We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess it depends on which room you get” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I guess it depends on which room you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was my second stay in this hotel and I found it much better last time. I had problem with ventilation opening which constantly could be heard even when heating was off, and we could hear our neighbors talking through them. I guess those are open tubes going through rooms that can not be shut, but for a 4 star hotel this is a big no go.
I didn't have any of these problems last time, so I guess it depends on the room you get.
I love the pedestrian area the hotel is in, the time we stayed there you could find more people in the area walking than on Stradun in the Old Town.
To get to the Old town we used local bus with day pass for 30 kuna (one way is 12 kuna, or if you get it on the bus 15 kuna).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarayka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    549
    228
    54
    29
See reviews for
190
613
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Travelling with my 2 female friends, we stayed a week at the Grand Hotel Park last summer - June 2012 and we had a lovely time.

The hotel is situated in Lapad which is an easy taxi ride to the Old Town or there is a bus stop about 5 mins from the Hotel. Great location, the pedestrian only lane leading to the sea has lots of bars, restaurants and lots of travel companies which were cheaper than the hotel's travel desk. Lapad's beach is not so great: not sandy and not very clean, so don't come expecting a 'beach' holiday but the views are splendid and there are some good walks to explore the beautiful coastline.

The reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. When one of our party was unwell, they even arranged for a doctor to come see her.

The breakfast was fine - nothing to write home about but a good selection of cold and hot food, the coffee was awful though and it is a shame that they did not vary the menu a little. The Taverna located on site was great for food and service - they even treated me to free desert one evening.

I booked a room for 3 and what I got was almost a villa. I'm still not sure whether we were upgraded but we had 2 bedrooms, a spacious bathroom and a balcony overlooking the sea. Just lovely, It was cleaned daily, the beds were comfy and the shower warm. The air conditioning was not working on our arrival but was quickly sorted once we informed reception.

I have to mention the Spa which was just fabulous, a spacious sauna and a Roman style steam room. Showers that gave you an choice of 'rain', 'tropical' and 'cooling mist'. The treatments are priced as you would expect in a hotel but my massage was great, well worth the price.

Dubrovnik is beautiful and I would love to go back and explore more of the Croatian coastline. The food was a little disappointing but I am not sure whether this is a reflection on the local cuisine or due to the restaurants catering for tourist tastes.

Overall, a lovely holiday. I would recommend this hotel for families; there is a children's playground by the Taverna, groups of friends and couples.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the villa type rooms if there are more than 2 of you travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Far_from_home75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

... located a couple of kilometers from the Old Town.
Swimming pool, wifi and a nice view from the rooms (at 7th floor) with balcony towards the sea (ask for a room on that side!). Excellent breakfast!)
Bars and restaurants in the neigbouring street and the okay beach is only 200 meters away.
Good service level. Only minus: No czech beer in the lobbybar...
However, you may have your beer and lunch 'homemade style' at the informal cafeteria on the south side of the beach. The lady is growing the mint leaves for the Mojito in their back yard!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Olecigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel was clean when we arrived and the staff friendly. However the cleaning of our rooms did deteriorate as the week went by and we weren't left toiletries every day.

The beds were comfortable and the room spacious which was necessary as with no drawers, we had to live out of our suitcases for the week. It was only on the day we were leaving that we saw some of the other rooms had a couple of drawers! Tea & coffee making facilities in the room would have been very welcome too.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track so it was necessary to hire a car. The beach was appalling with lots of debris and dog mess.

The food was a little disappointing as there were no local dishes to try.

The gym was very disappointing as there were only two treadmills and two bikes that were working and despite reporting that the other two bits of equipment were broken, nothing was done.

I loved Dubrovnik but I wouldn't stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with drawers and a sea/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farnesy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have just returned from The Grand Hotel Park and thought it was really good. Good location - just a 2 minute walk from the beach which was very small. Bus stop for the bus into the old town of Dubrovnik was just a 2 minute walk. Our room overlooked the back of the hotel but it was a good size, very clean and housekeeping did an excellent job each day. There were two pools at the hotel. Breakfast and dinner were both buffet style with plenty of choice catering for all tastes. Happy Hour between 6 and 7 was a welcome treat just before dinner. There is a spa at the hotel but I felt it was too expensive so never used it. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VTgirlKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for 6 days in late October. The room was clean and quiet (looking away from the sea.) The food was good (breakfast and dinner) but as they cater for large tour groups, it is buffet style. The evening drinks are extra and rather expensive.
In addition to what others have written, the hotel provided a candlelit meal with a male trio singing traditional Croatian songs.
The hotel is next to the walkway from the main road to the beach where tour operators offer trips in the region.
We hired a car and enjoyed trips to Kotor and Mostar. It was disappointing that Sveti Stefan in Montenegro is now privately owned and cannot be visited.
We found Cavtat a delightful place to visit on way to airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank V&RLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

4th visit to Croatia. Having just returned from a week at The Grand I felt things could of been a little better. The Hotel and room were generallly clean to begin with but the bathroom shelf and drinks tumblers wern't cleaned all week and neither were the communal stairs and landing mats washed or hoovered all week. The same spillage stains on the third to second flight were still there when we left and the mats on the landings needed a good hoover. The twin rooms were spacious enough but there were no drawers and only 1 small wardrobe which is ok for 1 or 2 nights but not a week, beds and pillows very comfortable though. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is so outdated nor iron available but the bathroom has a proper nozzled hairdryer and good make up mirror.
We had maintenance problems 3 times in the room and the chap that attended was extreamly quick and efficient. The shower cubicle had small black mould stains in places that had been painted over, the rubbish bin was rusty and the walls in the room are ready for a lick of paint. The reception/bar had tree and rose art works on the wall of which 3 had broken bits on, the staff in both were polite and friendly enough.
2 of the 5 machines in the gym and jacuzzi were broken and no attempt made to fix them, the swimming pool is salt water and was freezing.
The buffet style meals were adequate but could of been hotter with more variety and less grease, it seemed to be a 4 day menu cycle but its fair to say we didnt starve and the staff looked after us very well. Half board or not there are no drinks with the evening meal you have to pay for bottled water as they dont give you tap water or tea and coffee.
The lifts are pathetic for a hotel of this size, there are 2 which only fit 4 people in without luggage we used the stairs most days.
All rooms with balconies DO NOT have a sea view, we over looked the car park which is noisy at night if you want to sleep with the door open rather than have the air con on.
A lady played the piano on Saturday only and there was no other entertainment.
The beach at the bottom of the garden was very disapointing for Croatia, on the day we took a stroll down it had broken glass on the sea front, dogs poo and several used sanitary products in the bathing area. The guys who were there to take your money to hire chairs should be looking after the area better. Needless to say we didnt stay which is a shame as Croatia's beaches elsewhere are beautiful.
The 4 of us hired a car for the week all inc for £160 and it paid for it paid for itself twice over, driving is easy as there is 1 main road going north or south and sign posts are adequate. We picked it up at the airport and didnt have to do the multiple drops to get to our hotel which is the first advantage. The trip to Mostar ( a must by the way and the best ) is 240 kn and takes about 2 hours but you have much more freedom to look around and see other little nooks and crannies as you go. Dubrovnic old town is about 6km away and we took 2 days to look around it all properly and its fantastic, the cable car ride for the panoramic view is 87kn for a 2 min trip but a drive to the top is much more exciting. A trip to montenegro ( Kotar) is 320 kn so just on trips alone we saved £120 and saw so much more. Parking is 5kn ph wherever you go. Another place of note is Cavtat about 16 km outside Lapad, its a quaint harbour village with 2 churches and a mausoleum well worth visiting. We went out every day and made the most of the good weather 25-21 degrees which was good for this time of year because when the rain hit on the 6th day we knew about it and it didnt stop all night, terrific lightening show over the surrounding hills.
All in all we had a good value holiday because we made the most of what was on offer but I would,nt use this hotel again. The little things mean a lot !

Room Tip: It seems family rooms have drawers and consider paying more for a sea view even though you have alre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pif1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Property: Grand Hotel Park
Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing