We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - hotel lacking”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel is situated in a good location with good transport links to Dubrovnik old town and within walking distance of the cruise terminal and marina. The hotel looks nice:
Check in - 2.00pm and you cant check in before, the system cant do it! We arrived at around 1.00pm and asked if we could check in, a flat no from the reception. There were about 70 people milling around the reception area some of whom had been there since 9.00am, there were cases everywhere. So we waited until 2.00pm and manage to check in by 2.20pm. Then the queue for the two small lifts which were the only lifts in the hotel serving 7 floors. One of the lifts was not working and with luggage you could get about 3 people in the lift each time, younger (fitter) guests were running up and down the stairs with cases for other people just to get the queue down. The hotel has no porter service.
Rooms - small, dirty and poorly furnished. Five minutes in the room we had to go back to reception to ask for some pillows. They arrived in about 10 minutes. Back down to reception for some coat hangers. Again arrived in about 10 minutes. Back down to reception as the safe wasn't working. Took until the next day to get it fixed. There was a wardrobe to put clothes and belongings into, no drawers and no shelves. The room had one upright chair. The room was dirty along the walls, in fact we didn't see a cleaner for the whole 7 days we stayed here. The dust under the beds had been there for months. No tea or coffee making facilities.
Bathroom - dirty again! Everything seemed to have been wiped down with a dirty cloth but not cleaned. We ran out of toilet paper the second day and it was not replaced until day 4.
The balcony - 3 foot wide with two upright chairs and a wobbly table. The rail was not fixed to the wall and shook, needless to say we did not lean on it. The walls and the floor of the balcony was cracked, paint was peeling and hadn't been cleaned for weeks. There were peanuts and fluff all over the floor.
Dining Room - advertised as free seating, there were more reserved tables than free ones. Lack of staff meant that diry plates stayed on the table throughout the meal. The most annoying thing was the lack of table water. When we asked for tap water we were refused and told if we wanted water with our meal we had to buy it, £2.50 per bottle, not happy, water should be supplied.
Bar - again no staff, one or at the most two people and no waiter service, we had to queue at the bar and carry our own drinks.
This hotel claims to be a 4* hotel but it lacks all of the service you would expect, it seems to be operating on the bare minimum of staff which leads to no service and poor facilities.
Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the end of corridor rooms these are even smaller. The sea facing rooms also face the sun all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Been here 3 times, love it. At first the food was only ok, but it has improved increasingly.
However, at the Taverna....when i first went in 2007 it was amazing however in 2010 it wasnt so good - i asked for a calzone and he gave me a pizza with no cheese on!
i hope it has improved!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Strict local people. Are not in a happy mood against tourists even when depending om them to use money.

However a very nice place with much sun and beautiful ocean and nice plases to eat.
Get out to the nearby Islands and spend a day in the sun. Enjoy:):)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biljard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My husband and I visited this hotel in May, and had a lovely time, I agree with most of the things other reviewers have mentioned but just thought I would add my views. The location of this hotel is great, whilst we were there they were just finishing the Tavern and it opened a couple of days before we left, they were also finishing off the garden and play area which was then opened to non hotel guest, so just be aware that whilst sunning yourself by the pool, you may have lots of children in the play area below. The pools (one inside) are of a good size but as others have mentioned, the water is salty, there are plenty of sunbeds but they become occupied very quickly when the sun comes out

We were not too impressed with the food, everything was just about warm, and although we were half board we ate out 4 times, the dining room lacked atmosphere, mainly because the lights were on full beam, on friday night we were told it would be a candle lit dinner, and yes there were night lights on all the tables, but all the ceiling lights were on full beam as usual. Hot food and dimmed lighting would make a huge difference to the dining experience at this hotel.

You may want to take a few extra hangers especially if you are staying for 2 weeks, as space for clothing is very limited, we had 4 hangers each, and just about managed to find space for everything, but we were only there for a week. The rooms are compact, but adequate, and if the budget allows, it is well worth paying the extra for a sea view, we don't normally pay the extra, but we took advice after reading reviews, and we were very glad we did.

There is a lovely walk around the headland, but is is not well sign posted, so ask your rep before leaving, and if you are thinking about walking to the Old Town be advised it is up hill to half way then down hill, so you will be walking up hill half way whether you walk there or back, and now that it is getting hotter I think it may be a hard slog.

We booked 2 trips, the first one to Mostar which we booked with a lady down near the beach (there are lots of people selling trips) We had a good day despite the rain, and the scenery was wonderful, the same could not be said of the minibus, which was very cramped, so if you are tall think twice about these trips, yes they are cheaper, but our second trip to Montenegro was with Thomson and the difference was huge, much better to pay that bit extra for much more comfort as the days are quite long, and there are sometimes long queues at the border, also if you are going to Montenegro the currency is Euros

One final thing, the hotel states that check in is 2pm, we had flown from Manchester at 06:00 so arrived at the hotel about 11:30 with lots of others
(we had a bit of a delay getting there) and we all had to hang around until 2pm, so pack towels cossies and suntan cream near the top of your case (or shorts and T shirts if you are going for a wander) at least that way your holiday starts straight away

Good hotel, great location, just a pity about the food temperature, happy hols

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MACCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Spent 7 amazing days in this hotel on half board. Staff is very friendly and helpful, room was clean and the restaurant had a variety of local and international dishes. The old town is easily accessible by local buses, wouldn't recommend walking. You can get into town in approx 50 mins on foot but the root doesn't offer too much to see and it's tiring in the heat.
We took a room with seaview as an extra and didn't regret the decision for a second. The balconies are directly facing the bay and the view is astonishing.
We had several lunches in the nearby restaurants which are more affordable than Dubrovnik. In the old town we met London prices, especially in places with a nice view or a lovely terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrienn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Having visited Dubrovnik briefly during a cruise, We returned for a longer stay at The Grand in late May, The hotel is based in Lapad, in a great location with easy access to most facilities - The local buses are regular and easy to use, allthough always busy with both locals and tourists.
We stayed half board and found the variety of food very good, the only thing I would complain about is that with it being a buffet style meal - the food could have been a little hotter.
The hotel staff were excellent, very accomodating and very helpful - The hotel room was very spacious and the bathroom furnished in a modern style with the shower a particular delight.
When we stayed the clientele was of a more mature age, which was very nice and relaxing - ie: no young children charging around, or any lager louts - so refreshing these days.
We found that visiting the Old Town was best done if you go in later in the day, we visited around 4.30, the crowds had disappeared and it was a lot more relaxed - we walked 'The Wall' with virtually no one else around.
One tip is to buy a Dubrovnik card, available in 1, 3 and 7 day amounts- they include bus rides and access to most museums in the old town and a chance to walk the wall, definetely worthwhile if you intend visting the Old Town 2 or 3 times.
During our stay we went on an excursion to Montenegro one day - not too much to do, but the sights were unbelievable - take the history tour and visit the 'Lady of the Rock' a beautiful old church in the middle of Boka Bay - a breathtaking experience !
Overall a very enjoyable holiday and a great short break.

Room Tip: Try and book a Sea view, otherwise you will be looking in land over a car park - not too bad as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Northy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Recently returned from this hotel and agree with most of the reviews regarding
location and value.
Had a room on floor two overlooking the car park but as had not paid for a sea view cant complain, I would advise to book a sea view.
Room was a corner room with plenty of space for us two, there was an extra two convertable chair/beds so perhaps this was a family room.
I would recommend this hotel but I do think it could be improved in some areas.

1.I found the food about average or sometime slightly below.
2. Often the dinner plates were cold, which in a four star dinning room should not happen.
3. The orange/fruit juices were the made up kind not very nice (4 star?).
4.Another problem in the dinning room was that there were often"reserved signs" on some tables. As this was buffet dinning (breakfast 0700-1000 Dinner 1900-2100) I could not understand how guest could reserve a table. Nobody ever asked your room number when entering the restaurent .This could have lead to arguments!
5.The louge bar area was very nice but every night there was the same lady pianist who played the same classical music every night, while looking very bored (must have driven some custom away, me anyway!).

Room Tip: Sea view on higher floors have a good view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £60 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Splitty, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing