We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dubrovnik delight”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We've just returned today from a great weeks holiday in the Grand Hotel Park, the hotel is in a fabulous position,15 mins by local bus (No4) to the wonderful city of Dubrovnik. The Lapad area, where the hotel is located, has a beach, a promenade, and some good walks locally, a good Hypermarket, which is a mere 10 mins walk from the hotel, also plenty of bars for a drink, and several restaurants, which we did'nt use as the hotel food was really good. The hotel has everything really, good rooms, upgraded recently, but just lacking a bit in the storage area , could do with some drawer space. A gym, indoor/outdoor pool, wellness centre, internet, free wifi, a garden, taverna which serves fantastic Pizza's, kids playground, but no evening entertainment or daytime activities.Restaurant service and food quality was very very good, perfect for us.
A room upgrade to a sea view room is a must, we had excellent views, Cruise liners sailing past, and fantastic sunsets.
Dubrovnik, well, absolutely beautiful, we visited 4 times in our week, the walk around the city walls is well worth doing, and we would also recommend the cable car, for excellent views over the city, but just being there is so special, just meandering through the city steets etc is fab.
There are plenty of boat trips to wet your appetite if you fancy it, and museums galore, but you have to pay for entry into these, as you do to access the walls, 70 kuna per person for the walls.
The bus fare is 12 kuna each way, no return tkts, and you can pay on the bus, but this is 15 kuna, or get your tkts from newsagents etc, the bus stop is ten mins from the hotel, and buses run every 15 mins, but they can get really full.
Thats about it really, plenty of trips on offer from our tour operator, Thomson, the transfer from the airport is about 45 mins, which is good.
Our only niggle, is that we had to wait 4 hours before we could check in at the hotel, we were told this on the coach transfer, but this is the norm, as we found out from other guests at other hotels, maybe because all the UK flights arrive on a Sunday?
Could Thomson mention this in the brochure?, would be a good idea, so you could prepare for it.
To sum up, we came to visit Dubrovnik, stay in a really nice hotel, enjoy some nice food & drink, and Croatian hospitality, relax in the sun, in a beautiful country, at a very good price, and the weather was good as well. Love Croatia.

Room Tip: Seaview room, in our opinion a must if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yesman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

Had a great time at this hotel. We had half board. The food was great, it could sometimes be cold but if you watched out for when items refilled then this was overcome . Excellent location close to most things. Most reviews talk about the number 4 bus but we found the number 6 better as never had to wait more than 10 minutes . You could get around to most places on the busses that were cheaper than catching a boat. Zaton was a place off tourist map well worth a visit. Hotel More was well worth a visit to have a beer and see the Sun set. Croatia is a beautiful place and The Grand hotel park a great hotel. Will go again .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boatswindsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

After being on our wish list for a long time we finally went to Dubrovnik with another couple.We stay in the Grand we had rooms on the seventh floor and the views were wonderful. We stayed b&b but the breakfast buffet was excellent.The staff were friendly and our rooms were kept very clean.Both the pools were of a good size and well maintained.The good thing for us was the pools were never very busy.There were plenty of reasonably priced bars and restaurants close to the hotel but also some that charge for each item which raised the cost considerably.old town Dubrovnik is a must see but very tiring for us older travellers.All in all we all agreed we had a wonderful time and would return toCroatia

Room Tip: look in land
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We arrived at 12 noon but would not let us have the rooms till 2PM. pleasant hotel and not far from the number 4 bus stop. Hotel seemed to be full all through the week, with a good selection of food. Bacon , eggs and pancakes with salad and cheese for brakefast. diner an even bigger selection of salads and cooked foods, 1 vegetarian 2 fish and 3 meat courses, no chips but nice mediterranean vegetables ( someone complained that there wasn't any pie and chips,why do people go on holiday)

Room Tip: get your bus ticket from newsagent before you get on bus 12kn each way bus drops off in Dubrovnik ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupertgreyparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just back after a week at the GHP and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was sea facing and on the first floor, so enjoyed wonderful views of the sunsets. The room was a little smaller than we had hoped for but was adeqate although a bit short of storage space.
The location is great as the hotel has its own gardens which front down to the sea front and shingle beach. The sea was a delight and very very safe to swim in. The hotel has its own bar on the beach front which served good food. The sunbeds and parasols had to be paid for (30 kunas) which as hotel guests we felt we perhaps should not have had to pay. The food in the main restaurant was generally of good quality but did tend to be a bit repetative.
As for the hotel location, it was excellent, there are good restaurants and bars (not rowdy) nearby and it was also easy to either walk to the old town or catch the buses which were regular and cheap.
Close by were stands selling the local excursions which were better priced than via the holiday company's. The 3 island cruise was lovely and we got a free excursion to Cavtat as well which is worth a visit.
We did feel that the hotel could have done with some evening entertainment as it was a bit quiet.
All in all a very good hotel to stay in, and in a lovely location. A great place to chill out and have relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CattonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Grand Hotel Park, Dubrovnik is located in the bay of Lopud. In the hotel I spent a few days and can only boast. The service was very good, the room spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent and varied. The closer to the hotel is the bus station to go to Dubrovnik city. Moreover, it is not far away and walking to Dubrovnik. It's also nice to take a walk by the sea and enjoy the beauty of nature.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is a very nice hotel and I enjoyed my four day stay there last week. However, it would not be a four star in the UK but standards are a bit different in Croatia and they still have a bit of catching up to do. On the minus side the pool area is very basic; a bit 1970s, there are only two lifts that are very small (four people would feel a bit claustrophobic), the breakfast was adequate but not in any way creative and the plates did not get cleared away after each time you went to the buffet as there were very few staff on duty at breakfast. On the plus side the location was very good and it was easy to get into the old town by bus. (The number 4 is recommended from the back of the hotel - the number six is VERY crowded - always!) We had a room on the 7th floor facing the sea and the views were absolutely wonderful, the staff were helpful, the general cleanliness was second to none. Local restaurants were much of a muchness and not very varied so foodwise a bit disappointing. Took the boat trip to Cavtat which was excellent.

On the whole somewhere well worth a visit for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
984 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £55 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing