of which were out of order. Service round the hotel was good and the hotel was a good base to go exploring further afield.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked this hotel as our special treat on a 3 stop trip to Croatia. Yes it has all the 5 * bits like doormen etc. BUT it seems tried and appears to be living on what it once was. They have a gallery of famous people who have stayed 90% of whom are dead and that about sums it up

Rooms are Okish but not overwhelming for a 5* hotel. Room Service is poor, had to wait 3 days for a Bath Robe, whilst had to chase up Room Service twice just to get the mini bar filled again after being missed on the room make up.No apology just "well perhaps the maid missed it" and this is 5*. Not big things but with a 5* rating and the room rates we expected better.

Breakfast as laid out was very good, but if you want an egg you have order and wait for this to be cooked and brought out never a fast option!!. Then you take the egg to the laid out breakfast to find the rest of the pre cooked food. Again all a bit naff and antiquated.

The staff seemed at times they were better than its customers and we even had to ask for the soft cushions etc. to be put on the terrace some 12 hours after it stopped raining, just seemed as if it was to much bother, so perhaps it will be too much bother for us to return.

Room Tip: Front Sea View is prime with lovely views of Dubrovnik old town. the best thing about this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked three nights of our honeymoon at Hotel Excelsior and had a subpar, definitely not five star, experience. To begin with, we booked a superior sea view room. The photos we were shown online highlighted a walk out balcony with table and chairs. Our room was much smaller than the one shown online and only had windows that opened. There was no balcony at all. Additionally, our room was right above the area where they host outdoor events ... With outdoor music that is loud and played late into the night. Certainly not the mood for a relaxing honeymoon. The service was so so, the only person providing five star service was the doorman. The restaurants were ridiculously priced with tonic water costing almost $8 per 8 ounce bottle. The breakfast spread was decent but the fresh was untouchable due to the hoards of fruit flies covering it. I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent our last summer holiday week in Dubrovnik and stayed in Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik.
The hotel itself was very good: helpful staff, clean rooms (excellent quality toileteries available: L'Occidence en Provence), good sleep, healthy breakfast with a lot of choices, peaceful own peach (sunbeds for free for hotel residents). Beautiful scenery to the old town, especially beautiful during sunset.

The gym was very modest, the only weight "machine" out of order almost during the whole week though we asked about the reparation on the first day we arrived. It has just few light weights - ok for me (as a woman) but my husband was not satisfied. However, Hotel Excelsior cooperates with Grand Villa Argentina and Villa Orsula which both are situated next door. Thus, we had a possibility to use for free the Gym in Grand Villa Argentina - where the gym was modest, too, but we could combine both these gyms to get a balanced and varied enough workout.

We can warmly recommend a dinner at the Villa Orsula: very delicious with an excellent scenery (and the dinner can be put on the room charge).

There is a spa and a pool inside the Hotel Excelsior: they are beautiful and peaceful, too. I reserved a foot spa on one afternoon (as I asked simultaneously for a food massage instead of only pedicure). This experience was ok but not what I expected (according to me, the massage was almost missing, the room itself was pretty cold and the chair was not comfortable, no magazines in English, German, French... just the local magazines. The lady herself was nice and spoke English but all in all this was not up to my expectations).

All in all: we can recommend this hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik though personally the city itself is enough for an extended weekend if you are not interested just to sunbath (though in a lovely, warm weather).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Always great when you arrive at a hotel and it is as anticipated. Although the room wasn't ready when we checked in at 1.30pm we did appreciate a lovely lunch on the terrace and simply enjoyed the sunshine. Thanks to a well oiled service ...in no time we were in our lovely and comfortable room. Appreciated the L'Occitane toiletries and the good sized bathtub and bathroom. If a room view is important to you then a sea view room may well be worth the extra cost as the non sea view room we had was overlooking a wall...didn't mind as we were out alot and the location of the hotel which is from sea level to ground level means that if you are not sea view the view options are limited.

We used the hotel taxi service to come from the airport and whilst it is a little more expensive we felt it was worth the extra cost - we returned to the airport via local taxi (many available and local rank) as by then we knew our way around.

We really appreciated the violinist/ pianist who played on the terrace one evening ... with the sun setting over the sea and the balmy night air it made for a wonderful atmosphere...Loved breakfast on the lower terrace...excellent options and lovely views to enjoy.

The spa and indoor pool were excellent....great to have such a large indoor pool to swim in and in addition to the sea swimming created great leisure options.

Stylish, well run, classical yet non stuffy and really whatever you want to make it...the service is effortless and goes on quietly around you making the experience high quality and drama free.

Overall Dubrovnik is a wonderful place to visit. the hotel is well located and we were very pleased with our choice...slightly away from the main drag therefore quiet..yet only a few minutes downhill into town to the harbour area and a world of of glass bottomed boats/ small craft and local island boats. Good restaurants are in their plenty and we did not have one indifferent meal. Great location...fantastic hotel. We will return!

Room Tip: Be clear if you want a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review! I am very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations. We hope that you will be our guest again.
Best regards Jasna Durkovic General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Property: Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1913, the Excelsior has become an iconic landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik. This time-honoured building – a blend of old and new – is uniquely located on a cliffside, with magnificent views from every floor, over to the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in another. Recognised as one of the finest hotels in the Mediterranean by the UK’s Sunday Times newspaper, it is only when you visit that you can fully appreciate the spectacular setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll; four fine-dining restaurants, all offering panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea; a private beach, back-dropped by the UNESCO-protected Old Town. Among the luxury hotels in Dubrovnik, the Hotel Excelsior is the benchmark to which others aspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing